We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“consistently great food and amazing wine collection”

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 115 Restaurants in Woodinville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: NE 145th St.
Description: Purple Café and Wine Bar pairs a global wine selection with a menu that combines classic American styles with seasonal Northwest ingredients..
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“consistently great food and amazing wine collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is our local "go to" restaurant. We went there when they first started in the mid to late 90s. It was a little hole in the wall sort of place - could maybe seat 12-15 people at a time. Young couple started it, and over the years this location kept expanding (now can probably seat 150) plus they added three other restaurants in Seattle, Bellevue and Kirkland..

The menu is changed seasonally, although some favorite dishes have been on it for years - with good reason! Great salads (my wife's favorite is cranberry chicken salad; mine is either the purple chopped salad or the goat cheese salad), plus for kids (when they were little ones) included pizzas (adults love as well) and a high end mac and cheese long before it became popular elsewhere. We love their soups and still order the chicken marsala - which is just as satisfying now as ever. They also have wonderful desserts (although we rarely order as we are too full), but still enjoy the caramels...

While we are not wine aficionados, our friends are and love the amazing selection of wines. There are many who come to their restaurants to be dazzled by the choices and knowledge of the staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyVoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    145
    35
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Angeles, WA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Visit to Woodinville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Purple is now our lunch place when we visit Woodinville. We did make reservations as we do know that Purple is very popular. We had a 2 PM reservation and enjoyed a 1/2 sandwich with salad lunch. We brought a relative from the East Coast and he was blown away. We enjoyed the turkey/cheese sandwich with an apple/pear salad. There was not a bite to complain about. We liked the plates clean

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peetnpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoples' Republic of Boulder
Level Contributor
227 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Little Cafe Amongst Woodinville's Tasting Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Purple is a one to two minute walk from about a dozen wine tasting rooms. When we asked about a good place to eat, the server at the Goose Ridge tasting room said we were in luck because in was Wednesday - when Purple, across the street, prepared thier once a week double-battered buttermilk fried chicken. They start serving dinner at 4:00. Since we hadn't eaten since breakfast, in Canada, and we love good fried chicken, we were there by 4:30. We both got the fried chicken. It was wonderful - tasty, crisp on the outside, moist on the inside. You have two choices - a half chicken with 2 sides or a full chicken with 4 sides. We each got a half chicken. The sides include baked beans, sweet potatoe fries, and slaw (our choices). We both were happily stuffed and had to take our sea-salt carmels (dessert) in a little box for later. Being a wine bar, they have an extensive wine selection (we had a nice rose) as well as great food. So, if you are in Woodinville on Wednesday and you like fried chicken, go to Purple; you'll love it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank P1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Love the ambiance (fun, a little noisy, classy and thoughtful) and the food. The service was terrific and the attention to detail with special dietary needs was sincerely appreciated.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank butlersje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington state
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Scrumptious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I'm reluctant to review this informal cafe because it will make it even busier than it already is. However, nothing about our meal disappointed us when I took my son and daughter-in-law there on a Sunday evening recently. Service was perfect--not cloying but attentive enough. I ate the best French Dip I've ever tasted, and the slivered fries were outstanding. My son sought and received excellent advice on two labels of beer for him and his wife, and he pronounced his crab cakes as good as they get. The only downside is the parking. We had to wait for someone to leave the restaurant and follow them to their car in order to find a slot. The perfect way to come to this cafe would be to have your car and driver drop you off!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GermaWashingtonstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Purple Cafe and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Purple Cafe and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing