We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good for groups.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Bothell, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not good for groups.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a youth music tour and convention. The staff was horrible about assigning rooms so that chaperones could be near the kids. We even booked the rooms as a block and told them we needed the rooms close together. We had 5 rooms booked for 3 nights and 2 additional rooms for only 2 nights. The hotel never asked at check in what rooms were needed for the 3 nights or 2 nights. They just gave us a stack of keys. Come to find out only 4 of the rooms were near each other and they "couldn't" fix that. Then after night 2 we were told which rooms we were expected to be out of by having slips of paper under those 2 doors. Of course it was 2 of the rooms that were near each other where we had a majority of the kids. They were adamant that they could only fix one of the rooms. They were rude and were unable to let us talk to a manager. Called corporate and they were eventually able to fix it but it took 2 hours. Also, the breakfast was not monitored well. They were out of plates, milk, spoons, and eggs and it took repeated asking before more were brought out. Won't stay here again and I am a red lion rewards member.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I apologize for the issues you experienced when you checked in with your group, as that is not what we expect our guest experience to be. I would also like to apologize that the breakfast buffet was not properly stocked as well.
Thank you very much for your feedback, we will most certainly look into your issue with our housekeeping department. We look forward to providing you excellent service as a valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    71
    61
    54
    59
See reviews for
71
62
15
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Front desk check in was rude beyond rude. Room was not cleaned, yes the bed was made, however the carpet was not cleaned, candy wrappers under the bed. First night was very noisy, I wasn't sure if I was ever going to sleep, got about an hour. The second day the room was not cleaned at all, I called the front desk, they were ok, but not that responsive. The second night I thought I was in a war zone, non-stop sirens. The third night was not as bad (noise wise) but I was glad it was the last night. This was a business trip, getting sleep was the most important thing for me, it didn't happen. Breakfast was ok, the resturant was ok.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayandMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your experiences at our property. Please accept my sincerest apologies on behalf of our hotel regarding the lack of cleanliness in your room. I would like to apologize for any unprofessionalism that may have been shown to you by our staff as well. I do want to assure you that these issues will be addressed accordingly with our staff. Thank you for being a valued guest and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yakima hotels

Lacey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just avoid if you can. Old scary and gross. It's like an old 70's motel from a horror movie. But it's location by the cc is good. Oh. Sheets were hairy and my door had greasy dirty handprints all over

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samannika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your stay with us as your feedback is important when providing our guests excellent service. I apologize that the hotel was less than you expected in comparison to other local hotels. I would like to truly apologize for the condition of the hotel and that your room was not properly cleaned. We value you as a guest and we are always looking for ways to enhance our guest experience. We will be speaking with our desk staff about your experience and do hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you better during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I booked a premium room on redlion.com and received a lower rate as a rewards member. When I checked in I was downgraded to the worst room in the hotel (next to noisy air conditioner and overlooking employee smoking area) without even acknowledging that I was being downgraded. They intended to chrarge me the premium rate for this room! When I called to complain they explained they were booked full and also made it clear that I could not complain because I was already on a reduced rate as a loyalty member! Further discussion got me a rate reduction but it was made clear that I was being unreasonable. I left the next day still stunned at their behavior.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the room you booked on our website. I can understand how the location of your room affect the quality of your stay. I would like to apologize for any unprofessionalism that may have been shown to you as well.
We do appreciate your feedback and hope we have the chance to serve you better in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I was staying at the Red Lion for a conference. The hotel is in disrepair and in serious need of updating. The rooms are extremely dated with very few television channel options that come in mostly grainy. I think the bed was the original from when the hotel opened, good luck getting a restful night's sleep. The "continental breakfast" missed the mark on even having basic foods such as bread and butter. I was there for 3 nights and on one of the days my room was completely not cleaned. The front desk staff had one customer service oriented employee who worked nights the rest were a joke. The only high point of the trip was the gentleman who cleaned the pool was very nice and attentive. I would never recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Booked this room for a conference. I couldn't believe that the building was even part of the Red Lion. Actually called a different hotel when they said there were no other rooms. Looks like a shabby two story motel. Sub motel six quality with door and Windows that open to the walkway. Think I would feel safer sleeping in the car.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whaaat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your stay with us as your feedback is important when providing our guests excellent service. I apologize that the hotel was less than you expected in comparison to other local hotels. I would like to truly apologize for the condition of the hotel and that our staff was unable to better accommodate you to a different room. We value you as a guest and we are always looking for ways to enhance our guest experience. We will be speaking with our desk staff about your experience and do hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you better during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed recently at this Inn after weather conditions prevented travelling further; desk clerk assisted with fast checkin and related local recommendations for restaurants and shopping. Room faced onto open pool area, very comfortable surroundings, helpful employees and great attitude of appreciation for our business.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yakima hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Yakima
Holiday Inn Yakima
#8 of 24 in Yakima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yakima
0.9 mi away
Oxford Suites Yakima
Oxford Suites Yakima
#1 of 24 in Yakima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Yakima
Days Inn Yakima
#9 of 24 in Yakima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center
0.7 mi away
Oxford Inn Yakima
Oxford Inn Yakima
#2 of 24 in Yakima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center

Property: Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center
Address: 607 E Yakima Ave, Yakima, WA 98901-2548
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center is located in downtown Yakima Washington, next door to the Yakima Convention Center. Located just minutes from Yakima Greenway, Yakima SunDome, Yakima Valley Community College, the Central Washington Fairgrounds, and only 6 miles from the Yakima Air Terminal and offer a free airport shuttle. Red Lion Hotel Yakima guest rooms provide quiet, comfortable accommodations to help you rest and unwind. Hotel amenities include free wi-fi, telephone, in-room coffee and plenty of Yakima sun at our two outdoor pools. Additionally, the Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center boasts easy access to several nearby business locations like the Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences, Yakima Regional HMA, Yakima Memorial Hospital, GE Aviation, Pacific Power, and Cascade Natural Gas. The Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, located near I-82 provides easy access to Yakima Valley's award winning Wineries, nestled in the foothills of the lower valley. Located near the Yakima River provides many opportunities to fish the only blue ribbon river in the state of Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel and Booking.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Yakima Yakima
Red Lion Yakima
Yakima Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing