We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oxford Inn, Yakima WA”
Review of Oxford Inn Yakima

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oxford Inn Yakima
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I stayed at the Oxford Inn in Yakima WA for 2 weekday nights while I attended a conference at the Convention Center. I chose the Oxford Inn due to the lush looking photos on their web site. The staff who registered me on the phone was friendly and helpful (as were the staff when I was there in person). The rates are reasonable. The motel is easy to find as it's just across the freeway from downtown on Yakima Ave. It is fairly small but is elegant, clean and bright. My room featured pine furniture, a TV amoire & DVD player, desk and nice chair (and free wireless and a convienent plug-in for your laptop), a cozy queen bed w/quality linens and 4 fluffy pillows, 2 end tables and plenty of lamps, and a upholstered easy chair & footrest. The room had a closet, ironing board & iron, hair dryer, small fridge & microwave, a 1-cup coffee maker and a clock radio. Of course it has air conditoning although I enjoyed the fresh air instead. The bathroom had 6" real tile floor & around the tub as well as built-in liquid soap, shampoo & conditioner--the product is natural & cruelty-free. You have the option of the staff not changing the sheets & towels if you want. The dark green carpet was plush and clean. The sliding glass door led to a private deck with 2 wrought iron chairs with a view of the Yakima River just yards from the motel. Next to the river is the Yakima Greenway Path, a 10-mile paved walking/biking trail. The Greenway is an adventure in itself! The motel features a small but clean outdoor pool and nearby hottub. It also has a very small indoor gym with 4 cardio machines and a Universal gym weight set. The gym has a TV, water fountain and towels. Next to the gym is a computer room in case you forget yours. There is also a laundry facility for guests. The motel features a continental breakfast from 6--9am with waffles, small bagels, dry cereal, packaged oatmeal, fresh and canned fruit, hard boiled eggs, toast, packaged cocoa, coffee, tea and juice. The parking is good and there are plenty of doors to the motel so you don't have to carry your luggage very far. Although I was on the job, I felt like I was on vacation and had a wonderful visit. The only drawbacks besides the small gym was that I-82 is fairly close so you can hear the traffic and the motel is not within walking distance from the Convention Center.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the Yakima River and, except the bottom floor, have private decks and chairs. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012

Hotel is right next to the river with balconies that overlook the beautiful view. It's easy off/on from the freeway and just a few blocks from down town Yakima. The bathrooms are small but clean. The bedroom size is good and beds comfortable. There is a mini fridge and micorwave, and good linens. Some of the nicest, most helpful staft I've ever met. They go out of there way to provide any information you need for restaurants and attractions. I would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyager1Idaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I stayed at the Oxford Inn several times a year for over 20 years while living in the Seattle area. I now live in Yakima and stayed in this hotel several times recently while having home remodeling done . I love the balconies in each room overlooking the greenway and the Yakima River. The staff - reception, housekeeping and maintenance staff - are all very friendly and helpful. The management has obviously made a priority of hiring and training staff for good customer service. It is notably better than when I used to go there. The rooms are very clean and beds are comfortable. It would be nice if there were two comfortable chairs in each room. Very good value.

Room Tip: Try to get a room where the river view is not blocked by trees or power poles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stopped here on the way to Seattle. The hotel was super close to the highway, and there was plenty of parking. We were pleasantly surprised by the pretty river outside our window. The rooms were clean and very large, and I slept very well.

The only complaint was that the room smelled heavily of pine-sol, but I guess I'd rather have that than a dirty room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaisolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Weird room keys unhelpful staff.Awesome vending machines.Cool view of river they have breakfast. A burger king and Mexican restaurant near by if you want food.And they have balconys

Room Tip: Choose a room with view of river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Enjoyed the river view and sound of the rushing water immensely. Great sunny weather Labor Day weekend. Small pool with lots of kids, but still nice to sit in the sun. The breakfast buffet was nice, and well maintained. I had ridden by this place on bike before, and thought it would be the PERFECT place to stay! It was. Highly recommended. Great staff and service.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Last minute trip to Yakima and there was a soccer match going on. Rooms were at a premium and we got into the Oxford at the last minute. Very nice location next to the Greenway for walking and biking. Very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The balcony overlooking the river and Greenway was a nice touch. I ended up sitting most of the afternoon just reading and listening to the river. This will be my first choice in Yakima from now on.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yakima hotels
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Yakima
Oxford Suites Yakima
#1 of 24 in Yakima
810 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Yakima Hotel
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yakima
0.5 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
#11 of 24 in Yakima
206 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Yakima
Comfort Suites Yakima
#5 of 24 in Yakima
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Inn Yakima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Inn Yakima

Address: 1603 E Yakima Ave, Yakima, WA 98901-2179
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Yakima
#3 Family Hotel in Yakima
#4 Business Hotel in Yakima
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yakima
Price Range: £75 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oxford Inn Yakima 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Overlooking the Yakima River, enjoy easy access to Downtown Yakima and the Yakima Greenway Trail. We are pet friendly! Complimentary amenities include Breakfast Buffet featuring Belgian Waffles, High Speed WiFi, Parking, Outdoor Pool & Spa, and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Oxford Inn Yakima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Yakima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing