We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice property, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Virginian Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Winthrop
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice property, good value”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

We reserved with central reservations online, which was convenient and efficient. A late check in was provided and our questions answered promptly.

This property is large and dark at night- finding the office took some time, but not a big deal.

Parking is something of a free for all but easy enough.

Our room was on the top floor and facing the river. The walls are paper thin, our neighbours were noisy, but I am extremely fortunate that we were not underneath them! I cannot imagine how noisy that would be!

The room isn't fancy, but it is cedar and really warm and cozy. The ceilings are vaulted, it's a good size and the beds were comfy. A/C worked well. The TV could use upgrading, it's a tube tv. The room was very clean.

The shower head is very low! I'm 5'9 and I had to duck to wash my hair. The floor creaked in the tub, very loud. There were quite a few soft spots in the floor.

We did not have the breakfast, so I cannot comment on that.

Overall it was a good value- if I return to Winthrop I would stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurel S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    31
    17
    11
    7
See reviews for
21
30
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The Virginian was a good value for the money. It is a clean place to sleep and you get a bit of breakfast for your money. One caution I would add is that the "weekday" included breakfast is very limited (a few sugary cereals and poptarts - I had to ask for milk). The owner informed us that the weekend breakfast was "full" (included more items). This was not clear on the website - it seems a little unfair that the same price is charged regardless. However, I would likely stay again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sunnygrrlSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Small Panabode cabins and motel units offer a spot near the river and within walking distance of Winthrop stores and restaurants. Pleasant staff and breakfast included, each cabin has place to sit outside. There is an area with barbecue if you feel like cooking and the kitchens include microwave and small frig/freezer. Dogs are welcome including big ones (our 75 lb xolo thought it was a great place). Winthrop is in the Methrow Valley, great scenery, friendly people and this time of year the fresh fruit is amazing!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snohomish, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My GF and I stayed overnight here after a very long bike ride over Hwy 20. The room was clean & everything was acceptable. Not the highest of quality but very reasonable for the price. Continental breakfast was quite simple with limited variety. Overall nothing major to brag about & nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We booked our trip at the last minute. We wanted to stay at the koa but they were completely booked, but they are right down the street so it was easy to just drive over and hang with our friends there. We needed a place that we could include our family member that just happens to have fur. They are one of the only places in Winthrop that takes dogs. When i called the office to book they were very nice and had a cabin available. And had the forthought to bring our aerobed, good move when you have 4 or more, the big bed is pretty little, so it was great to have another option.
We had a wonderful time. The cabins were great and had a lawn in front to throw the ball around with the kids. For $85 a night, it was clean and quiet and had breakfast. Can't go wrong. People that complain about this hotel need to just pay more and stay at the sun mountain lodge(NICE BUT EXPENSIVE) it delivered what wepaid for. I will come back. Love Winthrop.

Room Tip: Choose the cabins. They are the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helix
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

When we go to Winthrop, we always had issues finding a decent hotel that allowed pets. We used Central Reservations and drew The Virginian. For $69 a night, you can get a clean, no frills room that includes a continental breakfast. The staff were friendly. Be prepared though if you are in the downstairs rooms, you WILL hear creaks, cracks, and noises from upstairs. I'd advise getting a cabin if you're a light sleeper. (I'm not and slept fine!). A nice stay.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We staying in one of the little cabins, which was cute, cozy and perfect for what we needed. The bathroom was a little small, but doable.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was good.

I really like the western town feel of the place and prices were reasonable. .

Oh, no pool!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggymch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.2 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#5 of 7 in Winthrop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#1 of 7 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#2 of 7 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
0.1 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 11 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Winthrop Inn
Winthrop Inn
#3 of 11 in Winthrop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginian Resort

Property: The Virginian Resort
Address: 808 State Route 20, Winthrop, WA 98862-9002
Region: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Virginian Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management since 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Virginian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Virginian Hotel Winthrop
Virginian Hotel Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing