We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
River's Edge Resort
Nearby Hotels
AbbyCreek Inn(Winthrop)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rio Vista(Winthrop)(Great Value!)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun Mountain Lodge(Winthrop)(Great Value!)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mt Gardner Inn(Winthrop)(Great Value!)
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chewuch Inn & Cabins(Winthrop)(Great Value!)
US$117
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Methow River Lodge & Cabins(Winthrop)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
187
28
6
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
187
28
6
0
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tub on the deckthree bedroomcozy cabinin townthe riverfull kitchenlarger cabinsliving roompots and panshot tubelaundry roomstove topshops and restaurantscd playerperfect place to stayeasy walking distanceromantic getaway
Filter
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We spent a wonderful night at Rivers Edge on June 14th 2009.
We were pleasently surprised to learn the location of the resort is right in town, just a stones throw from all the shops and restaurants. It rained that evening and our short dash to the restaurant on foot was so quick we didn't have time to get wet.
The room itself was absolutely charming with every amenity and -although we didn't need it for one night- I was amazed to see a full size washer and dryer right in the cabin!
The hot tub on the back deck overlooked the river and was completely private. The amazing sounds of the river and wildlife as we enjoyed that deck, the peace and all that Winthrop had to offer. Our romantic getaway was perfect!
Our checkin / out was smooth and easy and the staff was a delight.
We can't wait to go back and spend a few days.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 2onatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

We stayed in one of the single room "cozy cabins" in May 2009 and overall found this to be a charming place to stay.
1) Great central location! Most shops are almost right next door (but still far enough away that the noise isn't bad). The river is practically at your back door. If you enjoy day hiking, there are some great trails not far from the hotel that have easy access.
2) Cozy really describes the feeling of the cabins! A propane wood stove- great for winter or cooler fall/spring evenings- a kitchenette, over-stuffed couch, and lovely decor all make this place good for relaxing in the afternoons and evenings while recovering from all the adventure of the area.
3) Friendly, Helpful staff make themselves available for you if anything more is required than what is provided. They really make a point of doing whatever they can to ensure you have a great stay with them. There is a binder in the cabins awaiting you with all the local information you could need- restaurants along with descriptions of each, activities/things to do in the area, and service stations for the area (just in case).
4) What we didn't really like was the firmness of the bed... if you're used to a soft mattress, you may want to bring a memory foam pad or some extra blankets to sleep on- the pillows were thick and ungiving too, which didn't help the situation.

Whether you're just passing through Winthrop or staying for a few nights, River's Edge would be a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCC00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsRER, Owner at River's Edge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2010

Thank you for the invaluable feedback regarding your stay.
As an owner, it is always great to learn your staff is "helpful," and very accommodating to our guests. And, it is good to know you found your Cozy Cabin very comfortable and the "central location" was a perk for you.

We appreciate your comment regarding "firm" beds and have included mattresses and pillows in our new "Comforts of Home" Plan. As of date, we have upgraded our Riverside ChaletSuite mattresses to a coil system, and upgraded to King mattresses replacing the Queen mattresses in the Three-Bedroom Riverside Chalets. Our next phase will include upgrading all Cozy Cabin mattresses. Addtitionally, we have upgraded and added additional bed pillows to both King and Queen beds. We have recieved positive feedback with this new change.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future. Dennis Heidi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2008

Recently we spent one night in a cabin at River's Edge Resort. We arrived late and the staff made special arrangements for us to access our cabin. The cabin was very nice, cozy and clean in a cute western themed town. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f1wrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2008

This group of cabins and chalets is located on the river in "downtown" Winthrop. Each has a deck with river view, a barbecue grill and a large hot tub. The rooms are natural, spacious and very well equipped: full kitchen, king-sized bed, ample bath. The chalet afforded WiFi, a DVD player and CD. The relaxed staff was very helpful in every respect and made excellent recommendations about shopping, touring and dining out. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank FatherSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2008

We chose the River's Edge because we had been to Winthrop before, and 1) knew it had a central location; 2) the cabins looked modern and attractive; 3) positive reviews on Trip Advisor; and 4) the cabins are immediately adjacent to the Chewuch River.

WOW! We were really impressed; the cabins were better than what we expected, even at the hefty $330.00 price we were paying!

Liked:
1. The A-frame cabin- looked brand new, and was very clean and well-furnished.
2. Very roomy! The 3 bedroom cabins have 2 stories, incl. 2 baths.
3. Amenities: dishes, cooking pans, utensils and never-ending supply of coffee, and even though we didn't need them, there is a tv, stereo, dvd player and hot tub.
4. Private deck with sturdy & child-safe railing. We had no worries, even though we have a 3 year old.
5. Grill on deck for bbq.
6. Comfortable beds.
7. Path to river right from the door. There are no other hotels along this stretch of the river, so it is totally private...only the other guests. We were there for 3 days, and we were the only ones down at the river at any given time. If you are a rock hound...great rock exposures right behind the river.
8. The shops (incl. coffee) were almost right next door to the hotel.

Disliked:
1. The 'additional charge per guest'. The base price for the cabin was near 250.00 but they charged $30.00 extra per person. The other hotels in the area charge ~$10.00 per extra person, and I thought $30.00 was a bit steep.


As you can tell, we really liked this place, although it may be a bit costly for some travelers. Something to note- the one bedroom cabins are not on the river, but on a slope above the 3 bedroom cabins, so their view of the river is partially blocked.

Another note...the review left previous to mine..I believe it was Aug 29th, 2008... that is not the River's Edge resort that person is reviewing. I don't know what hotel she/he was at, but the River's Edge does NOT have a swimming pool, hammocks or lawn. You can check the website..key words river's edge & winthrop brought it up on google for me immediately.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rocks_for_brains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews