We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Show”
Review of Mt Gardner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mt Gardner Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Federal Way, Washington
1 review
“Best of Show”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Great Inn ... run by great Folks.
>Close to town... a great little walk over a "people" bridge.
> One stay ... early in the morning... the cowboys were driving the cows thru town.
>You can not go wrong if you stay at this Inn... Clean, Quiet and "Small Inn Friendly"
>rooms have ac and direct TV.
> You can see the north cascades in the distance form the upstairs rooms.
> the family ...who operate this Inn... are great and very friendly.
> if you like to fly fish ... the Inn offers this service and is located in the lobby when you check in. .. great fy fishing tin the valley.

Room Tip: We likes the upstairs' rooms... but all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJW w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    46
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
92
184
21
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We made three online bookings for our return trip from the West coast to Calgary, Alberta. Our first two nights, at Mt Gardner, spoiled the following two nights - they simply weren't in the running - so much so that we abandoned the last one and just went home. I call it the "Gardner Gap", being the drop in quality from the Mt Gardner standard to the others. This unobtrusive quiet spot, one that does not jump out at you as you drive up, is simply well designed, really well built, really well maintained and really well and happily managed by Allison with what appears to be a "light touch". Like so many reviewers before us, we were reluctant to leave. Allison is a prize.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room we were given, on the ground floor. We heard no sounds from the single level up...
See more room tips
Green Features: This was the only spot on our trip that made an effort to remind us of our obligation of good stewardship toward the planet we are ruining.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Best service - friendly and understanding, they went out of their way to help me. I was traveling with a group and we had to make a few changes to our reservations. They went out of their way to work with us and I really appreciated that.
Best rooms - clean, quiet and in a lovely setting. I had a standard room that was a nice size and very clean. The short walk to downtown Winthrop was perfect. It was close enough for convenience but far enough to make for a quiet night.
I look forward to my next stay at the Mt Gardner Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R6J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I have stayed at the Mt. Gardener Inn twice, in a couple different rooms (both times in the newer building). The rooms were consistently spotless and perfectly clean, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. On one of the trips, we had our one year old with us, so we were especially aware of the room's cleanliness and had no complaints. The owners are family-friendly, gracious and extremely warm and welcoming to everyone. I have traveled extensively around the world and stayed in a variety of accommodations, ranging from hostels to 5 star resorts. I would unreservedly recommend the Mt. Gardner Inn to anyone and plan to stay there again. Visitors should be aware this is a family-run inn, so you will not have room service or some amenities you could find in a large chain hotel, but you will enjoy the ambiance and beautiful setting so much that you will not miss anything. The rooms are a great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NATALIE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We just stayed one night on our bike trip. They were very accommodating for our dog. For bikers, the driveway is crushed rock, but they provide wood for kick stand. Rooms very clean and have all you need. You aren't right in town, but it is only a 15 minute walk, which is really nice. We were even provided with a place to park the bike which was covered.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Our arrival at Mt Gardner Inn was met with prompt, efficient check-in, very helpful info on local and popular hang-outs. Located perfectly for a nice morning or early evening walk on to town. The Ptarmigan room was so nice with its large private deck, full amenities, comfortably appointed and very quiet. We already have and will again give highest recommendations for the Mt. Gardner Inn. Enjoy the mountain vista from your private deck and watch the deer roam through grazing. A perfect and cozy destination for any type of trip whether business, pleasure, family or a simple get-away.

Room Tip: Any of the upper level "bird rooms". You'll get you own private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I spent 10 days at Mt Gardner Inn. The rooms and bathrooms were always spotless, I mean spotless everywhere not only where they eye can immediately see it. Coming to the Inn I felt like coming home. I have no words to describe the owners, they are the nicest people. For every problem I had (and some of them seem to be insolvable) I found a helping hand from the owners.

Green Features: Mt Gardner Inn 1. Recycles glass, plastic, paper 2. Offers the option of reusing towels
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.2 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
422 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
302 reviews
0.4 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
0.2 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#8 of 8 in Winthrop
79 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Gardner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Gardner Inn

Property: Mt Gardner Inn
Address: 611 State Route 20, Winthrop, WA 98862-9004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mt Gardner Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a half mile from downtown Winthrop Washington. Walk to town in the summer and to the cross country skiing trailhead/ice skating rink in the winter. "Clean rooms and comfortable beds at an affordable rate" -Alaska Airlines Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mt Gardner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing