We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect As Usual!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oxford Suites Yakima
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I've stayed here several times before for work, and as usual it was spot on for everything! I love the fact that I can step out the back door and go for a walk on the boardwalk after work. Staff and amenities are top notch!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitropinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

736 - 742 of 814 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

The room was clean and spacious. I had a nice balcony where I could sit and watch the river go by just yeards from the back of the hotel. The property is riverfront, and there is a lnice greenway with a path right outside their back door; great for walks or running. Freindly staff. A full breakfast is included in the room charge. Food was good, not great. I did not eat dinner there. I will definitely stay there again if I return. $85 per night is a great value for this hotel..

Room Tip: All rooms face the river, get one on the highest floor for best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

For it's price category and market niche, the Oxford Suites Yakima is pretty unbeatable. The first consideration, always, is cleanliness and a great bed and the Suites hit that mark. The place smelled clean and good from the minute I walked in the door. Nice lobby, freshly maintained premises, nice bedding, five pillows, white clean towels.

But here are the things that sets Oxford Suites apart and shove it to the top of the list: First, it overlooks the rushing Yakima River and the wild far side, and that means an interesting view of the trees and topography on the opposite shore , the sounds of birds, and the appearance of deers. It means no road noise. It means a profound darkness out your window, and privacy, too. All rooms are river view rooms with balconies. As nice as this hotel is, it's what's outside that makes it special. Walk out the door and you are on a paved walking trail that follows the river for miles and miles. What a treat for a morning run or a sunset stroll! Along the way, there is a spectacular playground "village" that kids would love.

The second swell feature is the food. That's right, food. There is a nightly "reception" held in a large dining space and on my most recent stay on a Saturday night mid-April, a most delicious chicken gumbo soup was offered that tasted made-from-scratch, green salad, potato salad, warm rolls and butter. Each guest also gets two drink tickets good for wine, beer or soda. After a long day of hiking, we felt dog-tired, and this little treat sure hit the spot. I understand that house baked cookies were offered later in the evening, but by then I was firmly parked on the ottoman unit of couch watching the living room TV. There is a Burger King and a large, nice looking Mexican restaurant a very short walk down the paved path if you think you want more to eat.

There was another TV in the bedroom of the King suite. So little time, so many TV's! In the morning, a hot breakfast was available, served cafeteria style with Rosa behind the counter to dish up a plate for you. Honestly, the scrambled eggs were as good as any I've ever had. Anywhere. Ever. The sausages were delicious as well, and the potatoes were real -- not from frozen. I was stunned to realize that all the food offered here is real -- make from actual food -- not processed stuff or bulk frozen. How nice! There were also English muffins and bread to toast, juice, coffee, milk, cereals and fruit which consisted of canned apricot halves and apple slices. For some reason, I like this so much better than the "steamer table" buffets you sometimes get. Since the meal had been preselected (yet with many options) you could avoid the impulse to load up your plate with every sort of mess that you don't really want.

The "suite" tended to the long and narrow, but the "living room" section was well equipped with a work desk and chair, a couch with that comfy extension piece, another chair, and the TV, of course. There was also a refrigerator and a microwave in a cabinet. A balcony at the end, sat over the wonderful river view. The bedroom had a large mirrored closet, a huge bed with attractive bedding, a chest of drawers, and a TV with a DVD player. Beyond that space, there was a separate sink area with a coffee pot, hair dryer, etc, and another room with a toilet, tub and shower with curved curtain rod. I guess you might describe this as "deluxe standard".

Off the lobby, there was a small store with wine, snacks like microwave popcorn and candy, and other small personal items and souvenirs.

The pool area off the lobby was glassed in in such a way to block off any noise. A good idea, since during my visit, I noticed at least one large school group -- an athletic team of some sort and the pool, while not big enough to swim laps, certainly offered enough of an area for the kids to frolic. A half wall separated an area with a largish, square hot tub and I did notice good stone flooring and a neat stack of fresh pool towels.

I took advantage of one of the hotel's occasional specials -- this one involved wine tastings and tours, but there are also AARP and AAA discounts if you reserve on the hotel website. I can't speak highly enough of the "Sip and Savor" special which provided a bottle of wine, glasses, a wine tote, a bottle opener, two gourmet chocolate bars, a map and list of wineries, as well as a special rate.

Even without a special, the check-out time is noon -- unusually generous, especially if you want to loll on the balcony or get in another leg-stretcher along the riverside trail.

The purpose of my trip was to get out of Seattle for a week-end, warm up, do some desert hiking, and have a splash of novelty in my routine without breaking the bank or getting crazy. I'm giving the full five stars, not because Oxford Suites are a luxury spa resort, but because it was perfect -- absolutely perfect -- for my purposes. It far exceeds all reasonable expectations.

Room Tip: All rooms face the river so you just need to decide how high you want to be, or if you want to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diamondqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

When I stayed at Oxford Suites, the rooms were nice, King bed and sofa, with refrigerator in the room. However they didn't blow me away. The room was pretty typical, they did allow my dog to stay in the room with me which is why they received 4 rather than 3 rating. There was a pool, however the 'hot tub' was warm at best, my second night it was down for maintenance, so maybe they're fixing that. The other great thing about the Oxford Suites was two free drinks every night a the bar, which was a nice way to wind down.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadicHistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

we have stayed here for years and have always found the accommodations to be perfect for us and any family that may be staying as well. Nice Yakima Valley wine to wrap up a nice day never hurts either. Breakfast is wonderful.

Room Tip: excellent location just off I82, all rooms overlook the river so it is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Our business seminar was in part, a great success due to the wonderful service received by
Audrey, Gary and the rest of their hotel staff! The hotel is conveniently located next to Highway 82 and alongside the Yakima River. Rates are very competitive, rooms are clean and the service priceless. Highly recommend the Oxford Suites/Inn Hotel Chain for business or pleasure!

Room Tip: Away from elevator/stairs and ice machine is always my preference. Higher floors for a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for Spring Break with our 2 kids. The indoor pool was a hit. We also enjoyed the walkway on the river right outside the hotel. Breakfast was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yakima hotels
0.1 mi away
Oxford Inn Yakima
Oxford Inn Yakima
#3 of 24 in Yakima
570 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yakima
0.6 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
#11 of 24 in Yakima
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Yakima Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Yakima
Holiday Inn Yakima
#8 of 24 in Yakima
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Suites Yakima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Yakima

Address: 1701 E Yakima Ave, Yakima, WA 98901-2140
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Yakima
#1 Family Hotel in Yakima
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yakima
Price Range: £95 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Suites Yakima 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Located on the banks of the beautiful Yakima River and footsteps from the Yakima Greenway Path, the Oxford Suites Yakima is just minutes away from the Yakima Valley Convention Center, Legends Casino, Yakima SunDome, Capitol Theatre and breathtaking wine country. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Indoor Pool, Spa & Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Oxford Suites Yakima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Yakima Hotel Yakima
Oxford Hotel Yakima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing