We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly low class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge de Seattle, French Country Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Woodinville B&B and Inns
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly low class”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I sorry to say that the is not a professionally run establishment. I definitely would not recommend it. We have strongly urged our winemaking friends in Woodinville to not recommend this place to anyone. The owner/manager cancelled our confirmed and paid reservation without the courtesy of contacting us. We found out about it later in the evening when it was too late to do anything about it. Needless to say, that left us stranded in Seattle with the only option of a 4 1/2 hour return trip after a day of wine tasting. Not fun. I highly recommend Willows Lodge, should you choose to enjoy some fabulous wine in the area. Willows has a wonderful restaurant as well. If you have the option, go to Willows and not L'Auberge. L'Auberge is a rather pretentious name for a common "inn" that lacks professional courtesy and any real charm.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proprietress, Front Office Manager at Auberge de Seattle, French Country Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
It is always disheartening to us when we get someone who is displeased with us. We do admit there was a glitch with our reservation system. We got this reservation at 8:30 am, the morning of the same day of arrival. This client received confirmation from Expedia while we did not have any openings at our Inn. We tried to contact the client repeatedly by phone. No one picked up, nor was the voice mail set up, so we could not leave a message. We then called Expedia, and we were told that they would send an email and would also call. We were then told that they did not get a response either from the client. When we did hear from this client, we explained that we were over booked and that Expedia would help find them another place for the night. We are very sorry this happened and wish we had had a good contact number to reach the client and to help them in making another reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    5
    6
    3
    8
See reviews for
5
28
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We purchased a Groupon for a cooking class here, which turned out to be a mistake. The business was difficult to get hold of, and when we did the person making the reservation came across as very arrogant and offered us almost no flexibility on class availability. However, we rearranged our schedule to be there -- only to have the class unexpectedly cancelled at the very last minute. Terrible customer service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wingnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proprietress, Owner at Auberge de Seattle, French Country Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
We love teaching French cuisine! So sorry to hear you were disappointed in the class being cancelled. We follow the format suggested by our internet promotional partners. Our policy is that our clients have up to 48 hours to book or cancel their reservation with us and we have 24 hrs. before a class to cancel. We do require a quorum to be met to put on a class. If we do not meet our quorum, we send out cancellation notice, that always comes with the option to re-book for a later time..."with no limitations on the expiration". Our cancellation notice is automatically sent out to all who have signed up on-line by our scheduler program. Again, when we have to cancel a class we are not happy about it either, as we love teaching our clients French cuisine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We just stayed at L'Auberge and it was delightful. The grounds are beautiful. We even saw some little bunnies running around. Nancy was the perfect hostess and very gracious. The warm and fresh croissants delivered to your door in the morning will blow you away. We didn't attend the cooking class, but certainly enjoyed the accommodations with all the personal touches in the room. We will definitely recommend this establishment to our friends. It provides a super option for a "get out of town" experience not very far out of town.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the honeymoon suite even if you're not on a honeymoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin01Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We visited the inn to celebrate my wife's birthday. We stayed two nights in the Honeymoon Suite. Our stay was wonderful. Our hostess, Nancy, was extremely welcoming and made us feel special. She also is a terrific cook and made an elegant breakfast on our last day. We both participated in the cooking school with a true French chef.

The suite was more than we expected, with comfortable king bed, large bathroom with both jacuzzi tub and two person shower. Our view was over a small patio to a large, well manicured garden lawn where we could pick some of the herbs for the dinner during the cooking school preparation.

We hope to return on another visit to the Seattle area.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite is special
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlwlawrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proprietress, Owner at Auberge de Seattle, French Country Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with other fellow travelers! We so appreciate your positive feedback! Merci Beaucoup!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Pr
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We are so lucky we were here!! Serendipty...we loved the privacy, your gardens, your gracious hospitality and the special suite. In fact, we were so happy here we hardly left, except to visit the Bellevue Botanical gardens after luncheon with Miss Claire. Then our dinner/cooking class with Chef Philippe Naud was so much fun...and so delicious. What a wonderful group we had, with people from all over. We congradulate you Nancy on creating a most special place in our world.

Thank you for everything, we shall return , but in the interim, we will be certain to spread the word: L'Auberge is a true Getaway/Hideway!! (Who cares what's the weather?)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proprietress, Owner at Auberge de Seattle, French Country Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Thank you, we're so happy you had a good time. We appreciate your review, as we know our customers like reading them...thank you for sharing point of view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Valley, ID
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

In June, 2012 we rented the suite at this B & B for a month. I have put off writing a review because I just didn't know how to put it in writing how we truly felt about this place. Nancy, the owner, was nice enough but her main business is to run her French cooking school. That meant 3 - 4 nights a week we were inconvenienced. It rained just about every day of the month we were there so on the nights she had cooking classes, we had to find alternate parking. This was not an easy thing in a small area. If that wasn't enough of a drag, the bed linens, towels, rugs and furniture were quite dated. I honestly believe that she borrowed some of the towels that my mom owned in the 1970's! They even had the same holes. The sheets were quite worn and also had holes. A quick trip to Costco and about $500 would spruce up the place. I had to bring an iron from my daughter's house b/c Auberge didn't have one. The dishes and silverware were also very dated. But the worst part was that there was a persistent odor that we could never identify and since it was so rainy & cold, we never left the windows open for very long. The TV reception was terrible as well as the channel selection. SHe must only have basic cable! We couldn't even get any local sporting events. Overall it was just a bad experience. Since we are in Woodinville quite a bit these days, we have found an amazing alternative.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sunvalleyjodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proprietress, Owner at Auberge de Seattle, French Country Inn, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Gee...I am sorry to hear this...you stayed for a month...I would have some how figured out how to make changes if I had known. Well, obviously I could not have done anything about the cold and rainy month of June. You are right our business is centered on our French Specialty Cooking School, we are a Culinary Destination, and therefore; most people who stay here are coming to take cooking classes. We do have ample parking for everyone but have not designated special parking for our over night guests...especially since are local cooking class guests are only here from 5-10. I can certainly understand your frustration over not having your own parking spot. I am sorry you felt you were inconvenienced. The housekeeping staff that do the cleaning, do one weekly thorough cleaning, they then do use Pinesol to clean the tile floors...that's the only thing that may have left a smell. I like using it because it is a disinfectant. To be honest I can't figure out what you are talking about and again I wish you had addressed this to me personally, as we could have changed from Pinesol to another product, like vinegar that has no smell. Again I'm really sorry to get this review, as our objective is to have everyone happy, to enjoy their stay and of course to have them come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

A touch of France in Washington. Walking into this beautiful hotel and Cooking School is an experience we will remember for a long time. In the cooking school we made some fantastic French recipes and enjoyed the works of our labor in a beautiful setting with delightful people. Nancy was our guide greeting us with a glass of wine and giving us a tour of the beautiful bed and breakfast inn and introducing us to the chef for the evening , Philippe, who was an excellent instructor and showed how to make some wonderful dishes for the evening. We are definitely planning another trip and attending the cooking school is such a special treat and experience we won't forget.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna60878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proprietress, Owner at Auberge de Seattle, French Country Inn, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Bonjour Donna, how very nice of you to write such a lovely review. It really does mean a lot to us for our customers to share their experience. Thank you again/Merci Beaucoup et a bientot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodinville
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Woodinville WA
9.7 mi away
Woodmark Hotel & Still Spa
8.8 mi away
The Heathman Hotel Kirkland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bothell
17.2 mi away
Salish Lodge & Spa
Salish Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Snoqualmie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hyatt House Seattle/Redmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de Seattle, French Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Seattle, French Country Inn

Property: Auberge de Seattle, French Country Inn
Address: 16400 216th Ave NE, Woodinville, WA 98077-7744
Region: United States > Washington > Woodinville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Woodinville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge de Seattle, French Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SAVOR FRENCH FLAVOR When it comes to all things French...this is the place. We've got a French Specialty Cooking School on our property...when it comes to food, we've got a wide variety on our plates. French cuisine is diverse and delicious as you will fine in our cooking school, the result of a vast array of fresh ingredients, cultural influences and imaginative chefs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auberge de Seattle, French Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing