We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disspaointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Disspaointing”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I know that there was renovations done and this is a non smoking property, but I still smell smoke. The hallways as well as our room were smokey. The property seems to be a little rough, even after renovations. The saving grace during our visit was the breakfast buffet. Lots of choices, but average food quality. For the price, I think there are better options. We were fortunate to have a room that opens onto the interior, but there are entrances directly from the outside that face the truck stop next door.

Room Tip: Interior courtyard is a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDaddyAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Greetings Big Daddy Austin!

Thanks very much for taking the time to give us your thoughts here on the TripAdvisor site. We sure appreciate it!

Please know that we certainly apologize that your experience here was less than perfect, and certainly hope that you will give us another chance to serve you as our guest again in the future.

We have 5 total smoking rooms here at the property on the north end of the building. Those are the rooms that you were referring to that have the exterior entrance. We gave them the exterior entrance in an effort to hopefully isolate & quickly eliminate any smoke smells. But once again, we sure apologize if you smelled anything in the hallways, or in your guestroom, etc. In the future, if you experience anything like this at our hotel or any other hotel property, please let the front desk staff and/or manager know right away so that hopefully they can remedy the problem by moving you to another room, and eliminate any lingering smoke smells.

Finally, it's great that you enjoyed our breakfast! We have worked very hard on that, and are really proud of it. We are certainly glad that you enjoyed it.

Once again, thank you for your comments! With my kindest regards, DH-Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    137
    56
    17
    14
See reviews for
100
96
19
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterville, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed one night at this Yakima property. Even though located next to a truck stop the room was very quiet. Room was clean, beds comfortable. The Outback restaurant is located right across the parking lot. We enjoyed walking to dinner after a day of driving. A mall is located within blocks of the property. Easy access on and off the freeway. Staff was friendly, check-in fine. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Phyllis,

Thank you for staying with us recently!

And thank you for taking the time to give us these kind comments here on the TripAdvisor site. We are certainly grateful & very glad that you had a wonderful stay with us!

We're also glad that you enjoyed our hotel's location & many amenities. It is really wonderful to be located so close to the freeway, several restaurants, great shopping & even a movie theatre!

Once again, thank you for your kindness here!
With our kindest regards & respect, DH-Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Great rate, clean room, friendly staff, pet-friendly, Harley Owner Group supporter...what more could you ask for?! After driving through...and past the 'downtown' hotels, we opted to stay here overnight while passing through on a family road trip as we felt more safe. Spacious and well light parking lot. We were thankful they provided pet-friendly rooms as we were traveling with our dog. The hotel is located adjacent to Outback Steakhouse (the front desk provided us with a free Bloomin' Onion coupon!) and truck/gas stop. Easy access on/off the freeway. Will definitely stay again when in the area!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skydive14k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Hello, Skydive!

Thank you so much for staying with us recently, and for your wonderful comments here on the TripAdvisor site. We appreciate this very much!

We're glad that you guys ended up choosing our hotel after driving through the downtown area. I believe that you made a great choice and our property really is safe, has a great breakfast, a beautiful courtyard area to relax in, and is close to a lot of other great things such as shopping, restaurants, movies, etc.

They just finished that big "Exit 36 Roundabout" off of the freeway about a year ago, and I'm glad that it was so easy for you to get on & off of the freeway. It has been a tremendous improvement for our area, and it makes it really wonderful for our travelers too.

Finally, thanks for mentioning that you will stay with us again in the future as you travel to our area. We look forward it!

Once again, thank you for your tremendous kindness here & for taking the time to say these kind words about our hotel property. We are proud of it.

With my kindest regards, DH-Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have stayed in this hotel several times. I always feel safe at this hotel. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly, and it has a good variety for breakfast. Some of the rooms can be a bit small, however they do have some larger rooms as well. I rate them as "very good" instead of "excellent" only because I believe there is always room for improvement.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Hi, Terry!

Thank you so much for your kindness in taking the time to give our hotel property this very nice review on the TripAdvisor website. We sure do appreciate it.

Thank you also for staying with us whenever you are in the area! We sure appreciate that too, and are really glad that you enjoy our hotel, our location, clean rooms, the hotel staff, breakfast, etc. We are sure proud of all of the employees, and our beautiful hotel property. We're glad that you enjoy it too.!

Once again, thanks for your kindness, Terry, and for continuing to choose to stay with us!
With my kindest regards & respect, DH-Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We ride motorcycles and have enjoyed staying here so much that we now plan our trips to include an overnight here. The staff has always been pleasant; they have honored our requests for a first floor room; the room has always been clean - as has the entire facility; and they have a restaurant across the parking lot. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phalcor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Phalcor,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us this very kind review here on the TripAdvisor site. We sure appreciate your kind words!

Thank you also for making a point of stopping here on your motorcycle rides! We love motorcycle riders, groups, etc., staying with us. In fact, please know that we have some "sister" Best Western hotels in the cities of Sunnyside, Prosser, & Colfax, which is over by Pullman & WSU. You & your friends should consider a "tour" of those areas on a long ride! The Colfax area in the fall with all of the wheat fields, beautiful scenic areas, etc., is spectacular! It would be an awesome ride.

Once again, thanks for your kind comments about our hotel, staff, etc. We are grateful.

With my kindest regards, DH-Marketing & Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester,WA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is a great Hotel, worth stopping at for the rest! Lto of things to see in the area, lot of stores in walking distance. If you are a truck driver ther is a nice truck stop next door. They have a nice pool area and they are pet friendly, Have a great stay!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rusty1Rochester_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Rusty,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel! They are truly appreciated.

We are glad that you enjoy our hotel & the area. We really feel that our location is the best in the whole Yakima area, and once again, we sure are glad that you enjoy it too!

We will look forward to seeing you on your next trip through our area! With my kindest regards, DH-Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Very nice hotel, very friendly people run this place. The breakfast was the best I have ever seen and I have spent many nights in many different places. Would recommend this hotel to friends. the owner is to be complimented.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Marc,

Wow! Thanks for your very kind comments here. We are so proud of our hotel staff & certainly our newer breakfast! It is about as close as you can get to a "full restaurant" offering type of breakfast, and we are sure glad that you enjoyed it & commented on it!

I will be sure to let our hotel owner know of your kind comments & feedback here!

Kindly, DH-Director of Marketing & Sale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yakima hotels
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Yakima Hotel
2.7 mi away
Oxford Inn Yakima
Oxford Inn Yakima
#2 of 24 in Yakima
532 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oxford Suites Yakima
Oxford Suites Yakima
#1 of 24 in Yakima
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yakima
5.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Yakima
Comfort Suites Yakima
#6 of 24 in Yakima
225 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Yakima
Days Inn Yakima
#10 of 24 in Yakima
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn
Address: 2408 Rudkin Road, Yakima, WA 98903-1610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Yakima
#6 Family Hotel in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yakima
Yakima Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing