We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Woodinville”

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 115 Restaurants in Woodinville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: NE 145th St.
Description: Purple Café and Wine Bar pairs a global wine selection with a menu that combines classic American styles with seasonal Northwest ingredients..
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
446 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Woodinville”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Located in the popular strip center with tasting rooms and its sister Common Grounds restaurant, this place is spot on. Nice wine list and fab wine bar (alas no liquor available).

Outdoor and indoor seating. Menu has fresh fish, pasta, steaks. Known for their chicken Marsala, excellent. Great starters and salads. Make reservations in advance.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LGspartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    145
    36
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great service and great food”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My father and I stopped in here while we were touring some local wineries. He eaten lunch here before and was eager to try happy hour. This turned out to be a great idea. We tried the sliders, a crabcake and a beef burger paired with happy hour wines. The sliders also came with some of the best french fries I've ever tasted they were awesome. A special note has to go to our server Ami, who helped us pick some things out on the menu and steered us toward some incredible desserts

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelerMan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
365 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Outside dining is fine”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We like going there because we enjoy sitting outside. They have some nice German wines. Every meal we have eaten there has been very good. If you are in the area for wine tasting, it is very convenient. The only drawback is because of all the wineries around there, parking can be problematic unless you get lucky.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank akittynamedtabitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
385 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Miced reviews from the same table, but I enjoyed it.”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I was feeling adventurous and went with the quinoa burger. I must say I thought it was awesome! If you don't like quinoa than maybe not for you but I really enjoyed it. There is a nice little quiet space here for outdoor eating as well. I would without eat here again if in the neighborhood.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank App19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“consistently great food and amazing wine collection”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is our local "go to" restaurant. We went there when they first started in the mid to late 90s. It was a little hole in the wall sort of place - could maybe seat 12-15 people at a time. Young couple started it, and over the years this location kept expanding (now can probably seat 150) plus they added three other restaurants in Seattle, Bellevue and Kirkland..

The menu is changed seasonally, although some favorite dishes have been on it for years - with good reason! Great salads (my wife's favorite is cranberry chicken salad; mine is either the purple chopped salad or the goat cheese salad), plus for kids (when they were little ones) included pizzas (adults love as well) and a high end mac and cheese long before it became popular elsewhere. We love their soups and still order the chicken marsala - which is just as satisfying now as ever. They also have wonderful desserts (although we rarely order as we are too full), but still enjoy the caramels...

While we are not wine aficionados, our friends are and love the amazing selection of wines. There are many who come to their restaurants to be dazzled by the choices and knowledge of the staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyVoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Purple Cafe and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Purple Cafe and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing