We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Updates, Good Value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Fresno
Level Contributor
118 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice Updates, Good Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Having stayed here for 3 nights for business, I think they have done a nice job with the room updates. The only thing that was missed for some reason, was the TV. The left the old 1990's style in each room. Nice bed, excellent work station and the WiFi worked very well. The breakfast needs lots of improvement in my opinion. Helpful customer service,, but no one stands up from behind the desk when you are checking in or out. Kind of weird. Lots of free parking. Not really walking distance to restaurants. Hotel is not in the best part of Yakima, so driving is your best bet anyway. This is a good valued hotel. Not sure I would stay here if it weren't for the company putting our whole team here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MickeyP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    121
    174
    107
    75
See reviews for
175
68
19
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

The hotel had great customer service, clean rooms, nice breakfast so it was not bad for the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Lynette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We have stayed here before and returned to find it "less" than average. You get a lot of sports teams staying here so it tends to be noisy at night. People were still noisy last night at 11. Sheets and bedding were not that nice of quality but the bed was comfortable.
Elevator near main check in stinks like someone threw up in it. I hope they can address this soon.
I do enjoy the cinnamon twists they have for breakfast. Really yummy. Pool is drained in the winter which makes sense. It's too cold.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank just_around_corner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yakima hotels

Cowiche, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I use to stay here all the time, they had a wonderful restaurant with a great salad bar. The prime rib and seafood buffet use to the best. They don't have anything now. What a waste of space. The rooms look exactly like they did 4 years ago. Probably the same sheets. It wasn't a bad stay but it wasn't anything close to what it use to be. I will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

I traveled to Yakima on business. For a relatively inexpensive rate, I had a clean room. Even though the furnishings are outdated, the bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. The staff was very friendly. The workout area is compact but functional and I used it a couple of times. For traveling on a budget, this is a good choice. If you are going to the Sundome, it's only 5 minutes away.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DV52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

The hotel is a nice place to stay, the rooms were very clean and nice for a Howard Johnson.
They have a balcony which was a surprise to me, never had one befor in a Howard Johnson it over looked the court yard where the pool was. It was closed of course for winter, but man it was a large pool with a island in middle perfect pool it play in with kids/grandkids. The beds were HIGH off the ground 3+ feet, which was a bit hard to get up on I am not a tall person. Except the bed was like laying on a cloud. I thought I was a princes for a moment. The Staff was so pleasent and was willing to help out with directions and information. I loved this place and I will be staying again. The heater/ AC unit was noisey, but when you run it at least it did not smell bad when it come on. The whole hotel had a nice smell and feeing to it. I felt like I was a VIP. Did not eat there but it did look like a nice place to eat at, tables were clean and they had a nice sitting area. Wish they had a spa/hot tub. I do enjoy relaxing in one after a long car ride.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yakima hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Yakima
Holiday Inn Yakima
#8 of 24 in Yakima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Yakima
Days Inn Yakima
#9 of 24 in Yakima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
GuestHouse Inn Yakima
GuestHouse Inn Yakima
#13 of 24 in Yakima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 24 in Yakima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Yakima
Oxford Suites Yakima
#1 of 24 in Yakima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center

Property: Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center
Address: 9 North 9th Street, Yakima, WA 98901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima Hotel Yakima
Howard Johnson Yakima
Yakima Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing