We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular mountain views”
Review of Mt Gardner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mt Gardner Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Winthrop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular mountain views”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Wonderful accommodations, spectacular mountain views, river rafting and fishing, wine tasting, and delightful cowboy town are all the things you will find at Mt. Gardner Inn, Winthrop, WA. Plus, the couple that own it are welcoming and very helpful.

Room Tip: Most rooms have mountain view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very conscience of environment. Use pure products and soaps.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    45
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
90
178
21
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a relatively new hotel. Rooms are good size, good wi-fi, good room darkening curtains and shades. Good views from second floor (deer in adjacent lawn each night) and nice yard on first floor. You can use this hotel to define clean. Wood blinds--clean, baseboards--clean, around light switches--clean. Squeaky. Air Conditioning units so quiet you hardly know they are on---and owners have the room cool for you when you check in during the summer heat.

Rooms away from road very quiet. Towels substantial. Could use more hanging space in bathrooms, but that's a very minor issue. For the price, this is a great value.

Rooms have names of birds, and the interior decorations highlight the bird. Nice touch.

Room Tip: Sound proofing up to down not ideal; if you're noisy, or will be getting in late or leaving ver...
See more room tips
Green Features: They recycle, and suggest re-use of towels. Other practices also reasonable.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have stayed in this motel for years. The owners continually update and improve the rooms. The wifi is fast enough to watch Netflix and they also upgraded to satellite TV. The Methow River is just across the road. You are just a few hundred feet away from a pizza restaurant. The main part of Winthrop is within walking distance across the foot bridge (+/- 1/2 of mile). This is motel is one of my top 2 places to stay in Winthrop...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bud M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blind Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We arrived in Winthrop on Friday, July 18th and the wild fires were very active. We contacted our hosts, and Alison confirmed that she could still accommodate us - but that there was no power in town, and they only had cold running water. She upgraded our unit for no charge and kept checking on us to make sure we were okay. We were in Winthrop to attend the Rythym and Blues Festival who were not affected by the power outages. Alison and Greg were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. We would return to Mt Gardner Inn without any hesitation. The village is very charming and the people we met very friendly. Despite the smoke and concern over the fires, we really enjoyed ourselves. Our thoughts go out to all the residents affected by the fires.

Room Tip: If there is a room available that fits your party, I recommend booking it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim/Mercer Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is an absolutely charming, top-notch inn. My friends from Leipzig were falling in love with this place. As I have been to Mazama and Winthrop before, this little inn beat the pricey Freestone Inn by a long shot.
I will be back for sure.
Insa from Mercer Island, Moni and Ursel from Leipzig

Green Features: fantastic - great on the environment, eco friendly soap etc.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosimo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Me and my dad were road tripping the great state of Washington and needed somewhere to stay before we headed in to the North Cascades. We decided on Winthrop literally the day before we were going to be there (the only way to truly road-trip), and thanks to the reviews on Trip Advisor we thought we would give this place a try. Luckily the stars aligned and there was 1 room left.

When we arrived it was love at first site. Seriously. This inn is so precious that I contemplated moving to Washington so that I could go there more often. Ok, maybe I thought about it for 2 minutes, but the point is...this place is enchanting. Here is the rundown:

The room: We were in the Grouse room. Two queens. Immaculate. Eat food off the floor clean. Adorable. Great bedding. Comfy beds. Charming furnishings. Micro/fridge combo. Flat screen TV. Beautiful bathroom. If this was my room at home, I would basically be a hermit...because I would never leave. But the best part...the magical part...is the deck. You can sit outside and stare at the mountains in the distance...and just relax and take it all in....and FALL IN LOVE with this place.

The location: a bit outside the main downtown area, we drove mainly because my dad is 69...and it would be a decent walk. But being removed from the main western themed downtown just adds to the beauty of this charming little inn.

The staff (pretty much the owners) is friendly and helpful, and can offer recommendations, directions, etc. The office is not 24 hours, so if you are arriving before 10am, or late at night - just make sure to let them know.

Overall, if this inn was a person, we would be dating. Ha. Seriously. I LOVED IT. If you are in Winthrop, stay here. Don't bother looking anywhere else.

Room Tip: The deluxe bird rooms are great. The Grouse room had a great balcony and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leesh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I am pleased to have found this Inn by looking through Trip Advisor. If I had driven by, I don't know that it would have caught my attention as place I'd like to stay--it feels like a hidden gem. It's right on the highway, but we didn't hear any noise on the back side. We loved this place because it was really clean, the bed was extremely comfortable, we were away from the town--yet only a pleasant 10-15 minute walk to get there. The owners were very nice about supplying anything you need, directions, suggestions for things to do or eat. Loved just sitting outside and enjoying the quiet and relaxing with a glass of wine.

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the back side (not the highway) are a better choice as you get the afternoon su...
See more room tips
Green Features: I like that the shampoo, conditioner and body wash are in a dispenser and no little bottles to deal with. You can leave a pile for recycling (or put it in a sack, like we did).
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PickyInSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.2 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#1 of 7 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#2 of 7 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.4 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#5 of 7 in Winthrop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
0.1 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#6 of 7 in Winthrop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#3 of 7 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Gardner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Gardner Inn

Property: Mt Gardner Inn
Address: 611 State Route 20, Winthrop, WA 98862-9004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mt Gardner Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a half mile from downtown Winthrop Washington. Walk to town in the summer and to the cross country skiing trailhead/ice skating rink in the winter. "Clean rooms and comfortable beds at an affordable rate" -Alaska Airlines Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mt Gardner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing