We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Problems remedied by the GM”
Review of Sun Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sun Mountain Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Had a lovely one night stay with a girlfriend/Mom getaway. Trip booked six months ago. Two pedicures booked at the same time. Some confusion occurred around the pedicures and they were unable to do the treatments. The GM Brian rose to the occasion. The pedicures were rescheduled immediately for the next morning Brian met us at the spa with a lovely bottle of wine and a fruit and truffle plate. Thank you Brian.!! Great afternoon at the pub....super service and fun drinks. The activities staff was excellent and the hikes they suggested were spot on. The gift shop is terrific full of interesting and tasteful items....all in all great time. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandlmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

First time to Sun Mountain Lodge. We had a lovely, quiet room. The property is very nice. Breakfast was included each day with our package and we liked how you could choose off the menu. Food was prepared well. We will return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn4407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My family has great memories from Sun Mountain Lodge:
2005 - Bought our kids and snowshoed. Yummy dinner & kids made a fort with cushions from bed. Our daughter went out to the hot tub while it was snowing = magical.
2008 - Family stayed again and skied at nearby Loup-Loup =fun.
2012 - My husband and I stayed for our 20th anniversary and they upgraded our room. The breakfasts were complimentary/wonderful and dinner was outstanding! = retreat.
2013 - Spring: Brought the family again with a reluctant teenager in tow. I told him the ice cream alone was worth the drive. He agreed and was smiling by the end of the day. Excellent service in the sport shop when renting a mountain bike = culinary treat.
Fall: We are returning with another couple = looking forward to it!

Room Tip: Our family of four slept comfortably. Twice we've had the lodge rooms with a king bed and 2 twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

It took over 1 hour to be seated and 30 minutes for breakfast. They provide a coupon for breakfast as part of our stay but don't staff for it. Food was subpar since cooks were overwhelmed. Waitress did her best but the hotel needs to better manage their resources if they want to keep bragging about the restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seatttletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianCharlton, General Manager at Sun Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

I appreciate your review and sincerely apologize. We certainly did get backed up. We served over 200 breakfasts. We staffed accordingly but Murphy's Law took over. By 09:30 we had very few people come down to dine, then we just were slammed from that point forward. Rather awkward - it is not often so many show up at about the same time. One waitress logged just over 5 miles of running back and forth to the kitchen in a two hour period! I hope you will try us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My wife and I visited Sun Mountain Lodge for the first time in August for three nights. We stayed in a Mt. Robinson room which was extremely nice. The bed, furnishings and whirlpool tub are worth the extra money. The resort was a nice quiet retreat during out stay. We went into town one afternoon for lunch but otherwise ate in the bar/grill. We did splurge one evening and dined in the restaurant. It was nice, but pricey. Breakfast in the dining room was excellent.

The trail system around the lodge provides good walking and hiking. The folks in the activity center pointed out a couple of good hikes that we walked. Hike early - it gets hot in the afternoon. Mosquite spray is also a good idea.The bugs were not bad, but the trails go by ponds, streams and a lake which always are home to a few bugs.

The Lodge website tauts a wine cellar. It's worth asking to see the room to see the polar bear. But, we were told the wine cellar is only open to events by reservation. While the wine steward visited our table during dinner in the dining room, he was not real helpful and quickly suggested the house wine and never returned.

While the front line staff was universally very helpful, the two times our questions required a response from a manager, we never heard from management. This was disappointing.
The rooms were clean and the daily maid service was excellent. The rooms have refrigerators which makes it easy to save a little by buying a few things in Winthrop.

One very nice thing was the lodge called our home the morning we were leaving to drive from Seattle to inform us the North Cascades Highway was closed. It's a spectacular drive when open. Mud slides resulted in a few days closure, which just happened to be during our trip.

Despite a few minor annoyances, we had a great time and will certainly return sometime.

Room Tip: The Mt. Robinson rooms are excellent! We took others' advice and waited for a second floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianCharlton, General Manager at Sun Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind review. Would you mind sharing with me to whom you made requests for management responses? It disturbs me that no one approached me to reply to you, for which I sincerely apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Sun Mountain Lodge is located on top of an open ridge with views down the length of the Methow Valley to the North Cascades and Pasyten Wilderness, beyond. Sitting in the hot tubs at sunset is an experience not to be missed.

We saw dozens of deer, including fawns, and plenty of grouse on the property.

The food is fantastic and the service is great all around. I especially wanted to note that I messed up my reservation through Expedia and selected the wrong weekend (my fault entirely) and Sun Mountain found us a room and made sure I didn't double-pay. Everyone was friendly and understanding.

They also allowed us to sleep five in a room (three small children) which was great.

My wife and daughter took a private horseback riding lessons, which they loved.

Room Tip: The Robinson-Gardner pool is much quieter and more peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PLCallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Sun Mountain Lodge right before 4th of July. This was our first time in the Methow Valley, a place I had long wanted to go to. The location, setting and scenery are just spectacular. For that alone, I will return. The lodge is well maintained, the service excellent, and it never felt crowded. It is close enough to Wintrop and Twisp to make side trips, but secluded enough that it makes a great place all to itself.

We only had breakfast in the main dining room (food was good), so can't comment on dinner fare. The service here was at times slow and there were new employees being trained which was fine but made things a little disjointed - everyone was however very friendly). We did have one dinner in the bar & grill (good food, no reservation needed, and will save you money over the dining room).

The room was clean, comfortable and had plenty of space. The lodge theme was fine, but it felt a bit dated and my opinion is an update is in order.

I also used the lodge trail system twice to get mountain biking in. The system is extensive and uncrowded. You can ride right from the lodge. There is a lot of variety so you don't have to repeat a trail. I would also return just for the trails (good for hiking also).

Another good thing is the place seemed kid friendly. I would not have expected that, and would not hesitate to bring our kids. I also expected the guests to be by and large older but that also was not the case. It was a good mix.

If you chose to stay here and are looking for good coffee, food/beer and want to get away I highly recommend Blue Star Coffee and Twisp River Brewing, both in Twisp. The food at the brewery is very good, as of course is the beer. The Old School House Brewery in Winthrop is good also, but the food is not of the same caliber in my opinion.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
3.7 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
407 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
480 reviews
3.6 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
328 reviews
3.9 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
164 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Mountain Lodge

Address: 604 Patterson Lake Rd, Winthrop, WA 98862
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range: £116 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Sun Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Mountain Hotel Winthrop
Sun Mountain Resort
Sun Mountain Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing