We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Rio Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rio Vista
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great place to stay, within walking distance of downtown and right across the street from the Schaefer museum. Affordable, clean and well kept.
Right on a river with river access and all rooms open to the river via balcony.
As far as food goes, Winthrop is not in the running for awesome or great food. There are places to eat that are food, but it really is a tourist town and extremely busy in the summer.
Being in the Methow Valley you need to understand that the deer are everywhere. be careful driving as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aka_fb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    100
    21
    2
    2
See reviews for
53
149
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Laurel Springs, New Jersey
Level Contributor
203 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were looking for a nice hotel within walking distance to restaurants and bars in Wild West Winthrop, Washington. We can't walk far due to knee problems, and we didn't want to drink and
drive, so the main issue was vicinity to downtown shops and dining and drinking. We were led to
believe that the Hotel Rio Vista is right in the heart of downtown Winthrop and it is not. It's about
4-5 blocks from the real action, so we ended up having to drive ( and not drink). What we got instead, however, is a fabulous view of the convergence of 2 rivers right outside our glass doors,
with a deck and chairs. The view is spectacular, with a pathway down to the waters edge with chairs along the river too. This alone makes me glad we stayed there. The room was great, spanking clean, with all the good conveniences. It was a little strange having the bathroom sink
out in the bedroom, more like a kitchen sink, but that too had its advantages as far as 2 people getting ready at once. The bed was wonderful, the shower was very good, and the management was friendly and very helpful. I would stay there again, just for the river views. Winthrop is a delightful western themed town and I just wish we had stayed another day so we could have enjoyed all the ambiance. Overall, I would recommend the Hotel Rio Vista, for comfort and cleanliness and Wild West theme. They have a big Jacuzzi in a private room with a wall of windows overlooking the rivers. Also, another plus is that the room rates are very low for all the amenities you get. The area is scenic and the owners very nice. If you are going to Winthrop,
this is a great place to stay. There is no elevator, so ask for ground floor room.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, ask for King room with I obstructed river view. No elevators here, so ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEAJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is a strange review. We made reservations to stay here on a Saturday night at 6:00 the night before. We were told they had a 48 hr cancellation policy and we were ok with that. The news said the freezing level over highway 20 was going to be11,000 feet. So we decided to ride our motorcycles over for one last fall excursion. When we got about halfway up the North Cascade Highway, it got colder and colder and we started to see ice on the road and we were slipping all over. The police and fire units were barreling up the mountain to help cars that had spun out. The sand trucks were also operating. Yikes! We turned around and headed home 150 miles away.when we called, the owners were very understanding and agreed to NOT charge us for having to cancel although I had resigned myself that we had just blown the money. Above and beyond and much appreciated! We WILL stay there next time we stay in Winthrop (next summer). Thanks Paul. Great Customer Service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

A most unique hotel with every room having a great view of the confluence of The Methow & Chewuch Rivers just outside your room. Rooms are clean and well apportioned. So here we are on the deck at 5 PM enjoying a great sunset. The hotel is just a few steps from down town Winthrop which has some great eateries. Can't get better than this.

Room Tip: All rooms great !
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel is non-smoking and offers laundry saving options.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We lovevd this little room! Only stayed for one night and were hoping not to hear traffic since it is right off the main road. Lovely to know the river was right out the back veranda!
Bed was a little soft. It and the comforter could use a replacement. I liked the sink and vasnity being in the sleeping area, as spouse could use the shower while I did my hair and make-up. Nice flat-screen TV and wi-fi was complimentary.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be the same with the exception of the bottom floor. I detected exhaust fumes sett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moodyblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We were once again provided a room by Kiwanis, the Kiwanis Club of Winthrop, at the Rio Vista, thank you Kiwanis of Winthrop. It has been years since either of us have visited Winthrop, it did not disappoint again. The hotel is right on the highway, noise is not an issue, and is very close to town. Check in was easy, we actually get a real key. The room is small but well laid out. All of the rooms face the river, it is very nice on the balcony watching the river flow by. The only complaint I have is the bed, it was not very comfortable, I also woke up with a back ache, nothing that a little stretching did not take care of.

All and all this is a nice place to stay in Winthrop, clean, well maintained and overall comfortable. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela-and-Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakebay, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This hotel was a wonderful surprise. The room was comfortable with all necessary amenities and a small balcony great for sipping wine and watching the river rush by. Downtown stores and restaurants are an easy walk. Front desk was very helpful with area information, hikes, biking, dining, etc. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksj_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.4 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#1 of 7 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.9 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#5 of 7 in Winthrop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#6 of 7 in Winthrop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
0.5 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 11 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#3 of 7 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Vista

Property: Hotel Rio Vista
Address: 285 Riverside Ave, PO Box 815, Winthrop, WA 98862-9811
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rio Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the western saloons and aromatic bakeries of downtown Winthrop, the Hotel Rio Vista's rustic facade blends seamlessly with the town's old-time western atmosphere. Overlooking the confluence of the Chewuch and Methow rivers, the hotel features guest rooms that offer private balconies, hand-crafted wood furniture, and works by local artists. A flat-screen HD television and free wireless internet access keep guests connected, while an outdoor picnic area and riverside hot tub offer the chance to unplug within earshot of the mellifluous sounds of nature and the soaring wings of Eagles and Osprey. For winter adventurers, the hotel is just across the pedestrian bridge from the ice rink and start of the Methow Valley's immaculately groomed ski and fat biking trails. The hotel features a Bike and Ski Wax room just for such outdoor activities. All of the Hotel Rio Vista's rooms include free high speed WIFI, DirecTV HD, private riverside decks, coffee bar with Seattle's Best coffee, mini-fridge, hair dryer, A/C, and microwaves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Rio Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Vista Hotel
Rio Vista Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing