We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wesolapolana” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rolling Huts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rolling Huts
Sewickley PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wesolapolana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Best cappaccino I've ever had. Perfect. Friendly staff. Great stop when you're cross country skiing since its right on the trail!
Didn't stay at the rolling huts.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morselSewickleyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    5
    2
    6
    2
See reviews for
7
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Quiet, neat and modern. Great value for simple and clean comfort. We found more then we expected including bedding, extra blankets, microwave, fridge, electric kettle and dishes/cutlery. The local, detailed laser etched topographic maps that decorated our hut walls made hiking planning easy. As explained on the website, there is no running water in the hut, but each hut has a water pump at the base of the hut. The showers and bathrooms are nice and very close by on a lit path, and the hut adjacent chem-potty is clean and convenient. The Wesola Polana on site restaurant serves great tapas and dinners, but we also had an exceptionally good breakfast there. The best surprise was seeing the Polish flag and a welcome sign in Polish; made my day.

The staff are very nice and straight forward to work with. We planed an earlier trip in the spring but had a family situation that forced us to cancel; the staff were accommodating and worked with us and due to the circumstances allowed us to re-book. We already booked our second stay in September and are planning a winter trip as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank --LMM_MDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

We rented one of the huts for a weekend with 2 other friends (total 4 adults and 1 puppy) and had a great time. The cabins were well equipped and all we really needed to bring was our sleeping bag! It was spring but it still had a lot of snow covering the fields, so the view was just stunning when we were there. The drive to Rolling Huts was a treat in itself - you'll pass by Steven's Pass (you may need chains, so check the weather forecast), Leavenworth, North Cascade Scenic Highwway.

The huts were well heated, bathrooms were heated, there was hot/cold shower and flushable toilets. We highly recommend a weekend "camping" trip to Rolling Huts!

We wrote a blog post documenting our experience and photos of the trip, so hopefully this helps give you a better idea of a weekend "cabin camping" trip to Rolling Huts:
http://www.idelish.com/2011/04/25/modern-twist-to-camping-at-rolling-huts/

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RealiLuv2Travel!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

We are well traveled and have done our share of back country excursions and camping. Having just tent camped our way around New Zealand and South Pacific the past few months, staying at times in Hostels and Motorcamps for a break, we are accustomed to modest accommodations ($30-$50 a night gets you a warm water, place to sleep, warm shower, kitchen, sometimes a couch TV and wifi). Although I do like the idea of the Rolling Huts, and the location in the Methow Valley is awesome, the value just isn't there. These units are very basic, and modest at best, and simply dictate a lower rate as they are comparable to that of some hostels in New Zealand or Europe. We have been staying in the Methow Valley for years... camping, lodges, b&b's and hotels. For a price of $75-$150 dollars you can get running water, heat, private bath, access to kitchen and many other amenities that most decent lodging facilities make complimentary. It's not proper to compare the Rolling Huts to lodging, as it really is closer to camping. The unique nature of the Rolling Huts, the design, and the beautiful setting definitely add value, but the price just doesn't equal the value. If they priced the units in the $50-$75 range nightly I would have been pleased. Simply know what you are getting for the price. The warm /heated community bathroom and shower is 200-300 yards from the units. There is no water to the units and they don't supply water. The wood burning fire places are very small, and most of the chopped wood they had stacked under the unit was to large to put in fire place (other people have had this problem for weeks as there was a large pile of wood on the deck that couldn't fit in wood burning stove). Make sure you bring and axe and hatchet so you can chop kindling/wood. You will want a fire. There was one baseboard heater that didn't even come close to heating the unit, as there are many drafts coming in above and around doors. The unit is made of rough 1 inch plywood for walls and seats. There really is not much room to sit, and plywood benches are not real comfortable. Had they supplied a couple jugs of drinking water, and maybe some cushions for the plywood it would have gone a long way. Again, really cool concept, just know what you are paying for... Price simply doesn't equal the value. The caretaker and the people running the facilities were very cool and nice. Again, if the rate was say $75 a night my review would have been very different. The website markets this place as way to glamorous for what you get.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Curt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

We spent two nights there over my birthday weekend, and had an absolute blast! We snowshoed and cross-country skied everyday on beautiful trails just steps away from our Hut. The Fire place was amazing, and the space was just perfect for us to get away just the two of us. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HBoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

We just enjoyed a long weekend stay at the Rolling Huts and I was saddened to return and find only one other review on TA. We stayed for three nights and felt that the value was actually quite good for what we got (okay, free breakfast with the room would have been ideal but we're not in Europe.) The location is perfect - you are right in the valley- almost exactly halfway between Winthrop and Mazama. If you want to be able to walk to shops, multiple restaurants, etc - this is not the place for you. We were there to make use of the cross country trails which literally run right through the huts. The restaurant Wesola Polana was fantastic and we enjoyed our breakfasts and two dinners there. They have free wifi, games, a fireplace, and some very friendly staff members who shared all kinds of tips with us about the valley and nearby restaurants and trails. The cabins were really homey inside - they come with fireplaces and wood so that you can make your own fires as you wish. They also have central heating which was a pleasant surprise to us when we arrived. The bed is really a foam mattress on top of a wooden platform and then we slept in our sleeping bags on top of that. We were very comfortable and slept like logs. As for hanging out in the cabins - the wooden benches weren't super comfortable so we spent most of our free time either napping in bed, skiing, or hanging out in the restaurant playing games. Each unit comes with a compost toilet directly outside which is handy for early morning trips (no light so bring a headlamp), and just a short walk away is the heated barn with toilets and showers. Overall, it was a fantastic trip and we'll be back next winter to enjoy the trails, food, and romantic little cabins.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ciaoamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and while the concept is cool (what brought us here), its just too expensive for what you get. You are essentially camping inside 4 plywood walls and while it was cozy with the fireplace burning, the spotty thermostat caused us to go to bed warm and wake up in a 40 degree, freezing cold hut (we're talking, see your breath, frozen food on the counters cold). The port-a-potty for your restroom (the main restrooms are actually really nice but a bit of a walk in the middle of the night when its 20 degrees), no running water (although instructed in the Welcome manual to do your own dishes??), and very hard wood furniture to sit on, would be fine if pay a reasonable price but for $145 for 4 people, no thanks!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ecamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
9.0 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
9.6 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rolling Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolling Huts

Property: Rolling Huts
Address: 18381 State Route 20, Winthrop, WA 98862-9724
Region: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Rolling Huts 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Rolling Huts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolling Huts Hotel Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing