We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
University Place, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Nice location and friendly staff. Very close to the Yakima Convention Center. The breakfast was OK but they were very and seemed to be short staffed. I had to wait quite awhile for hot water to make tea.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank birgenheier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    77
    73
    64
    67
See reviews for
86
67
16
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kelso, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a wedding in Yakima. We booked the room with Hotwire and got a really good deal, or so we thought. the Hotwire price we got should be the price they charge normally....you are paying for the name, not the amenities.

When we arrived and went inside to check in, we stood there for at least 5 minutes, as no one was at the front desk nor anywhere around to help us or the others waiting. They were able to check us in early which was nice. They gave us a room in the "townhouse" building, which is so disconnected from the hotel area that is seems like a ghetto apartment stuck in the corner,and the doors are outside like a motel. There was hardly any lighting and the grass in front of our window had garbage beer cans in it.

We called and asked the front desk to change room and they put us in the "corporate" building with no problems. it was nicer because the doors were inside the building this time, but the room wasn't impressive at all. We found the hotel to be very outdated. And in both the rooms we had been in, it seemed as though they put a few new things in the room to try to cover up the outdated room.

It wasn't a completely bad hotel, but definitely not what we expected from the red lion.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nreetz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yakima hotels

Yakima
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Arrived to find confirmed reservations lost, initial front desk person short and unfriendly. Back up personnel much better. Found room sub-par, mold in bathroom and fixtures coming apart. TV was of poor reception and only a few (12) channels!! In house restaurant closes at 9 pm, on a Friday!!??!
Only other positive was assistant manager, very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The manager was a downer just put out by my calling and trying to tell him that his staff was awful. He did not really care and he did not offer any ammenities at all really. Bad hotel atmosphere and he acted like he was not happy with his job anyway. Not a happy person.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Becky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Given some of the reviews, I was prepared to not like this hotel. As my husband was to attend a conference next door, the booking was made by someone else and we could not change hotels. While there were a couple of issues (will note later), overall our stay was a success. I spent the better part of three days in the hotel room as the outside temperatures were well into the 100 degree range. Other than venturing out for drinks and food, I hung around the room most hours. The room was very comfortable; the beds clean and firm; the air-conditioning worked well; the bath had extra towels and the shower was strong. All appliances worked; there was a small desk and chair that were comfortable for reading. The lobby was cool and well-lit and there was a computer available for internet connection. Soft music played in the halls and there was little noise. The two pools were clean and those swimming seemed to be enjoying themselves.

Of the two issues I had with the hotel, one was minor, at least for me. On the first full day, our room was missed for cleaning, but at 5:00 pm I received a call from the housekeeping supervisor with a sincere apology and a firm acknowledgement that it was her responsibility, not that of the cleaner's. As I am someone who picks up as they go along, I was content with an agreement that we would just get fresh towels and supplies and there was no need for a full cleaning service. Those items were delivered and the next day's cleaning was thorough and complete. The second issue with the hotel (front desk) stems, I believe, from a lack of training when it comes to "service." When we arrived at 2:45 pm and attempted to check-in, we were told, pointedly, that the check-in time was 3:00 pm. ("Check-in is at 3:00, hon." I understand that all hotels have policies; however, when the temperature outside is 96 degrees and the lobby is standing room only (others also waiting to check in), I think it is common sense and common courtesy to allow guests to check into rooms that are ready for occupancy. In other travels, I've never been denied check-in when it was that close to the time. At 3:00 pm the check-ins started, but because several people were waiting, it took several minutes for the two clerks to complete all transactions. I also noted in the three days stay, that there was only one clerk at the front desk most of the day--that meant that there was usually a line of guest waiting for service. I don't believe that waiting a few minutes for service is bad, but preventing a line-up is only good service.

The location of the hotel is convenient to downtown--within three to six blocks there are fast-food joints, small lunch spots, deli's with expresso and some full-service restaurants.

I think if management spends some time training their young staff to be service oriented, the hotel will rank higher in standing.

Room Tip: Stayed in main building and it was very quiet, even next to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The room was dirty, had cracks in the ceiling, the AC didn't work at all, and the staff was unpleasant. The condition and service of this hotel was appalling. For the same money, I moved to a lovely, clean hotel a few blocks east of the Red Lion.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize for the condition of your room and that the air-conditioned did not work. We certainly understand why that would have an effect on the quality of your stay and I would like to assure you that this will be addressed with both our engineering and housekeeping departments.

We strive to provide all our guests with the high quality of service that we maintain throughout all of our hotels. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

What a great place! Three nice outdoor swimming pools. Beautiful plants and grounds. Close to nice downtown area with good restaurants. Right next to the Yakima Convention Center, where I had 3 days of training. So convenient.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 191Lesstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yakima hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Yakima
Holiday Inn Yakima
#9 of 24 in Yakima
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yakima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oxford Suites Yakima
Oxford Suites Yakima
#1 of 24 in Yakima
789 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Yakima Hotel
0.7 mi away
Oxford Inn Yakima
Oxford Inn Yakima
#2 of 24 in Yakima
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center

Property: Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center
Address: 607 E Yakima Ave, Yakima, WA 98901-2548
Region: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center is located in downtown Yakima Washington, next door to the Yakima Convention Center. Located just minutes from Yakima Greenway, Yakima SunDome, Yakima Valley Community College, the Central Washington Fairgrounds, and only 6 miles from the Yakima Air Terminal and offer a free airport shuttle. Red Lion Hotel Yakima guest rooms provide quiet, comfortable accommodations to help you rest and unwind. Hotel amenities include free wi-fi, telephone, in-room coffee and plenty of Yakima sun at our two outdoor pools. Additionally, the Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center boasts easy access to several nearby business locations like the Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences, Yakima Regional HMA, Yakima Memorial Hospital, GE Aviation, Pacific Power, and Cascade Natural Gas. The Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, located near I-82 provides easy access to Yakima Valley's award winning Wineries, nestled in the foothills of the lower valley. Located near the Yakima River provides many opportunities to fish the only blue ribbon river in the state of Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Yakima Yakima
Red Lion Yakima
Yakima Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing