We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River's Edge Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I was recently passing through Winthrop with my daughter on a camping trip, and we decided to stay into a hotel type room for the one night while trying to reach our next destination. After checking out the rooms at the Rivers Edge, we were sold. They have virtually everything you could ever need in the small chalets, all you need to bring is food. Its a beautiful setting along the river, the hot tubs are great, and the beds are very comfortable. We chose a three bedroom, the two bedrooms were all out, and the one wasn't large enough for our needs. Everything was perfect, you couldn't ask for anything more or better. And the staff were fantastic, check in and out 100% perfect. This would be a perfect place for any traveler, for a romantic getaway, for people passing through, or as a destination. Lots to do in the area if you love the outdoors, and everything in Winthrop is within a very short walk since the resort is in town.

Room Tip: Get a chalet along the river, its a great way to spend time listening to the river and sitting in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    26
    6
    0
    5
See reviews for
50
111
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights in June 2014 and could not have had a better time. The cabin was well appointed and the River at the back and the local bird life were spectacular. We were treated by our Canadian friends so can't comment on price but this resort, as well as the rest of Winthrop, was a real jewel. In addition every single person we met or spoke to was helpful, polite and really welcoming. We cannot recommend too highly

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Juliet, TN
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Loved, loved this place!!! The owner was absolutely amazing. We had to adjust our arrival dates trying to dodge rain storms while traveling on a motorcycle. She could not have been more accommodating. From the time we arrived until we left they saw to our ever need. I would definitely recommend this place to everyone!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clara1kattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Found this place by accident, Heidi gave us the key to have a look and the rest is history, the cabins are amazing so well appointed with every amenity you could ask for plus a deck with a hot tub overlooking the river. The only problem was that we only had time to stay one night we would have loved to been able to stay longer. Anyone going to or planning on staying in Winthrop this is the place, excellent accommodations close to downtown. You won't be disappointed !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 708Benny55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stumbled upon this resort and loved the cabin so much we stayed two nights. During our 2 week road trip this spot was our favourite. The resort has small cabins for couples and bigger cabins for families. Our cabin had an eat in kitchen, bedroom, living area, washroom, front porch and a back deck with a bbq and a hot tub. I can't think of anything else you would need. So cute. Behind the smaller cabins ran a small creek. The larger cabins back onto the river.The area is well treed even though it is right at the end of the main street of Winthrop. The first night we were there a deer was lying right by the creek and just stayed there not concerned with our presence at all. The next morning we went out to sit on the back deck and it walked right by us again. Winthrop itself is a charming place with lots of quaint shops all done in old frontier style. There are lots of places to eat. Prices at the shops and restaurants are a bit inflated as I'm sure this place is quite a popular tourist stop in the middle of summer. This resort, however, was very reasonably priced. The girls in the office were very helpful and friendly. They have dvd's in the office free to borrow.This is also an excellent place to stay while you tour the Cascades.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdsjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Our first selection in Winthrop was booked so we headed out of town about 15 miles to Freestone resort. After touring that property, we went back to Winthrop and found Rivers Edge Resort. Taylor, at the front desk showed us cabin 16 right on the river. As soon as I walked to the back deck, I knew this was the place. After checking in, I sat on the deck and 2 deer were less than 8 feet from me. This is the type of place you can leave doors unlocked, but you may not want to leave them open, because a deer may walk in. We have spent a week doing the Cascade loop and this was the best place we stayed and made the whole vacation. We usually only spend one night in one area, but I had to make it 2 days min at this resort. I changed my vacation plans to Mt. Baker to stay here longer. Taylor told us to hike the Falls Creek trail about 6 miles north of town. Excellent falls and lots of picnic areas along the way. When sitting on the back deck you think you are 20 miles from town, watching the river rapids. Hot tub, picnic table and grill on deck. Place is very clean and well maintained. I usually do not rate hotels in my area that are excellent, because I do not want them booked when I want to visit. Since I live 2500 miles away, I will make an exception. If I ever return to this area, I will stay here without hesitation. Taylor in the office is the best! She deserves a promotion. This place was perfect and many good memories. It does not get any better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handinpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is a great location! It's on the very edge of town. Whether you're travelling by car or MC this is a highly recommended home base. For dining and shopping in Winthrop you walk everywhere. Everything is minutes away.The cabins are bright, spacious and very well equipped. Also they are very clean and well maintained. The kitchen is very well equipped. The service is outstanding and everyone was extremely personable. The larger cabins are on the river and the cozy cabins are set back BUT there is a pretty little stream that flows by the decks of the cozy cabins. Late in the afternoon/early evening we would sit on our deck overlooking the stream, sip a glass of wine and relax watching the stream flow by, maybe read for a while or watch the deer.....There is a deer trail along the stream and we frequently saw deer strolling by. There was only the two of us so we chose a cozy cabin based upon the website description. It far exceeded our expectations. There was *lots* of room. Just an FYI and definitely NOT a criticism but if your experience is limited to hotels be aware that there is a little bit of 'self maintenance'. Unless you make special arrangements you are own your own to make your bed each day and do your dishes. Clean fresh towels are supplied every day and additional towels are included in your room to use for your personal hot tub which is on the deck. If you do need anything else just let them they know. They are so accommodating! We will definitely be back :-{D

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaeljandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
0.6 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
301 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
1.1 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
138 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Resort

Property: River's Edge Resort
Address: 115 Riverside Ave, Winthrop, WA 98862-9806
Region: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Winthrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — River's Edge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to River's Edge Resort, a unique lodging experience, located Downtown in the Old Western town of Winthrop, Washington.Tucked in along the Chewuch River, our One, Two and Three-Bedroom Riverside Chalets feature private, deck hot tubs with river views, well-appointed kitchens, laundry, dining and spacious living rooms with 42" flat-screen televisions.On the same property, but not along the river we offer, One-Bedroom Cozy Cabins featuring private, outdoor hot tubs, kitchenettes, dining and comfortable living rooms with 37" flat-screen televisions.We have been Welcoming guests since 1996 and have made many, many wonderful friends. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, River's Edge Resort hopes to be your first lodging choice when visiting Winthrop, Washington.River's Edge Resort is a 2015 TripAdvisor, "Certificate of Excellence" award recipient ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your River's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River`s Edge Hotel Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing