We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hotel hasn't been updated since the Old West was the New West” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duck Brand Hotel and Cantina

Duck Brand Hotel and Cantina
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winthrop
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duck Brand Hotel and Cantina
Ranked #9 of 10 Winthrop B&B and Inns
Bountiful, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The hotel hasn't been updated since the Old West was the New West”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

First let me say the couple that run this hotel and the attached Cantina were friendly and helpful even though they were overworked. The room was clean, but that was as good as it got.

We arrived during a heat wave looking forward to a nice cool room. The room air conditioner ran non-stop, but was useless. There were no fans in the room and the windows could not be left open because there were no screens and the window locks were too high to reach. It was impossible to cool down the room. There was a note adhered to the bathroom door giving instructions on how to set the heat to avoid frozen pipes. My guess is, its as cold in the winter as it was hot in the summer.

The water temperature was variable and inconsistent. When we finally found the cold water, the next time we turned it on it come out hot. Taking a shower was an adventure with the water changing temperatures every few minutes without any adjustments on our part.

The beds had to have been from the 1950s. The top was hard, but underneath was like jell-o. So the bed did not conform to your body and every time you rolled over the bed quaked.

There are no in room hair dryers. I guess if you're staying here you're expecting to rough it. We requested a dryer and several hours later it was delivered. It was something from the 1970s, it worked thankfully.

There is no easy access to the rooms. They are located in the middle of the hill so it's either a flight of stairs up or a flight of stairs down. Pack light!

Rustic is the kindest description I can give. We won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HavePassportLetsGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    14
    3
    7
    9
See reviews for
7
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Horrible place to stay or eat. Just stayed and ate here: horrible food, lousy rooms. Extremely rude owners.

Management is rude and disrespectful to guests and staff. While having breakfast, I asked our server if there was a computer/printer to print out directions. Told that there wasn't one, but that if i told them where I was going they would print directions off in the office. Server returned to let us know the office "wasn't in a good mood" so no directions for us. Owners the came out screaming at our server that she was taking too much time helping us, as she had other customers inside.

Food sucked, room sucked, rude management. Stay away.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank haddon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Winthrop hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Spokane, WA.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Our family stayed at the Duck Brand Hotel again this year for the annual 49ers days in Winthrop. The Duck Brand hotel,located above and behind the restaurant is the best value in this quaint town. The rooms are clean and stay with the basic country feel of this community. They have a wonderful balcony to have a cold beverage, or to get a birds eye view of the parades. We stayed as a family and occupied several rooms. The restaurant downstairs has very high quality food and will provide you ice for your rooms as well.This property is not an option for those who cannot use stairs.Only small disappointment was the web site was off by 10.00 when we arrive and paid.You may also hear some small noise from the restaurant and kitchen downstairs. Not enough to really disturb you though. It is not the Hilton, however while visiting this sweet rustic town you will not find a better deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spokane2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Wa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

I ordered a veggie Enchilada and Chile Relleno! It was outstanding! Hubby ordered his standard BLT served with steak fries and he said it was great. Service was awesome, and manager visited our table! We will go back!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattlemarketgirl, Public Relations Manager at Duck Brand Hotel and Cantina, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
thanks so much for the kudos, julie. we really appreciate when the guests are happy. indeed, the chili rellenos are the best anywhere in the entire methow valley, and the fries are homemade--no prepackaged frozen stuff here!

the duck brand has been through its first year of business under new ownership and many kinks and bumps have been smoothed out as well as a lot of remodelling. every time you return, be sure to notice the improvements. recently the menus were upgraded with a few new items (veggie plate, corn on the cob mexican style, and more), the bar got a big screen TV, mattresses are being replaced as well as tiling in some of the bathrooms, new railings on the upper deck, and a new roof. we will keep finessing to keep our customers returning for more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

Sunny day on a beautiful tree-shaded deck overlooking town...priceless! Carne Asade Tacos were fabulous, although sorry to say the Winthrop red wine..not so much. Friend had a burger that was 'just okay'...serves him right for ordering American in a Mexican restaurant!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JacqueBurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattlemarketgirl, Public Relations Manager at Duck Brand Hotel and Cantina, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
thank you so much, jacque, for taking the time to provide a review. we take all feedback seriously and strive to reverse the negativity associated with this landmark from the past several years before the new ownership began in 2012. there's no prettier place to eat in winthrop, we agree!

part of the overhaul of the restaurant was to find fresher, local sources for some of the menu items such as meats and wines. the hamburger meat as well as the steaks comes from a local ranch in tonasket and the carne asada meat comes from twisp; all are superior to the previous sources. i'm surprised the hamburger got an 'eh' response; folks LOVE the burgers here! if anything is not delicious the next time you're in town, please let us know immediately so we can remedy the situation.

as for the local wines, it seems there have been folks who do not love it. the duck likes to showcase the methow valley's own products but if there are wines that are consistently doing poorly, they will be replaced. the duck has a small selection of chilean wines and a malbec from argentina that are really great choices.

again, the duck brand inn & cantina appreciates all constructive criticism (and kudos too!) and we strive to make the duck the best place to eat in the methow valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We did not stay at the hotel, we only ate at their restaurant, twice for dinner in our three days in Winthrop. We had Mexican food both times which was great. The waiters / waitresses we had were courteous and helpful. Would eat here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdW58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattlemarketgirl, Public Relations Manager at Duck Brand Hotel and Cantina, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
hi ed w,
thanks so much for your kind words. the menu itself needs revising as the descriptions (and the many errors) do not do justice to the food nor the high quality of the meals. though the duck has many mexican items on the menu, there's something tasty and fresh for everyone, including seafood, pastas, vegetarian (and many items can be made vegetarian upon request), steaks, salads, and rockin' breakfast items. there's a minimum of fried and fast foods at the duck, and the duck doesn't serve pizza. the fries are made daily from real potatoes and the veggies are handcut, not the freezer brands sold at other places in town. yes, there's actually duck on the menu too :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

The rooms were small, no music system, no TV, no fridge…it's like Sharia law had hit Winthrop! The Mexican cooks had bought this place and it had changed dramatically since our last stay. The rooms had increased from $69 to $85 and the food has gone downhill…they even screwed up a salad and the breakfasts had been under the heat lamp way too long. The only good thing about this place now is Jackie the waitress. I spoke to the new owner about overcharging for the rooms and he said he didn't give a damn; I complained about the quality of the food and he said to go elsewhere. These new owners have gone out of their way to eliminate the charm that was so appealing..before they took over.

Room Tip: Don't. Go somewhere else where the owners offer value and appreciate their customers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Duck Brand Hotel and Cantina, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
our experience: the owner did indeed address this particular guest, but not in the manner claimed above. upon arrival, the guest asked, then demanded, to check in at 10:30am and was very annoyed when he was told he could not do so due to other guests occupying the room and also because the policy states check-in is at 3pm. the owner told him he would have the room cleaned as soon as it was free--in fact, three hours earlier than usual--to appease this guest. the next morning upon checkout, the guest complained about every detail of his stay, including the food and the price of the room. the owner suggested that if he did not like the price, he could try to find something less expensive, but he would have to go to another town to do so. other staff were present when this particular customer complained and were surprised to hear about this review, as the owner was never disrespectful and tried everything he could think of to please this guest, including replacing his meal, to no avail. staff also remember the same guest raving about the food when asked by their server, but told the owner a much different story, then stating that the food, rooms, and service were much better in years past.

some background: the mexican brothers who bought the duck brand in january have been diligently overhauling, remodelling, and improving the place for the past seven months. upgrades include a brand new kitchen space, electrical, plumbing, bathrooms, artwork, lamps, a bar, ceilings, deck furniture, railings, the main stairway, part of the foundation, and a huge gorgeous outdoor deck. some of the original decor has been retained, such as antique farm machinery, old photos, and wooden hiking signposts. next on the list of room improvements are new mattresses, bathroom remodels, and a roof repair. these brothers work very hard for their customers and guests, and to claim that they don't care about a complaint or are unappreciative is intentionally hurtful and offensive. in fact, it is this same family who have cooked, cleaned, and managed the duck brand inn & cantina for nearly 20 years. only now are they are able to make the very necessary repairs and improvements that were desperately needed for the last several years; the increase in room rates will help to fund these changes.

some explanation: there are no heat lamps; the cooks heat the entrees in the ovens and the food is served on hot ceramic plates. there were never music systems or fridges in the rooms, so this has not changed at all. most of the rooms are quite spacious, with high ceilings, tall windows, and balconies. the TVs were removed since reception/cable never functioned well at the location. we believe that this customer felt cheated by an increase in room rates and tried to justify obtaining a refund with several unfair and exaggerated claims. fortunately, a great majority of our guests are happy with their stay at the duck brand; we look forward to providing even better dining and lodging experiences in the near future and thank all our loyal customers for their continued support through these changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.0 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duck Brand Hotel and Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck Brand Hotel and Cantina

Property: Duck Brand Hotel and Cantina
Address: 248 Riverside Ave, Winthrop, WA 98862-9811
Region: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing