We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I previously lived in the area. My family used this hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    130
    194
    125
    94
See reviews for
208
71
22
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Orchard, WA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a girls weekend and were pretty disappointed when we arrived and were sent to a building across the parking lot for our room. It was old and needed some attention. The tv didnt work but with a call to the front desk it was fixed pretty quickly. I will say the staff is what earned this place our approval. Everyone was very nice and helpful. We needed a wine bottle opener and the front desk went out of their way to get us to the restaurant (which was closed) to borrow one. We went to the pool but it was way too crowded (no chairs or towels available) but again the front desk was quick to get us some towels. The continental breakfast is okay. Not the best selection but certainly better than some and they have a really big seating area which was nice. Again, not the best place but if I return to yakima I will stay there because of the staff

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PugetSoundMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed here for one night as part of a road trip, the motel is fine, its clean, cheap, and the staff were friendly and helpful. It was around 40C when we stayed and having the pool to cool off in was nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fercoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

To begin with, the room smelled funny, like industrial strength cleaner. The Wi-Fi never worked. In the morning, breakfast was supposed to begin at 6:30, but the door was not open until nearly 7:00. But the real kicker was when 6 out of our group of 30 got food poisoning at dinner. Staff couldn't care less it must happen often.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherH6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yakima hotels

Prosser, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is a good motel. I have stayed here every year for the last six years for our convention. The only thing that would make it better is if there were a restaurant on the premises.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Connie Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Warning!!! I made an error on my reservation and no one would help me. The represenative blamed me for not reading the fine print. Paid for three nights, didnt show because of the wrong date- so my room reservations were paid and they rented my rooms to another guest. I'm out over $300 and still have no place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yakima hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Yakima
Holiday Inn Yakima
#9 of 24 in Yakima
184 reviews
1.3 mi away
FairBridge Inn, Suites and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oxford Inn Yakima
Oxford Inn Yakima
#2 of 24 in Yakima
541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yakima
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Yakima
Days Inn Yakima
#11 of 24 in Yakima
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center

Property: Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center
Address: 9 N 9th St, Yakima, WA 98901-2522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima Hotel Yakima
Howard Johnson Yakima
Yakima Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing