We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Years of Yak Attack and still the best Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Another excellent time at the Ahtanum Inn. The staff is awesome and many have remained the same. The rooms this year seemed exceptionally cleaned by the staff. We stay in the suites poolside and they are a great place for families to stay and watch their kids in the courtyard (Grass) as well as at the pool.
The free breakfast was great includes sausage hash browns scrambled eggs waffles (strawberry) and biscuits and gravy (my favorite) along with all the cold stuff.
Kudos to all who made this a great experience for all of our team families.
Sara (Carmel Machiato)
Linda Sue (anything with coconut)
Ryan (layered not stirred)
LOL you are the best

OOPs missed no show Julie she is the best group reservationist.

Room Tip: Get a poolside if you like the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoccerUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Thank you so much for your incredible kindness!

We are so pleased that you noticed & acknowledged our outdoor grass courtyard & pool area, and our delicious new breakfast. We are so proud of these amenities, and are delighted that you enjoyed them!
Thank you also for naming & noticing our staff members! They are truly the reason for the warmth & positive environment at our hotel property, and you really blessed each of them with your very kind words both in this review, and while you were staying with us.

The privilege of hosting you, your family, and your team here at our hotel was an absolute honor! We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 441 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I'd like to make two suggestions. The first is related to assignment of rooms. We checked in around 10 p.m. on a Tuesday night. We were put in a room directly under another room that had people in it. They were walking around making noise (normal walking made noise). It wasn't a huge issue but on a night when there are few people in the motel it seems to me you could zig zag people so they aren't directly on top of each other. The room was nicely organized although the bathroom size was rather small.
My second suggestion is to provide alternative breakfast items for people with food sensitivities. We are severely allergic to gluten and dairy products. We were able to eat a banana and an apple. Yakima has a wonderful gluten free bakery on 16th St. (we found it after we left the motel). She bakes wonderful english muffins and breads as well as cinnamon rolls and breakfast muffins. All these products can be frozen and kept nicely. I would be willing to pay extra for any of those items if only they were provided while traveling. As it is I have to carry my own food on business trips. If you made provisions for people with food allergies, your establishment would have another feather in its cap to entice travelers to stay with you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you for staying with us recently, and for the kind comments & great ideas that you have posted here on the Trip Advisor site.

Staggering the guest room assignments is certainly something that we do whenever possible to evenly distribute our guests, and to provide consistent & even use on all of our guestrooms.
We certainly apologize that this did not occur during your stay. Please forgive us. In the future, should you have any problems with your room assignment or guest room whatsoever, please let the front desk staff know right away so that we can have the opportunity to correct it.

Also, your suggestions regarding providing various breakfast options for individuals with certain food sensitivities, is a great one. Although there are currently a few items on our breakfast menu that are indeed gluten free, etc., we will certainly discuss this matter with our property management & look into some of these great options & additional breakfast recommendations that you have suggested. Thank you for sharing your ideas with us!

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We were honored to have you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stay here everytime we are in town for Baseball Tourneys. This hotel is consistently, clean, friendly and just what we need. The breakfast is the best thing for the boys. The staff is always friendly and helpful from reservation to checkout.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armenian4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Thank you very much for your tremendously kind words about our hotel. And thank you for taking the time to post your comments on this site.

We certainly appreciate that you continue to stay with us whenever you are here for the baseball tournaments!

And finally, thank you so much for your gracious words about our breakfast. We have invested a lot of time & effort into our breakfast over the past couple of years, and think we now offer one of the best in town. We're delighted that you enjoyed it.

Look forward to seeing you at the next tournament!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Linda Sue on the front desk gave us a warm welcome upon our arrival and was extremely helpful. We enjoyed a 4 day stay in a spacious suite with balcony and kitchenette, really nice.

Each morning breakfast was exceptional. Hotel location next to Outback restaurant and shopping within walking distance. A short drive to wineries. Be sure to bring your BW points card with you, it will pay off.

A great place to stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel property! We were delighted to have you as our guest.

We take pride in the warm welcome that you received from Linda & our front desk staff, and are very pleased that you enjoyed our suite too. At 700+square feet in size, our suites are very spacious, comfortable, and accommodating.

We're also glad that you enjoyed our full hot breakfast. We've been working on it for the past couple of years & are now proud to be able to offer our guests a delicious full hot breakfast, very similar to what you would receive at a restaurant.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful review of our hotel property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This Hotel has been good to us the last three years,we have made it our primary place to stay in the Yakima area. However! Be advised to any smokers... They have remodeled the smoking wing of the hotel so as to give all the smoking rooms doors onto the parking lot. I am personally uncomfortable with rooms that have exterior doors. These rooms are now such that when you open the door,you run into a bed and there is now excess,useless space in the room where the door used to be. You would really feel cramped in one of these rooms now. We were fortunate that the hotel had other rooms available,we took a suite on the second floor (nonsmoking) for a lot more money and were happy to do so as the smoking rooms are now essentially useless. Otherwise a great hotel for a well maintained older property! The staff was very considerate and prompt to change our room to a habitable one.... We will look here first for our next stay in the Yakima area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5ptelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Thank you very much for your patronage to our hotel property! We are honored to be your “hotel of choice” whenever you are in the Yakima area. We also value your feedback regarding our smoking rooms, and will always try to offer you your “room of choice” whenever you may stay with us. Once again, thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel property, and for your kind words about the hotel and our employees.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I checked into this hotel for a single night in March 2013 while working my way from Washington Wine Country back to Seattle. In hind sight a room rate of around $100 should have told me all I needed to know - you get exactly what you pay for.

The hotel is aging, the bed very worn and saggy and the breakfast a typically poor Best Western effort. All of this is part of the 'buyer beware' experience with a cheap hotel and I take full responsibility for my decision.

What I don't take responsibility for is the desk staff making a copy of my credit card number and using it (along with my home address and cell phone number taken from the check-in form) to make a $600 online purchase within hours of me checking out. This particular card hadn't been used in weeks and was used only once on my trip - at this hotel.

There are 15+ hotels in Yakima - stay somewhere else, please!

Room Tip: Pick a room in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusAhtanumInn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Thank you for your business and for expressing your concerns. The condition of the bed and dissatifsfaction with our Full Hot breakfast are issues we need to know about. It is difficult to address concerns about our hotel if we are not given a chance to resolve these issues when they occur. If we had known the bed in the room 221 was less then you expected, we could have moved you to another room or supplied you with a bedboard. We have not had any other feedback regarding the bed in that room.

What specifically was unsatisfactory about our breakfast? We built a large new breakfast area last year and we work very hard to make our FULL HOT breakfast selections of the best quality, and prepared and served with excellence.

I am sorry to hear unauthorized charges have been made against your credit card. However, you make very serious accusations against our entire establishment which I would like to fully investigate. Our systems are PCT compliant, which means they only permit us to see the last 4 numbers of your credit card. There is no opportunity for our desk agents to amass enough information from your credit card to attempt any type of unauthorized usage.

If you feel we have broken our trust with your financial information, please allow us the opportunity to investigate your damaging accusations by sharing the evidence you have to justify the misuse of your credit card. We have not had any other incidents of this nature imputed to us. My desk staff has an extremely low turnover rate, so it would be unusual for a problem like this to suddenly appear.
That being said, if you will please call me at (425) 760-6848, I will be certin to investigate all the details and report back to you.

Respectfully

Thomas Deats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This hotel was very clean and nice. We were there for a dog show and it was nice to have the hotel welcome our well mannered pets and with no pet fee. This hotel had the best breakfast that I have ever had at a hotel.

Room Tip: the inside rooms have a huge view of the courtyard and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudiadavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and for staying with us! We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yakima hotels
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Yakima Hotel
2.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Yakima
Oxford Suites Yakima
#1 of 24 in Yakima
834 reviews
2.7 mi away
Oxford Inn Yakima
Oxford Inn Yakima
#3 of 24 in Yakima
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Yakima
Comfort Suites Yakima
#5 of 24 in Yakima
260 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Yakima
Holiday Inn Yakima
#9 of 24 in Yakima
193 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yakima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn

Address: 2408 Rudkin Rd, Yakima, WA 98903-1610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Yakima
#6 Family Hotel in Yakima
Price Range: £75 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yakima
Yakima Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing