We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Mother's Day getaway”
Review of Sun Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Mountain Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Mother's Day getaway”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Sun Mountain Lodge was having a great Mother's Day special on lodging with brunch included, which was SO great. The price was so reasonable, they accommodated our early check-in request, and our room had a great balcony with a beautiful view. The customer service was great. We had our 2-year-old son with us, and accommodations were great for him as well. They have a playground, and we went to the horse corral so he could check out the horses. We went on a short hike around Beaver Pond, and spent some time in Winthrop. Our stay was short but there were plenty of activities to keep us busy- no WiFi and no TV did not hinder our ability to enjoy ourselves. I think we ate 3 meals at the lodge facilities, and they were all GREAT.

Room Tip: If you can stay in the Mt. Robinson Lodging, that is the BEST. I've stayed there before and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCangiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    127
    49
    25
    15
See reviews for
120
269
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Snohomish, WA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I love Sun Mountain Lodge. I've stayed in the Mt. Robinson and Gardner rooms, but my absolute favorite place to stay is in the cabins on Patterson Lake. The cabins are beautiful, comfortable little homes that contain a full kitchen, a separate full-sized dining room, a living room with a river-rock faced gas-burning fireplace, and a separate bedroom. They are beautifully appointed in a rustic theme and since I first stayed in one of these cabins I have never stayed anywhere else on the property. The housekeeping and maintenance staff, Lori and Dave, are the nicest people you'll ever meet, but I didn't expect anything less because of the experiences I've had working with the people at the front desk, reservations, ski shop, gift shop, spa, Wolf Creek Bar and Grill, the restaurant, Group Services, and Sales. This place is comfortable, quiet, and the staff takes good care of you when you need them. I visit here annually and plan to continue doing so for several more years...

There's one odd little thing to note... I don't sleep well, or sometimes not at all it seems, and I can sleep here, in the cabins.

Room Tip: Choose a Patterson Lake cabin if you're traveling with your family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AirialBalloonCompany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I adore this lodge during the snow season, its magnificent setting with magical views in every direction, architecture that expresses the spirit of this magnificent place, warm and friendly fire in the huge fireplace in the lounge. If you love wilderness and want to see art and nature in perfect balance go here. The lodge expresses the spirit of the place exactly, timeless and authentic, and the staff is very helpful and friendly.

The rooms are very comfortable and restful. The dining room has a spectacular view of the valley and sitting there is a moment of grace. The bar next door also is very nice, I find meals at this lodge a bit overrated and overpriced, though, but have paid willingly because of the very special setting. After dark there is not much of the valley view to enjoy, though.

We have been coming here for years, it never disappoints. There are limitless things to do here, both outdoors and in, just glorious.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naoko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just spent 3 days here and had a wonderful time. It was my first time Cross country skiing and had a blast. The staff in the ski shop were very helpful and gave us great information about the numerous trails. We were given an upgrade to a room that had a wood burning fireplace in it; very romantic with the fire roaring and the snow falling over the mountains, from our window view. Soaking in the hot tub with snow falling one night, or after skiing looking out across the valley and mountains was a great way to soothe aching muscles.
The room was a good size, clean and comfortable. The small fridge was nice to keep beer cold. We ate in the bar and found the food very good; the chicken curry soup was really good. Breakfast was varied and filling. We were sat promptly and every day had a table by the window.
Did not miss tv and there is a TV room and TV in the bar area. The games room and reading room were nice touches.I did not have any problem accessing WiFi from the room, but figured that you are in the mountains, so any service is a bonus.
Would love to come back in the Fall and access the hiking.
My only concern would be the signs to the resort are not lit at night and so are really hard to see. Took us a couple of tries to find it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Beautiful rooms, with an amazing view, very quiet, private and romantic. The food is extremely good, everything, my portions seemed a little small, but allowed for desert. The 2 pools are so nice. Even if your not staying overnight, you have to take to senic drive up to the hotel, take a look or have lunch.

Room Tip: Check out the live web cam online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripstocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Falls, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed over a weekend in January 2014 for our 10th anniversary. We enjoyed the long beautiful drive to get there. We hoped to partake in the snow activities, unfortunetely there was very little (to no) snow. Closest town of Winthrop was quaint, but most shops and diners were closed for the season. We live rurally and have low entertainment requirements, but found ourselves bored when it got dark at 5pm (very little to do). Played pool and ping pong but that can only entertain for so long and there was no TV in room. The bed was hard as a rock and the neighbors noisy (small children crying in early morning). Restaurant was excellent (expensive) and breakfasts were the highlight. Since there was only 2 of us we got the best seats with an amazing morning view. We though the scenery beautiful, the potential activities fun (if snow or light present), and the breakfasts great; but it didn't make up for the cost, hard bed, lack of ammenities, and unexpected boredom. City dwellers and outdoor enthusiests will enjoy this resort the most for the change of pace and scenery. I guess we have that already at home so we weren't overly impressed.

Room Tip: Get out your wallet and go for the cabin rentals by the lake, if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We had been to Sun Mountain Lodge before, but had never taken the kids. This time we took the kids and we had a great time. (ages 15, 13, and 10)

From the Eastside of Seattle, it is a bit of a drive - 4 1/2 hours, but it's so pretty out there. When we were there before there was SO much snow. This time we booked for a time period where it was the case that there wasn't much snow in any of the mountain areas (on the west and east sides of the pass). There was snow, but there was also brush sticking through the snow. We were still able to enjoy ourselves.

We brought some sleds for the kids and had fun doing that. We were planning on snowshoeing, but there really wasn't enough snow, so we just did a hike in our snow boots. Still fun, but a completely different experience from when we were there before and there were feet and feet of snow. We rented fat tire bikes from the bike shop in the town of Winthrop and went biking on the snow. A first for us, and it was fun, and I imagine would be even more fun with more snow. The activities shop at the lodge rents them too. The reasons that we went into town to rent them was because the lodge didn't have a frame small enough for our 10 year old, and it seemed like there was a more extensive fat tire bike trail network in the town versus at the lodge. I'm sure if it fits your situation though, renting from the lodge would be great too.

We went on a sleigh ride. It was nice, although I wish it would have been more of a ride. Basically, the sleigh went the same way that we had hiked the day before, but we had hiked further. The sleigh makes a stop at a little hut for hot chocolate and apple cider, which was nice, but it seemed like we spent a disproportionate time at the stop vs on the ride. We got to pet the horses, which was fun.

Restaurants - we ate breakfast in Winthrop one day at a great café (can't remember the name!) and on the way home one day at a great little place in the town of Twisp called Cinnamon Twisp. We had snacks and dinner at the lodge. The casual bar type restaurant is good - a lot of selection on both food and drink. Kids are allowed in there. We ate at the full service restaurant one night. It was good, but it felt unnecessarily stuffy and I don't think that the food was as good as it should have been given the price.

We checked out a couple of hours before check-out and after we were about an hour away, we realized that we had left a piece of our son's medical equipment in the room. We really didn't want to turn back. We called to see if they had found anything. They had already cleaned our room and found what we were looking for, and they also found a sweatshirt that our daughter left that we didn't even know that she left. They FedExed the stuff right to us. They didn't charge us or even discuss payment for the FedEx, they just covered it. We've had similar experiences elsewhere, and I can tell you that not all places are as efficient, courteous, and wonderful to do this as Sun Mountain.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie0500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winthrop
3.7 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
387 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
317 reviews
3.9 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
82 reviews
11.7 mi away
Freestone Inn
Freestone Inn
#1 of 3 in Mazama
225 reviews
9.8 mi away
Twisp River Suites
Twisp River Suites
#1 of 5 in Twisp
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Mountain Lodge

Property: Sun Mountain Lodge
Address: 604 Patterson Lake Rd, Winthrop, WA 98862
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sun Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Mountain Hotel Winthrop
Sun Mountain Resort
Sun Mountain Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing