We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Secret Garden on the River"”
Review of Lewis River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lewis River Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woodland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Secret Garden on the River"”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

"Secret Garden on the River"
"The view is a series of secret peeks of the Lewis River while strolling through the extremely well-kept garden in the dusk of a warm summer evening transports one to a peaceful place. As the path turns, more flowers come into view and I even found a new, unfamiliar plant. It is small but exotic and lush in atmosphere. I couldn't believe I was in the middle of a busy town on my way south down the freeway. What a pleasant respite from travel and Char at the Front Desk is very friendly and helpful thoughut my enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: in the back riverview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyFrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    71
    9
    3
    9
See reviews for
41
66
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bremerton, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed in room 226 which is a river view Queen. Nice view of the Lewis river on the balconey. The room itself was typical hotel room. The furniture was a little old. The carpet was downright nasty. Stained and looked about 20 years old. Everything about this room was mediocre.

One annoyance was with the AC. Most AC units when you set the temp, they will cool down to the desired temp, then the AC part shuts off and the fan runs till the AC part kicks back on. This unit it was either one or the other. On Cool, when it hit the desired temp, the unit shuts off .... then 5 minutes later with a big clank ... it fires back up again .... over and over again all night. The alternative was to put the unit into Fan mode and just run the fan all night which makes the room stifling. Very very annoying.

One thing you HAVE to do is go next door to the burger place. Might be some of the best burgers I've ever had.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i_am_crabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Manager at Lewis River Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
We take great pride in our rooms with emphasis on cleanliness & comfortable beds & furniture. We are a very unique motel conveniently located off I-5 with immaculate guestrooms. We have special added upgrades for guest’s comfort & have many regular customers. We constantly hear guest’s compliments on how much they enjoyed their stay with us & how they were surprised to find such a rare gem of a motel with so many extra comforts & a nice continental breakfast included.
They plan to return & tell their friends about us as it is difficult to find an outstanding motel privately owned on their way to their destination.
We shampoo our carpets on a regular basis, the carpets on the River View rooms are actually fairly new, we have done a complete remodel of our rooms, and we hired a professional decorator. We have tried to pay special attention to every detail including new faucets & sinks, Toto toilets, granite counter tops, new beds, new air conditioners & numerous upgrades to make each guests stay enjoyable & comfortable. We have never had a complaint about a room not being clean & upon inspection of this specific room 226 we found no stains or soiled carpet etc.
Our River View rooms in particular have a nice quiet view of the majestic Lewis River & also overlook our lovely gardens.
However; we do appreciate all guests’ feedback as it gives us an opportunity to improve & acknowledge guests needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irrigon, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We decided to "upgrade" our rooms with a balcony and the view of the river, and I am so glad we did. The view was excellent. Even though the main highway (Washington 503) was on the opposite side of the hotel, it really was not a distraction. When we checked we were greeted with a warm welcome and then were informed of the local dining places. We took the advice and ate at the Oak - best Prime Rib (only on Friday and Saturday nights). We never heard our neighbors upstairs the whole weekend. The rooms were clean, the location was great and the view was wonderful. I will come again!

Room Tip: More money, but worth the view - ask for the River View Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klarissa_Kae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Stayed here overnight. Excellent room, very comfortable beds, spacious and very clean. Continental bkfst included and very nice staff. Restaurants within walking distance and minutes from Freeway. Only downside was nearby railway with noisy trains. More expensive rooms have balcony overlooking the river.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We've been coming here for at least 7 years for a company event. They have always done a great job accommodating our group. In addition, the motel, though older, is as clean and up-to-date as can be expected. They are always gracious.

Room Tip: Stay back by the river if you can. The river view rooms are great although they only have queen beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2011

We decided to stop off at the Lewis River Inn on our way back to Portland from Victoria BC, we reserved a River View room when we woke up in the morning we were pleasantly surprised at the gorgeous river view, our room was immaculately clean & I'm very picky! The beds are incredibly comfortable, we slept very well, nice & quiet. The complimentary Continental Breakfast was nice the Coffee is Excellent! The staff is very friendly especially the new managers Lex & Charmaine who were so gracious when we woke them up in the middle of the night to check in as we'd been driving all day & had to stop driving for the night. We enjoyed our stay so much we plan to return to stay a few nights to go fishing & explore the Lewis River & Mt St Helens area, also they are conveniently located right off I-5 exit 21 but nice & quiet rooms, Don't miss this little gem on the river!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oceangoer31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds WA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

I've stopped here a few times over the years, because the Inn is consistently clean and pleasant and the location is convenient. The rooms that face the Lewis River are particularly enjoyable, complete with small patios for lounging. The owners are wonderful, and their Continental breakfast is better than most. Great location, yet quiet.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sambrose1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodland
0.3 mi away
Best Western Woodland Inn
17.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in Longview
199 reviews
12.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Battle Ground Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Vancouver
17.9 mi away
Super 8 Kelso Longview Area
18.0 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Kelso/Longview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lewis River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lewis River Inn

Property: Lewis River Inn
Address: 1100 Lewis River Rd, Woodland, WA 98674-9690
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Woodland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woodland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lewis River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lewis River Inn is located in Woodland, WA just east off Interstate 5 exit 21. There are 49, one bedroom guest rooms including 10 guest rooms with balconies overlooking the beautiful Lewis River and our lovely garden area. Each room has a refrigerator, microwave, and hair dryer. River Rooms have coffee makers, irons and iron boards. Free Expanded Continential Breakfast, Free WI-FI High Speed Internet Access, Free Local Calls. Business Center in Lobby. Restaurants, Stores, Gas Stations, Laundromat,Pharmacy close by. Pet Friendly (extra charge). Office Open 24 Hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lewis River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lewis River Hotel Woodland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing