We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but Comfortable”
Review of Winthrop Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Winthrop Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Winthrop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Good value for a basic motel in the great location. Fine for families and other travelers. The Methow Valley is a gem and there is much to explore so this makes a good stop if you are doing the North Cascades Loop, as we were. Service is excellent.

Only negative is the wifi does not work in the rooms but one can use the common area which has a desk and is comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

We spent four nights at this hotel earlier this month. This is an old hotel and certainly not the Marriott quality but then it is not the Marriott price either. We had a second floor room with a balcony and two double beds. The room was small as was the bathroom which held the commode and shower (no bathtub). The sink was in a cabinet in the main room. The flat screen small (I am used to 36") TV was mounted on the wall near the sink and across from the two beds. There was a small table with two chairs, refrigerator (larger than an under the counter type) with a microwave sitting on top of it. The room was clean and the WiFi worked but was slow (we were not in a large city!). We have AT&T cell phones and they were only able to do voice calls - no messaging or other smart phone functions. That was true in both twisp and Winthrop but again this is not a major city by any means. The check in and out went really quickly and the front desk and cleaning crew were all very nice. They have a small swimming pool and a hot tub. The hot tub was down for maintenance the entire time we were there. It is located a short walk from the town. There was a large green area behind the hotel that had two gas grills and a bunch of picnic tables. A grocery store and pizzeria is within easy walking distance. We bought some food and had two of our dinners in the picnic area using the gas grill. The river is located near by a short distance walk. Given the price, location and overall amenities we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank satxdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Although the hotel itself is fine, I was disappointed not to be able to get the wi-fi in my room at the end of the day. The front desk lady just said, sorry, there was nothing they could do. I reminded her that this was an advertised service for which people choose hotels by. She suggested I use it near the lobby area, where it did work. Great. Also, it's quite far from town, next time I will get something along the river in town, much more to do. The pool is very small, nothing great. Rooms are clean and average. The fridge was not on so we had to turn it on. Would have been helpful if the girl at check-in told us that before hand so it would be cold when we got back. Probably won't be back here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tamster888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
methow, General Manager at Winthrop Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hello tamster 888,
Thank you for your review, even though it was ‘less than perfect’. We do welcome all comments and reviews.
Since you have chosen to rate your stay with us publicly I feel I need to respond publicly also.
We strive to create an atmosphere for our guests that is a pleasant one and that all the amenities we offer are high quality and are working properly.
I apologize that you were not able to log onto the internet in your room.
We rarely have problems with our wi-fi. As the front desk person stated, the wireless works best in the lobby and once you get connected it works fine in the room. We’ve had an interesting summer though. After the wild fires that had been in our area things are currently being re-established and periodically there is still a few glitches. Sorry about that.
Once again, my apologies for the inconvenience to you.
The Winthrop Inn is located exactly 1 mile from the center of downtown Winthrop. It is a very nice walk into town via a suspension bridge across the beautiful Methow River. The majority of our guests prefer the quiet and peacefulness of our property outside of the downtown area.
Our swimming pool is a 21,000 gallon pool. It is 14 feet wide and has a length of 34 feet. The shallow end is 3 feet deep and the opposite end is 9 feet deep. I believe our pool is medium size.
Thank you for the compliment on our clean rooms. We pride ourselves, take great care, and get many positive comments from our guests on how clean our rooms are.
Our refrigerators are normally off to conserve energy. Not everyone uses them. There is a sign posted on the front of the fridges in every room with instructions.
Please accept our sincere apology for your stay that was not as satisfactory as you would have liked.
I hope that you will give us another chance to make it right for you.
Sincerely,
Dale Peterson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Enjoyed our stay. It was quiet, clean and met our needs. Hot scones in the morning. A coffee maker in the room would have been nice as my husband is an early riser. Coffee and hot water in hallway. Bed ok but only a queen. Internet good. Close to Winthrop for shopping and food. Close to river. Parking lot very clean and spacious. Staff/owners friendly and efficient. Good sleep. Only a shower, no tub, but that was fine for us. Nice to be able to open a window in bathroom. No bathroom sink but sink in main room, dual purpose to wash dishes or yourself!

Room Tip: I would think all rooms pretty good, not fancy, but clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This place is a gem. Quiet, on the river, clean, close to town, easy walking to the grocery store. Coffee and fantastic scones in the morning. Nice pool, we will be back. Our price was $83.00 per night since we got the AAA rate and it was midweek. A very good value.

Room Tip: The second floor is quiet. We had the end room, the outdoor stairs were right next to our room, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kristine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I travel through Winthrop several times a year and have stayed at many different places. The Winthrop Inn is a bargain and pet friendly. The grounds are meticulous and you walk to the river, market and restaurants. I'll be back again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Kenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I'm traveling across the country with my two teenagers and this is the first time I've felt inspired to review one of the places we've stayed. The front desk staff is lovely, the rooms are quaint, clean, and comfortable, and the location is walking distance to the river and not too far from the adorable town of Winthrop. We had an amazing time at Northern Cascades National Park, and arriving at the Winthrop Inn was the cherry on top of a perfect day. Pool is small, but we didn't need to swim. They also were welcoming to our dog, and there was a great space down by the river where she could frolic. We stayed on the ground floor and could hear people going up the stairs, but all of this was perfectly acceptable and I'd recommend this place to anyone, but especially to couples.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LSinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.6 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
0.4 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
416 reviews
0 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
484 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winthrop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winthrop Inn

Address: 960 Hwy 20, Winthrop, WA 98862
Region: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Winthrop
Price Range: £64 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Winthrop Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Winthrop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winthrop Hotel Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing