We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet and Comfortable”
Review of Mt Gardner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mt Gardner Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean, Quiet and Comfortable”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I am pleased to have found this Inn by looking through Trip Advisor. If I had driven by, I don't know that it would have caught my attention as place I'd like to stay--it feels like a hidden gem. It's right on the highway, but we didn't hear any noise on the back side. We loved this place because it was really clean, the bed was extremely comfortable, we were away from the town--yet only a pleasant 10-15 minute walk to get there. The owners were very nice about supplying anything you need, directions, suggestions for things to do or eat. Loved just sitting outside and enjoying the quiet and relaxing with a glass of wine.

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the back side (not the highway) are a better choice as you get the afternoon su...
See more room tips
Green Features: I like that the shampoo, conditioner and body wash are in a dispenser and no little bottles to deal with. You can leave a pile for recycling (or put it in a sack, like we did).
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PickyInSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    46
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
99
190
24
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Mt Garnder Inn was a pleasant surprise on the edge of Winthrop. It was just a short walk into the middle of the historic town, and an excellent escape over the river at the end of the day. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, well equipped, and very clean. We had a room with easy to access to a sunny deck too. Just perfect. The hosts were lovely, and recommended an excellent restaurant in town (Arrowleaf Bistro). I'd happily recommend a stay here for a visit to Winthrop!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms were really great value, and the view was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athol_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

i highly recommend the Mt.Gardner Inn. we enjoyed our stay in the top floor Ptarmigan room. it was comfortable and quiet with a lovely view from our deck. also, be sure to take the 10 minute walk into town over the footbridge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getoutontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwater, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This Inn was recommended by another business owner in Winthrop and was a real find. It is a gem! Large rooms, comfortable beds, unique furnishings and awesome mountain view- all in town! It is very reasonably priced. The owners are super nice and very helpful on anything local, be it restaurants, hikes, drives, activities. They have a great fly fishing shop within the lobby, and provide guide service for fishing. We had such an outstanding stay last Oct. for 6 days, that we returned again this Spring and brought my mom with us. All of the hills surrounding town are ablaze with flowers. Couldn't have had a better experience than what this Inn provided. They have lovely grounds and gardens, with outdoor lounges to sit on and a barbeque for anyone to use.

Room Tip: Any room is great, but I love the 2nd floor rooms due to a better view of the mountains. The lower r...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are very conscientious and very aware of practices to make their business as environmentally friendly as they can.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenwaterJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I have stayed at Mt Gardner Inn many times over the years. It is my go-to place when I visit Winthrop and I have never been disappointed. I love the location - convenient and quiet, the comfortable rooms - always immaculate and well-appointed, and the friendly hosts - Allison and Greg are great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 206Karen70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Alison was an amazing host. She made us feel welcome and she was very professional. The rooms were immaculate and comfortable. I made a mistake in booking and she was quick to accommodate. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twisp, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Hosts were very friendly,the room comfortable, cozy and quiet, my dogs loved the area to run free, environmentally conscious. I only have good things to say about Mt Gardner Inn, and it's very reasonably priced!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winthrop
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
317 reviews
0.4 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Winthrop Inn
Winthrop Inn
#2 of 10 in Winthrop
128 reviews
14.8 mi away
Freestone Inn
Freestone Inn
#1 of 3 in Mazama
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Gardner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Gardner Inn

Property: Mt Gardner Inn
Address: 611 State Route 20, Winthrop, WA 98862-9004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mt Gardner Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a half mile from downtown Winthrop Washington. Walk to town in the summer and to the cross country skiing trailhead/ice skating rink in the winter. "Clean rooms and comfortable beds at an affordable rate" -Alaska Airlines Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Mt Gardner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing