We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Hotel Rio Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rio Vista
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 July 2014

First time staying in Winthrop. It was a hastily planned business trip and did not have a lot of options but very happy we ended up at the Rio. Arrived late in the evening and the front desk was very helpful and accommodating. The room was very clean and comfortable. Only regret is not being able to stay longer. Will definitely be at the top of our list of places to stay next time we are in town.

Easy access to town and the bakery next door is great.

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms are quiet and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawg_501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Hotel Rio Vista is a well-run, attractive hotel at the confluence of the Methow and Chewuch Rivers. Every room has a nice patio and a view of the river. None face the street. We completely enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

We arrived in Winthrop shortly after the power went out due to a large wildfire to the southeast. The entire town was out, with potentially several days without power ahead. The staff performed wonderfully. The hotel was booked up, but prepared with flashlights for everyone. They went door-to-door and distributed free ice cream to all the guests before it melted. By the time we left, we'd already decided to come back and hope the power was off again. Ok, the power situation wasn't totally perfect. We couldn't make coffee in the morning, and the shower was cold without electricity. But we wouldn't trade the quiet and the time sitting on our patio just enjoying the river for anything.

Despite the power outage, we could see a lot of great things about the hotel. It's spotless! The rooms are attractive and have a local feel to them. Not cookie cutter and really comfortable. Even though it's right on Winthrop's main drag, we didn't notice any traffic noise coming from our patio. They also have chairs down closer to the river, and they have a hot tub. It's a family-run hotel, and we could tell they take great pride in their business.

Each of the four people in our group said we'd like to return, maybe when Winthrop is open for business. Nice hotel. Fantastic setting. A Memorable Stay.

Room Tip: I was told that rooms on the ground floor are about 5 degrees cooler in summer. Good idea, because i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoingEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Lovely hotel! Wonderful atmosphere and very well taken care of. Every staff member that we met was very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were very clean and a nice size, the mini fridge was a nice added bonus. The balcony looking over the river was lovely and the hotel also has a sitting area down at the river; very peaceful for reading/relaxing after a long hot day. We also saw doe with their brand new fawn out behind the hotel every morning that we stayed. The location is perfect walking distance to everything and Winthrop itself is such a fun and unique little town. Will return to this hotel next time we are in the area. Thanks for a wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: The top floor king rooms offer the most privacy and the best views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Erica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Room was a good size, clean and had an awesome view of the river. Prices were reasonable, parking was easy, the Wi-Fi worked well, the staff was very friendly, and there were great restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank heffhuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here travelling on the cascade loop. After leavenworth the town is small but has various restaurants to choose from, the hotel was on the edge of town overlooking the methow river .Room was clean nice sheets and peaceful not being overlooked .Coffee machine available but no water in room .Hot tub available but we were there in 100% so did not use .Aircondition unit was very noisy but needed it to be on due to the heat.t felt it was not as good value as other hotels we stayed in .

Room Tip: Higher rooms have good view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank margaret e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The river is next to the room; there's two rivers that join and a little island with breastfeeding deers on it. There are crickets here at night, lots of sun, and there are bats that eat the many insects in town. The mattress is easy to sleep on and the room is pleasant. There is a jacuzzi but not a pool, and there is no free breakfast. The rate seemed a little high for such a small town. Since it's warm in summer, just left the porch door open at night. The guy will give lots of directions, the woman doesn't talk much. Microwave and mini fridge included.

It is supposed to be one of the more reliable places in town, but shop around and check out other places as well since there are so many choices.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank germoTacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Got into town at the end of an 800 km+ day on the motorcycle and was lucky enough to snag the last room. All the rooms look out on the river. Very comfortable bed, nice set up, private balcony, great shower. Front desk person (sorry, I'm terrible with names) got me a bucket of water (to go with the already supplied rags) to wash a days accumulation of bugs off my windshield. She also gave excellent recommendations for supper that night (Old Red Schoolhouse) and breakfast the next morning (Three Fingered Jack's). Very motorcycle friendly. I opened the window and had the best sleep of my trip to the sounds of the river. Will return with my wife for a couple of days next year

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOFTer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.5 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
164 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
92 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Vista

Address: 285 Riverside Ave, PO Box 815, Winthrop, WA 98862-9811
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range: £81 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rio Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the western saloons and aromatic bakeries of downtown Winthrop, the Hotel Rio Vista's rustic facade blends seamlessly with the town's old-time western atmosphere. Overlooking the confluence of the Chewuch and Methow rivers, the hotel features guest rooms that offer private balconies, hand-crafted wood furniture, and works by local artists. A flat-screen HD television and free wireless internet access keep guests connected, while an outdoor picnic area and riverside hot tub offer the chance to unplug within earshot of the mellifluous sounds of nature and the soaring wings of Eagles and Osprey. For winter adventurers, the hotel is just across the pedestrian bridge from the ice rink and start of the Methow Valley's immaculately groomed ski and fat biking trails. The hotel features a Bike and Ski Wax room just for such outdoor activities. All of the Hotel Rio Vista's rooms include free high speed WIFI, DirecTV HD, private riverside decks, coffee bar with Seattle's Best coffee, mini-fridge, hair dryer, A/C, and microwaves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rio Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Vista Hotel
Rio Vista Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing