We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Some capital improvements would go a long way. This place was in very poor repair. The employees were very nice and the maids did an excellent job cleaning given the state of the facilities. This hotel is a bit of a dump.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize for the condition of the hotel. We certainly understand why that would have an effect on the quality of your stay. I am happy to hear that our staff was friendly and were able to respond assist you when needed.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you on your next visit.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

A huge annual soccer event and two months advanced reservations and still the hotel planners didn't have the ability to prepare breakfast for the amount of people in the hotel. Numerous families in our group had to drive through a food chain for breakfast on the way to the tournament Saturday and Sunday because they ran out of food in 15 minutes. The excuse was they were understaffed. Unacceptable. If you like really soft and mushy beds, you love your sleep accommodations but not if you prefer a firm.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
2  Thank roneymail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. I do apologize that our staff was not properly prepared for the breakfast crowd and that we ran out of food. We certainly understand why that would have an effect on the quality of your stay. Please be assured that these issue will be addressed accordingly with all of our staff.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you on your next visit.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

this hotel is in desperate need of a remodel. The staff were great but everything else was old and outdated. For the price you can do alot better in the area. The hotel bar was huge but nobody there, maybe because it is in a really bad part of Yakima.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
2  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your stay with us as your feedback is important when providing our guests excellent service. I would like to apologize for the condition of the hotel. Please be assured that this will be addressed accordingly and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you better during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Old furnishings and décor, small closet, old CRT TV, musty room odor, and poor shower head made for a less-than-acceptable stay. Although the people were pleasant and helpful, the overall ambience was of an old hotel past its prime and in need of an extreme makeover.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
2  Thank Terrence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your stay with us as your feedback is important when providing our guests excellent service. I apologize that the hotel was less than you expected in comparison to other local hotels. I would like to apologize for the odor in your room as well. . Please be assured that this will be addressed accordingly and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you better during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The photos on the website are not indicative of the room you'll most likely get. We had a ground floor room with a door directly to the outside. Our AC was not functioning. The front desk said the AC "hadn't been turned on yet". Hmmm. So our options were to open the window (ground floor in a bad area) or tolerate the stuffiness. There are much better (safer) options in Yakima.

Room Tip: If you HAVE to stay here, make sure you ensure a room that is accessed inside the hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heide509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. We apologize for the temperature of your guest room and that is was uncomfortably warm. We certainly understand why that would have an effect on the quality of your stay.
We value you as a guest and we are always looking for ways to enhance our guest experience. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you on your next visit.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I was told the person who changes from heat to a/c in the central unit was gone so they were renting rooms on a hot night that had no air conditioning. What made it worse was we were not informed ahead of time that we were getting a non-air-conditioned room! We went to our room, put on our pajamas and waited for the A/C to cool the room; IT DIDN'T!! The staff was helpful in getting us to a room in another section that had individual a/c, but what a hastle to go through after a long, exhausting day. You've got to be kidding renting a non-air-conditioned room on a hot day without telling the customer about the a/c!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. We apologize for the temperature of your guest room and that is was uncomfortably warm due to the A/C unit not working. We certainly understand why that would have an effect on the quality of your stay.
We value you as a guest and we are always looking for ways to enhance our guest experience. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you on your next visit.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Dirty rooms and the front desk staff lacks professionalism and class! Next time i would stay at a Motel 6 if i wanted to have a gross unkept room and a staff who doesnt understand decent hospitality. The breakfast was good and the location is nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Jenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. There is no reason, nor is it acceptable, to be checked into a room that was not properly cleaned. I would like to apologize for any unprofessionalism that was shown to you as well. Please be assured this will be addressed accordingly with our housekeeping staff to prevent this from happening in the future.
Thank you for your feedback you are a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you better service in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yakima hotels
0.7 mi away
Oxford Inn Yakima
Oxford Inn Yakima
#3 of 24 in Yakima
567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Yakima
Holiday Inn Yakima
#8 of 24 in Yakima
190 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oxford Suites Yakima
Oxford Suites Yakima
#1 of 24 in Yakima
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Yakima Hotel
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yakima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center

Address: 607 E Yakima Ave, Yakima, WA 98901-2548
Region: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Price Range: £63 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center is located in downtown Yakima Washington, next door to the Yakima Convention Center. Located just minutes from Yakima Greenway, Yakima SunDome, Yakima Valley Community College, the Central Washington Fairgrounds, and only 6 miles from the Yakima Air Terminal and offer a free airport shuttle. Red Lion Hotel Yakima guest rooms provide quiet, comfortable accommodations to help you rest and unwind. Hotel amenities include free wi-fi, telephone, in-room coffee and plenty of Yakima sun at our two outdoor pools. Additionally, the Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center boasts easy access to several nearby business locations like the Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences, Yakima Regional HMA, Yakima Memorial Hospital, GE Aviation, Pacific Power, and Cascade Natural Gas. The Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, located near I-82 provides easy access to Yakima Valley's award winning Wineries, nestled in the foothills of the lower valley. Located near the Yakima River provides many opportunities to fish the only blue ribbon river in the state of Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Yakima Yakima
Red Lion Yakima
Yakima Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing