We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Yakima
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I have for a long time avoided booking Holiday Inn Express. The reason is that their prices seem to always be higher than other hotels within the same star level. But, I have always wanted to try Holiday Inn Express.
My recent trip gave me a chance. Their price was competitive in Yakima, WA.
Check-in was smooth and courteous. There was a microwave and a small refrigerator in the room. The room was O.K., with some exceptions.
The Express Start breakfast was similar to other hotels. Nothing greater than some other hotels while at the same time not any worse.
The exceptions: T.V. was not mounted straight. The chair at the desk was worn and ripped with foam padding bulging through the split. Water minerals were collecting on the commode and an ugly streak was beginning to show (an indication, to me, of shoddy cleaning).
The doors to the room and the bathroom were in disrepair. The luan paneled doors were peeling off at the bottom (not a desirable appearance for a nice hotel).
This is what floored me - After a day of touring, we returned late (after dinner time) one afternoon and found that the room had not been cleaned. We reported this to the front desk. The front desk offered to have someone clean the room (but it was too late for us - we were tried and wanted to rest without any disturbance). So, we did not accept the offer to clean. The person at the front desk NEVER apologized. Instead they made an excuse that the room number written on the work sheet looked like 222.
The next morning we checked-out. I told the front desk about my desires to try Holiday Inn Express. I mentioned the problem we had about the room not being cleaned and that I was disappointed with Holiday Inn Express. She listened and had no response. It’s amazing to me that NO ONE apologized for not cleaning the room.
I would choose another hotel if I were to return to Yakima.

Room Tip: Google shows a route to the hotel off I-82 via N 11th St., be aware this is through a shopping cente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlg4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Yakima, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear trvlg4ever:
I am very sorry to hear you had a bad experience at our hotel during your stay. It is unacceptable you did not received an apology for the inconveniences you experienced. I personally wants to apologize for all of this and want to assure you my staff was informed about this review, Housekeeping and maintenance. It is my upmost concern to always provide great customer service to all of our guests. I am so sorry.
Sincerely,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    55
    27
    9
    7
See reviews for
31
25
7
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for a baseball tournament over the past weekend and I have to say it was GREAT. Staff was helpful, breakfast was ok and what I expected from a hotel breakfast and the rooms were clean. The hotel was also quiet - I know at least 2 teams of 15 year old boys were staying there.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor (main floor for walking in) and it was nicely located
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seattle_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Yakima, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Seattle_review:
I am so delighted to hear that you had a great experience during your stay at our hotel. It has always been our goal to provide great customer service and it is always wonderful to hear through feed back how are we doing. I passed this along to the rest of my staff and they are delighted as well to make our guests happy. Thank you and we hope to see you again,
Sincerely,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

I usually enjoy the HI Express properties. This one wasn't up to par. The bedding/pillows were very low end - probably the worst I've had in quite some time. The A/C was hot/cold and very loud. I just couldn't get my room cool enough even though the night temps in this area are about 65 degrees.

The eggs on the breakfast buffet were very mysterious! They resembled an egg-like substance but were not good at all. I understand that it is more efficient to microwave some sort of egg-like mixture but this was not good...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLJtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Yakima, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear FLJtodd,

We appreciate that you took the time to share your review of your recent experience at our property. This feedback is very helpful to us as we establish our best path to providing successful guest satisfaction.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and we regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Thank you for your feedback and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

The day we arrived in Yakima, it was 107 degrees. The room a/c cooled the room off very nicely without a lot of extra noise. The room was very clean, and the bed in the king suite was very comfortable. The wifi worked very well and was fast and easy to use. The breakfast on each of four days we ate there was good, and the staff kept it restocked.

During the days, I saw the cleaning staff working constantly. They obviously take pride in their work! Staff was friendly, too.

On weeknights, the hotel served soup at 6:30 p.m., and cookies and milk at 7:00 p.m., which we enjoyed several times.

My only complaint was a small issue with the bathroom floor: the tiles/flooring were very squeaky when we walked on them, as if the underlayment beneath them had not been installed properly. The faucet on the shower had also been broken, and had been "temporarily" fixed by driving a screw into it, which made it more difficult to use. With the record-breaking heat the week of July 4, the hallway on the 4th floor was incredibly hot, even with the a/c working (though my room stayed cool).

We stayed on the 4th floor, and it was very quiet, though I'm guessing the squeaky floor could probably be heard by the room below us.

TIP: Stay on the 4th floor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeybusiness23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Although we didn't experience any significant problems during our 1-night stay, we weren't particularly impressed. Front desk staff was reasonably friendly but not especially welcoming, helpful or professional. Wifi did not connect as instructions in room indicated, so a trip to the desk for walk-thru for correct connection method was needed. Breakfast was good, no attendant present when we ate breakfast (didn't need assistance, but appreciate an attendant for questions, quick refills of low-running items, etc.) Room/bed was clean/comfortable, nice Bath & Body Works toiletries. Views from the hotel/neighborhood not great--walls oft-painted-over to cover graffiti, etc. Although hotel seemed to full or nearly-full, it was quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Yakima, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Kathy T,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We're so glad you liked the cleanliness of the room accommodations you had. We would like to apologize you were not well satisfied with the service you received and for the challenges you had with our WiFi services was less than satisfactory. We're sorry the view of the neighborhood from our hotel did not live up to your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed two nights during 4th of July on a third floor. Clean and comfortable room (King+sofa bed), nice breakfast choices with hot items (pancake, bacon, scramble eggs) + standard continental breakfast items, friendly and helpful staff, nice swimming pool+hot tub, great location close to shopping, restaurants, and easy access to freeway.

Everything is great. The only problem we had wast that the room above us was very loud on our second night. We didn't hear voice from next doors, BUT could also hear showering and flushing from the next door very clearly!

Overall, great experience, and will definitely consider HIE if we come to Yakima next time.

Room Tip: Maybe try the top floor to avoid jumping and running noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperTul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel was clean and the service good. The breakfast buffet is great. There is a wonderful selection and a good sized breakfast room. Our room on the first floor had a sliding door to the outside which was nice. Comfortable beds, nice toiletries and reasonable towels. We found the in room frig very convenient.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 4smimmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yakima hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Yakima
Holiday Inn Yakima
#10 of 24 in Yakima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yakima
0.5 mi away
Oxford Inn Yakima
Oxford Inn Yakima
#2 of 24 in Yakima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Yakima Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oxford Suites Yakima
Oxford Suites Yakima
#1 of 24 in Yakima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 24 in Yakima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Yakima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Yakima

Property: Holiday Inn Express Yakima
Address: 1001 E Staff Sgt Pendleton Way, Yakima, WA 98901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Yakima 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Yakima Hotel!Ideally located near the heart of downtown Yakima, we are just one block from the Yakima Convention Center, with quick freeway access. The Holiday Inn Express Yakima is your 'Gateway to Wine Country', with numerous local wineries to choose from throughout our Valley.While staying at the Holiday Inn Express Yakima Hotel, you will enjoy our complimentary, expanded deluxe continental breakfast, featuring hot and cold food selections, such as omelets, biscuits and gravy, fresh fruits, cereals, and of course, our famous cinnamon rolls!This Yakima hotel will help maintain your exercise regime in our fitness center. Swim year round in our indoor pool or relax in our hot tub.Whether you are staying with us for business, pleasure, or both, you will find our free, wireless, high-speed Internet access convenient for any situation.Attractions near hotel: Yakima Convention Center, Yakima Valley Wineries, Yakima Sundome, Apple Tree Golf Course and the Seasons Performance Hall.The Holiday Inn Express Yakima. Stay Smart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Yakima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Yakima Hotel Yakima
Holiday Inn Yakima
Yakima Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing