We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, but bed made our backs hurt”
Review of Hotel Rio Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rio Vista
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mount Vernon, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view, but bed made our backs hurt”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Pros: great location to food, shopping, foot bridge. Great view from window and deck. Saw blue hearon, hawks, ducks in the evening and deer in the morning. Loved hearing the river from our room. Staff seemed friendly. Small refrigerator handy.

Cons: bed and pillows less than desirable. Standard (or sub par) spring mattress and lame pillows. Woke up with back hurting and stiff neck.

Overall, great view, but we saw another place we will try next time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    100
    21
    2
    2
See reviews for
53
149
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The highlight here is the balcony overlooking the river. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Nice water pressure in the clean bathroom and located in town so no driving was required. I would not hesitate to book again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sylvie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I read other reviews on this hotel before choosing it. We were not disappointed. The property is exceptionally clean and each room has a beautiful view of the river. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. The desk staff were exceptionally friendly. We enjoyed the short walk into the charming town of Winthrop. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Our experience at the Hotel Rio Vista was a great one. All of our family really enjoyed staying and we will all be back again. Loved having the river's right outside our door. Paul & Melissa the owners were very helpful and accomodating. The staff was very friendly. Everything was nice and clean and the rooms were a nice size for all of our families. Stores & Restaurants were close and easy to get to. I recommend this Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: All of our rooms were great. My husband and I were on the lst floor as I couldn't do the stairs...
See more room tips
Green Features: Check the hotels environmental statements on their web page.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed for over a week here during my hiking vacation in the Methow valley area and was not disappointed at all. Very nice, well-maintained, and clean interior. One can see the owners love what they are doing and put some thoughts behind, to make their guests feel at home, which I did.

And never before in my life I had a bald eagle flying by when I stepped out in the morning to a patio. Awesome. ... Oh, not to forget the deers across the road when stepping out the other side of the building in the morning.

If I return to Winthrop or this area of beautiful WA state at all, that is where I will look first and hope I can get a room again.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the river and have a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INB008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plp_squared, Owner at Hotel Rio Vista, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
The Eagles, Osprey, and Deer are amazing to watch! Several guests have commented on watching Doe and their Fawn swim across the rivers in the morning and on watching the Eagles and Osprey hunt at the confluence, especially in the early Spring and late Fall.

Thank you for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
121 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms overlooking the river. Easy walking distance everywhere. Rocket fast WIFI. Flat screen TV with good selections. Fridge and microwave in the suite. Comfortable deck. Friendly staff. Great place to overnight.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reptilevancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Nicely situated in the downtown area. Short walk to shops & restaurants. Decorated with beautiful flowers. Best part was the balcony with river view. Almost didn't make it here b/c significant mud slide road closure to the west. Suggest out-of-state traveler to check conditions beforehand if coming from Cascades.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UCIAlumni1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.4 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#1 of 7 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.9 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#5 of 7 in Winthrop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#6 of 7 in Winthrop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
0.5 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 11 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#3 of 7 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Vista

Property: Hotel Rio Vista
Address: 285 Riverside Ave, PO Box 815, Winthrop, WA 98862-9811
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rio Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the western saloons and aromatic bakeries of downtown Winthrop, the Hotel Rio Vista's rustic facade blends seamlessly with the town's old-time western atmosphere. Overlooking the confluence of the Chewuch and Methow rivers, the hotel features guest rooms that offer private balconies, hand-crafted wood furniture, and works by local artists. A flat-screen HD television and free wireless internet access keep guests connected, while an outdoor picnic area and riverside hot tub offer the chance to unplug within earshot of the mellifluous sounds of nature and the soaring wings of Eagles and Osprey. For winter adventurers, the hotel is just across the pedestrian bridge from the ice rink and start of the Methow Valley's immaculately groomed ski and fat biking trails. The hotel features a Bike and Ski Wax room just for such outdoor activities. All of the Hotel Rio Vista's rooms include free high speed WIFI, DirecTV HD, private riverside decks, coffee bar with Seattle's Best coffee, mini-fridge, hair dryer, A/C, and microwaves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Rio Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Vista Hotel
Rio Vista Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing