We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, nice decor”
Review of Hotel Rio Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rio Vista
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect location, nice decor”
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Really enjoyed being on the river. The hotel is in town and close to everything, but you feel more nature than city in your room with the river running so close. The front desk people were helpful and friendly. Parking was easy and close to the room. The room was nicely decorated with a western theme and had a balcony to sit and watch the river, trees, and hills. Definitely a good place to stay--and will return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank li0nheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    105
    21
    2
    2
See reviews for
56
158
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Post Falls, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
666 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

The Hotel Rio Vista is perfectly located along side the Metho River in Downtown Winthrop which is itself in the heart of the Metho Valley. Our room was big, nicely appointed, and the Balcony view over looking the river was worth the price of the room. The room was quiet ,relaxing, and comfortable, and the perfect launch pad for our end of winter snowshoeing and hiking.
The Hotel is located so everything in town is just a few blocks walk. People are friendly, welcoming, and we had a very pleasant two night stay. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wdlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

This hotel is set on the riverbank overlooking the river and the beautiful valley. The rooms are decorated in a rustic western theme with very comfy beds and linens. The cable was out during our stay, but we just spent more time together. Service was great.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Westieluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

This is one of our usual places to stay in Winthrop, whether we're there for winter or summer. The rooms are very clean, big, nice bathrooms, granite counters, all rooms have river views. I would recommend any room other than the ones on the street level. The street level rooms are within a few yards of the parking lot, which can get very full and noisy. The location can't get better. It's right in town - you step out your door and within a few yards of the first shop/cafe/restaurant. Summers it can get pretty noisy due to the street traffic, but that noise tends to die down after 9 pm. Winters are super quiet and less crowded. The hot tub is not very clean. We changed our minds after seeing scum on the service of the water. The staff is friendly and the price affordable for location and room size. Go in the off season (beginning Oct) to bypass the heavy tourism. Good place to stay with kids since everything is within walking distance and the river is right behind the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IslandMomNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

We rented the king suite and were not disappointed. The room was very spacious and the sleeper sofa was actually very comfortable to lounge on..
The only thing I didn't care for was no sink in the bathroom and nowhere to put clothing or personal items in the bath/toilet area. Suggest adding a shelf and robe hooks.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Winthrop was such a lovely stop after one of the most beautiful drives I have been on... (from marblemount.) The hotel was worth it, it was clean, well laid out, spacious, and my room had beautiful river views and I could hear the river from my bed when I had the door to the balcony cracked. All went very well and I highly recommend this hotel if you are doing the loop or heading back down again. Its worth a stay in Winthrop and this hotel was somehow a perfect fit.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zenzipzestzapzing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlem, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We were road tripping through Washington and stopped in Winthrop early for a little R & R. This hotel fit the bill. The owners are friendly and helpful, the rooms comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. The rooms are right on the river, so you can open a window and sleep restfully to the sound. The hot tub is great too!

Winthrop is a neat western style town just east of North Cascades Park, and the Hotel Rio Vista is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simva3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winthrop
0.5 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
389 reviews
0.9 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
159 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
520 reviews
0.9 mi away
Winthrop Inn
Winthrop Inn
#2 of 10 in Winthrop
128 reviews
8.1 mi away
Twisp River Suites
Twisp River Suites
#1 of 5 in Twisp
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Vista

Property: Hotel Rio Vista
Address: 285 Riverside Ave, PO Box 815, Winthrop, WA 98862-9811
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rio Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the western saloons and aromatic bakeries of downtown Winthrop, the Hotel Rio Vista's rustic facade blends seamlessly with the town's old-time western atmosphere. Overlooking the confluence of the Chewuch and Methow rivers, the hotel features guest rooms that offer private balconies, hand-crafted wood furniture, and works by local artists. A flat-screen HD television and free wireless internet access keep guests connected, while an outdoor picnic area and riverside hot tub offer the chance to unplug within earshot of the mellifluous sounds of nature and the soaring wings of Eagles and Osprey. For winter adventurers, the hotel is just across the pedestrian bridge from the ice rink and start of the Methow Valley's immaculately groomed ski and fat biking trails. The hotel features a Bike and Ski Wax room just for such outdoor activities. All of the Hotel Rio Vista's rooms include free high speed WIFI, DirecTV HD, private riverside decks, coffee bar with Seattle's Best coffee, mini-fridge, hair dryer, A/C, and microwaves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rio Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Vista Hotel
Rio Vista Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing