We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price - Very Disappointed”
Review of Sun Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sun Mountain Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed over a weekend in January 2014 for our 10th anniversary. We enjoyed the long beautiful drive to get there. We hoped to partake in the snow activities, unfortunetely there was very little (to no) snow. Closest town of Winthrop was quaint, but most shops and diners were closed for the season. We live rurally and have low entertainment requirements, but found ourselves bored when it got dark at 5pm (very little to do). Played pool and ping pong but that can only entertain for so long and there was no TV in room. The bed was hard as a rock and the neighbors noisy (small children crying in early morning). Restaurant was excellent (expensive) and breakfasts were the highlight. Since there was only 2 of us we got the best seats with an amazing morning view. We though the scenery beautiful, the potential activities fun (if snow or light present), and the breakfasts great; but it didn't make up for the cost, hard bed, lack of ammenities, and unexpected boredom. City dwellers and outdoor enthusiests will enjoy this resort the most for the change of pace and scenery. I guess we have that already at home so we weren't overly impressed.

Room Tip: Get out your wallet and go for the cabin rentals by the lake, if you can afford it.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
There are newer reviews for Sun Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

We had been to Sun Mountain Lodge before, but had never taken the kids. This time we took the kids and we had a great time. (ages 15, 13, and 10)

From the Eastside of Seattle, it is a bit of a drive - 4 1/2 hours, but it's so pretty out there. When we were there before there was SO much snow. This time we booked for a time period where it was the case that there wasn't much snow in any of the mountain areas (on the west and east sides of the pass). There was snow, but there was also brush sticking through the snow. We were still able to enjoy ourselves.

We brought some sleds for the kids and had fun doing that. We were planning on snowshoeing, but there really wasn't enough snow, so we just did a hike in our snow boots. Still fun, but a completely different experience from when we were there before and there were feet and feet of snow. We rented fat tire bikes from the bike shop in the town of Winthrop and went biking on the snow. A first for us, and it was fun, and I imagine would be even more fun with more snow. The activities shop at the lodge rents them too. The reasons that we went into town to rent them was because the lodge didn't have a frame small enough for our 10 year old, and it seemed like there was a more extensive fat tire bike trail network in the town versus at the lodge. I'm sure if it fits your situation though, renting from the lodge would be great too.

We went on a sleigh ride. It was nice, although I wish it would have been more of a ride. Basically, the sleigh went the same way that we had hiked the day before, but we had hiked further. The sleigh makes a stop at a little hut for hot chocolate and apple cider, which was nice, but it seemed like we spent a disproportionate time at the stop vs on the ride. We got to pet the horses, which was fun.

Restaurants - we ate breakfast in Winthrop one day at a great café (can't remember the name!) and on the way home one day at a great little place in the town of Twisp called Cinnamon Twisp. We had snacks and dinner at the lodge. The casual bar type restaurant is good - a lot of selection on both food and drink. Kids are allowed in there. We ate at the full service restaurant one night. It was good, but it felt unnecessarily stuffy and I don't think that the food was as good as it should have been given the price.

We checked out a couple of hours before check-out and after we were about an hour away, we realized that we had left a piece of our son's medical equipment in the room. We really didn't want to turn back. We called to see if they had found anything. They had already cleaned our room and found what we were looking for, and they also found a sweatshirt that our daughter left that we didn't even know that she left. They FedExed the stuff right to us. They didn't charge us or even discuss payment for the FedEx, they just covered it. We've had similar experiences elsewhere, and I can tell you that not all places are as efficient, courteous, and wonderful to do this as Sun Mountain.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie0500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This not a review per se, but rather raw impressions.
I hope they will be useful nevertheless.

We do not ask for much: just taste, style and quality.
The Haub family has all that – in the heart of Cascadia. (Yes, it is like Bavaria, only in PNW and less populated).

From outside - the lodge looks like a usual German citadel of mountain tourism – so common in some parts of Europe (I am thinking about one in High Tatras - Zakopane, PL) – with tiny rooms and Spartan amenities.
Inside - this is a King size American retreat with large tastefully decorated open spaces and magnificent views. I am not sure if US visitors appreciate the size of the loos.

It is neither cheesy nor bland. It has a character, a theme and a story to tell.

When you are hungry after many kilometers of ski tracks – the food is heavenly.

Sincere service with a smile - comes before appetizer.

Attention to details: raisins (technically, sultanas) that come with the breakfast oatmeal look like good expensive kishmish, not the cheap Costco kind.

Finally, an apple pie which is a serious contender with an Austrian Apfelstrudel!

The 1911 leather bound Britannica by a fireplace – this is the perfect evening, especially with a glass of Jamaican coffee from the bar.

Step outside early in the morning: Venus rises above the Gardner Mountain. (This is not the Macy’s star, this is real Christmas. )

Step outside late at night: with star sky like that who needs a TV?

Hot tub surrounded by snow at 9 PM is just crazy. Wear swimsuit and a fur hat.

The apex of a sleigh ride: at the top of a mountain - Hank Cramer himself – talks about Woody Guthrie visiting this area in 40s and sings a bass version of “This Land is Your Land” (which, IMHO, is better than the original). The song resonates in the crystal clear crisp winter air and the miles of rocks and snow – all the way to the horizon.

Anyone could put artificial snow on a slope for mountain skiers. Nordic ski trails are precious – they are impossible to fake.

The Skip shop is a fun place: anxiety-free for first-timers, hassle-free for pros.

As our kid put it: “I want to stay here. I want to be lodge-schooled.”

Room Tip: If you rise early - ask for a mountain view room. We have got a free upgrade.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Batishchev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We thought that having breakfast here would be the highlight of our trip but was unfortunately the low point. We have been coming here for more years than I can remember and absolutely love this place, especially the dining experience. We had a party of 8 and ended up being seated as far away from the windows and the beautiful view as possible even though the majority of the view tables were empty. It took forever for our server to come to our table and when he finally did he mumbled so much and spoke so quietly you couldn't understand a word he said. It was a very awkward customer service situation. Many things we asked for never came at all or we received the wrong things. The presentation of the food was one of the biggest issues. Many of the plates looked more like truck stop diner food than 5 Diamond Award food. It looked sloppy and had no garnishes. I ordered the homemade croissant with yogurt and fruit and it was very unappetizing. The croissant was stale and the yogurt looked and tasted like a couple plastic Yoplait yogurt cups were dumped into a cup. The menu in general was substandard for such a nice place. Not sure what happened here but hopefully it can be turned around and return to it's former glory. At this point I am in fear of returning and having a similar experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank snowgirltwentytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianCharlton, General Manager at Sun Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for writing - I owe you breakfast next time you are here. We did have a situation in August foe a wee while, but I am pleased to report it is fixed! We have made some major changes, including a new morning chef and a new Wolf Creek Bar and Grill chef, The service issues were handled and the fellow who served you is no longer with us.

I am so very sorry for the poor service and meal, and look forward to meeting you next time you are here and making amends.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I loved loved loved this hotel! A friend and I spent a night here before heading into North Cascades National Park. The hotel is lovely and modern, with a very friendly staff. We soaked in the hot tub and had a clear view of the Milky Way that night- I think this became one of the highlights of my trip.

The surrounding trails are wonderful, and while our stay was short, we left with a good experience.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Laleh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I stay there while attending a marriage retreat. Beautiful time of the year, amazing fall colors and surroundings. Staff were more than wonderful, they were very friendly, helpful and overall grand. Spa employees were very good as well. Kazia was just so nice and the pedicure was superb. Rooms were great, wonderful views from the windows.
The game room was great, but there are also many other activities that you can do. Biking, hiking, horseback riding. Winthrop is just a few miles away and it is just a super little town with a western setting. Overall experience was just grand

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I recently spent 2 nights here while attending a meeting at the hotel. I have never been to this part of the state and didn't know quite what to expect. Other than the fact that there was no easy way to get there (I live in SW Washington) my stay was excellent and I am now wishing that we come back to this place for future meetings.

I was a little leery when I read some reviews about there not being TVs in the room. I am a bit of a TV junkie (especially so on business trips) so I was a little freaked out about this but I actually found this to be an asset. There is a bar downstairs where I was able to watch the football and baseball games and it allowed me to have conversations with others about the game. There is so much to do at the Lodge that you can easily fill the time. It was off season so it was a little slow but a group of us still got down to the golf course the second afternoon and got in nine holes of golf before dark. The hot tub was open and it was great to end each night under the stars.

Fall is beautiful time to visit. The changing of the colors made for some truly awesome scenic vistas. Took way too many pictures but I just kept thinking "wow that would be a great picture".

The room was very comfortable. The beds allowed for a great nights sleep, the bathroom was not overly fancy but everything worked. The rooms were very clean and a safe in the room is always a nice touch. It was also great to start each morning with incredible views right outside my window.

Some of the reviews I have read have been not very complimentary of the food in the lounge. I disagree I had a tasty French dip and a cup of the curry soup. They had a nice selection of beer and the waitress was attentive and very pleasant. Plus the view from the bar was spectacular.

I would love to come back and visit in the summer or winter for that matter. I would also like to spend more time in the actual town of Winthrop, a western themed town. We ate dinner there the second night after golf but a lot of the shops were already closed. Plus I understand that further North in Canada is a great resort area I would like to check out. Not sure why it took me 44 years to visit this part of the state but it won't take me that long to come back.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank MrMovie500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
3.7 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
396 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
473 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
3.9 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
161 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Mountain Lodge

Address: 604 Patterson Lake Rd, Winthrop, WA 98862
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range: £115 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Sun Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Mountain Hotel Winthrop
Sun Mountain Resort
Sun Mountain Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing