We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel experience in 5 years”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst hotel experience in 5 years”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I booked a premium room on redlion.com and received a lower rate as a rewards member. When I checked in I was downgraded to the worst room in the hotel (next to noisy air conditioner and overlooking employee smoking area) without even acknowledging that I was being downgraded. They intended to chrarge me the premium rate for this room! When I called to complain they explained they were booked full and also made it clear that I could not complain because I was already on a reduced rate as a loyalty member! Further discussion got me a rate reduction but it was made clear that I was being unreasonable. I left the next day still stunned at their behavior.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the room you booked on our website. I can understand how the location of your room affect the quality of your stay. I would like to apologize for any unprofessionalism that may have been shown to you as well.
We do appreciate your feedback and hope we have the chance to serve you better in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    76
    72
    64
    66
See reviews for
84
67
16
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I was staying at the Red Lion for a conference. The hotel is in disrepair and in serious need of updating. The rooms are extremely dated with very few television channel options that come in mostly grainy. I think the bed was the original from when the hotel opened, good luck getting a restful night's sleep. The "continental breakfast" missed the mark on even having basic foods such as bread and butter. I was there for 3 nights and on one of the days my room was completely not cleaned. The front desk staff had one customer service oriented employee who worked nights the rest were a joke. The only high point of the trip was the gentleman who cleaned the pool was very nice and attentive. I would never recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yakima hotels

East Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Booked this room for a conference. I couldn't believe that the building was even part of the Red Lion. Actually called a different hotel when they said there were no other rooms. Looks like a shabby two story motel. Sub motel six quality with door and Windows that open to the walkway. Think I would feel safer sleeping in the car.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whaaat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your stay with us as your feedback is important when providing our guests excellent service. I apologize that the hotel was less than you expected in comparison to other local hotels. I would like to truly apologize for the condition of the hotel and that our staff was unable to better accommodate you to a different room. We value you as a guest and we are always looking for ways to enhance our guest experience. We will be speaking with our desk staff about your experience and do hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you better during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed recently at this Inn after weather conditions prevented travelling further; desk clerk assisted with fast checkin and related local recommendations for restaurants and shopping. Room faced onto open pool area, very comfortable surroundings, helpful employees and great attitude of appreciation for our business.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is in good shape for an old building. My room had been renovated and was very nice. The bed was comfortable which is a big plus for me.

Stay away from the food service.....go elsewhere to eat. New people have leased the food and beverage and they have a lot to learn (if they can last that long). The meals served at all of our functions were not very good....very bland and not creative.....they need a much better chef if they want to stay in this business.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georges-road-trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle,Wa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Rooms are very old, DIRTY and you will be lucky to get your sheets changed or even a roll of toilet paper while staying for six nights. If I hadn't had to stay here for a conference, I would have checked out immediately.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank WestSeattleGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. There is no reason, nor is it acceptable, to be checked into a room that was not properly cleaned. I would like to apologize for your room not being serviced during your stay as well. I would like to assure you that this will be addressed accordingly with our housekeeping staff.
Thank you for your feedback you are a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you better service in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Have been at this hotel for a conference, and two different training sessions, the last in the final week of May 2014. Rooms quite large and comfortable enough. Pools (2) are a nice addition, though a little chilly this year. Desk service quite satisfactory.
BUT, 2 major flaws. House -keeping staff numbers appear to have been reduced, resulting in some rooms not being made up until well into the afternoon, and then not always very efficiently. Items omitted or skimped on, and fresh supplies not always available
The worst, by far, is the new contract for catering The hotel displays a notice on the front desk touting the new chef, wait staff, and kitchen team. It should be hidden. Quality, quantity and service of food at lunch and dinner was appallingly bad. Serving the same insipid vegetables for 3 consecutive meals is totally unacceptable, as is the presentation of the same "bag" salad 3 times in a row , even at the closing meal, inaccurately termed a banquet. Service was slow to start and descended from there. One breakfast, out of three, worked, sort of. Otherwise, very poor planning, (the hotel was full on two consecutive nights), under- staffing, lack of co-ordination between front-end staff and the kitchen had many delegates going out for breakfast, (even though its cost was included in the room charge) , or going without the meal. We gathered , from other guests that the same very disorganized service was apparent in the pub/bar/ restaurant. My organization will not be returning to this venue for at least the next two years, and if, thereafter it does, and if I am still involved, (a likely scenario), I will be staying and eating elsewhere in Yakima. A sad downfall, which does the city, and the hotel, no good at all.

Room Tip: Be careful with ground floor rooms facing on to the "private " pathways. We had an item st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midastaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yakima hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Yakima
Holiday Inn Yakima
#9 of 24 in Yakima
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yakima
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Oxford Inn Yakima
Oxford Inn Yakima
#2 of 24 in Yakima
532 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oxford Suites Yakima
Oxford Suites Yakima
#1 of 24 in Yakima
776 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Yakima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center

Property: Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center
Address: 607 E Yakima Ave, Yakima, WA 98901-2548
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center is located in downtown Yakima Washington, next door to the Yakima Convention Center. Located just minutes from Yakima Greenway, Yakima SunDome, Yakima Valley Community College, the Central Washington Fairgrounds, and only 6 miles from the Yakima Air Terminal and offer a free airport shuttle. Red Lion Hotel Yakima guest rooms provide quiet, comfortable accommodations to help you rest and unwind. Hotel amenities include free wi-fi, telephone, in-room coffee and plenty of Yakima sun at our two outdoor pools. Additionally, the Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center boasts easy access to several nearby business locations like the Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences, Yakima Regional HMA, Yakima Memorial Hospital, GE Aviation, Pacific Power, and Cascade Natural Gas. The Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, located near I-82 provides easy access to Yakima Valley's award winning Wineries, nestled in the foothills of the lower valley. Located near the Yakima River provides many opportunities to fish the only blue ribbon river in the state of Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Yakima Yakima
Red Lion Yakima
Yakima Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing