We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful mtn-top setting, but isolated”
Review of Sun Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Mountain Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“beautiful mtn-top setting, but isolated”
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Great place for a cross-country ski vacation, for all levels of skier. Comfortable rooms (we stayed in newer upper Gardner rooms) with amazing views. Accommodating service. But isolated location 6 miles up a winding road makes it inconvenient to run into town for lunch or dinner, and since the food at lunch and dinner is quite expensive for what it is, this can be an issue on extended stays.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejmtlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    127
    49
    25
    15
See reviews for
120
269
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Wa
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We will be back next year with friends.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpokanePinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Room was great, only one thing missing the TV. Even though it is very relaxing it would be nice to have the choice of watching the TV or not. The food in the Grill was really good. Breakfast in the dining room was also very good. We went for a short hike and it was beautiful. Lots of wildlife. A good place to slow down and relax. We were on the Fall colors special and it was worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleDrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My husband and I spent Labor Day weekend here and just loved it! The 350 degree mountain view was amazing, we loved the horseback dinner trail ride, and the grounds were immaculate. You can't go wrong with a visit here!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HolyMohle10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friday Harbor, WA
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We loved our stay at the Sun Mountain Lodge. The room was beautiful but the grounds and views were amazing. Views were available from every angle. The lodge itself was spectacular especially the iron work throughout. There was a nice library and game room. We had dinner in the bar a grill and it was just ok but breakfast was delicious (the best Eggs Benedict I have ever had). It was a nice get away and the drive through the Cascades was the icing on the cake. I would love to go there in winter. It must be amazing.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirkHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Went to SML Lodge and took advantage of their Fall Special which included a wonderful breakfast. The place is beautifully appointed and the setting was enchanting.
The room, however, was billed as a valley view room. Unfortunately there were huge trees blocking the view. I believe that the proprietors would have changed our room if we had asked-- but we settled in and didn't have the energy to move. Be sure you make it clear you don't want an obstructed view. PS: No TV-- was a plus for me.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hometowntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Overall our stay was very relaxing and what a getaway should be. The staff were very friendly including the waiters in the restaurant and Bar and Grill, which was more affordable than the main restaurant. We stayed with the Fall colors package with free breakfast of any entree on the menu.

We especially liked the views from up high in the mountains, well kept grounds with many flowers, heated pools with mountain views, and the abundant wildlife including many Deer and Wild Turkeys. There are two large fire places near the lobby. We loved all the Trophy animals on the walls including the free standing Buffalo in the lobby.

Our rating of this wonderful lodge is 4.5 out of 5. The only cons were insignificant. The black trim in our deluxe upscale room was a bit too overwellming and the metal artwork that made up the bed backboard and was used around the lighting was something that we wouln't have selected. The jacuzzi lacked jets for the back and was of only average jet force.

We stayed in the newer Mount Robinson unit.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hiker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winthrop
3.7 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
387 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
317 reviews
3.9 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
82 reviews
11.7 mi away
Freestone Inn
Freestone Inn
#1 of 3 in Mazama
225 reviews
9.8 mi away
Twisp River Suites
Twisp River Suites
#1 of 5 in Twisp
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Mountain Lodge

Property: Sun Mountain Lodge
Address: 604 Patterson Lake Rd, Winthrop, WA 98862
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Sun Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Mountain Hotel Winthrop
Sun Mountain Resort
Sun Mountain Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing