We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great visit with Shirley and Mark”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yakima
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Apple Country Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Yakima B&B and Inns
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Another great visit with Shirley and Mark”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

Once again we made our August trip to Yakima for peaches and stayed at the Apple Country B & B. This year we stayed in the main house having stayed in the cottage last time. Both accommodations were delightful. Even though it was a 97 degree day our room was cool and made for great sleeping. Breakfast was delicious as usual and Shirley sent us home with some peaches from the orchard. Thanks for making us feel at home.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    17
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
28
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Shirley & Mark are such great hosts. We've been to see them a couple of times over the years & it never disappoints. Located on the side of a hill overlooking the valley in a working apple orchard, it is just the most peaceful setting! The cottage in the middle of the orchard is where everybody wants to be, but we couldn't get in this last time, so we stayed in a small room in the main house. Although not as cozy as the orchard cottage, it was very comfy and plenty large, even tho they call it the small room. Breakfast is always yummy with fresh fruits and jams and Shirley's famous egg cups. Very affordable for the comfort it offers. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Orchard Cottage, if you can get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PtOrchardKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed here overnight during our weekend escape to Yakima and it was lovely! After a long day of vineyard-hopping, it was a joy to come meet Shirley at the B&B. She was just coming back from the market, so we waited on the porch in the swinging chair gazing out at some very ripe looking apple, pear, and peach trees - until we decided to go pick some.

We stayed in the smallest room and it was just right. The bed takes up most of the bedroom and there was just a little crack to squeeze into the bathroom, but the miniature living room we had was perfect. Right outside our own private entrance was a little area to sit in the shade and look at the orchard. Shirley gave great recommendations for food and other other wineries to visit as well.

We slept like logs too. And right on our little mini-porch we hung out before bed and counted all the stars.

There were a couple of friendly dogs wandering about too and they loved being petted.

Breakfast was phenomenal! We ate in this adorable little gazeebo that's covered in vines and it was a great 3-course meal lovingly made all that morning. AND there was a big pitcher of coffee waiting just for us on the mini-patio when we woke up!

Definitely recommended to anyone looking for a place to stay on an adventure in the Yakima area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveTheDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Apple Country B&B. We originally booked the "small" room and spent one night in it. It IS small but comfortable Mark & Shirley moved us to the upper floor since it was booked but the guests cancelled at the last minute. Sweet of them to do so! It was a much larger room and had great views of the surrounding area. I'd book that one if you have a choice. Breakfasts were good..place was very welcoming and comfortable. Mark and Shirley were wonderful hosts and provided us with dining info for the area. All in all a great stay in Yakima.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayteenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

We stayed in the garden cottage which is a beautifully restored fruitpickers cabin. Very quiet and peaceful surrounded by fruit orchards and beautiful gardens.
When we arrived we were made a pot of coffee and sat and chatted to the owner who couldn't have been more helpful or welcoming.
We spent a quiet and comfortable night and slept very well.
In the morning a pot of coffee was left for us outside and breakfast was served in the arbour in the sunshine.
Delightful B&B, we didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestUSATravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

Mark and Shirley were great hosts when we stayed there for a weekend to celebrate our anniversary. When we went upstairs, we discovered that Shirley had left us a bottle of sparkling apple cider and two flutes to celebrate with, which we thought was very thoughtful. Shirley offered to serve us breakfast inside or out on the gazebo, and since it was so lovely outside, we opted to eat outside both days. Her food was tasty, inventive, and well-presented. Mark was very helpful with advice about where to go and what to see while we were there. We had a great time while there and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeregrinTook09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2008

We have been to a handful of B&B's throughout the country and hands down, this is the best one! The owners, Mark and Shirley, are so warm and welcoming and make you feel you are part of the family. Mark even took the time to take us out on the golf cart through the apple orchards to pick 3 different types of apples and showed us the new grape harvest. It was an incredible experience! The room was cute and cozy with a great jet pool bath tub. The breakfast utilized their fresh grown pears and apples. It was delicious and the perfect sized portion. They were helpful in orienting us to the Yakima region. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TG2squared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yakima hotels
9.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Yakima
Oxford Suites Yakima
#1 of 24 in Yakima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yakima
8.6 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
#11 of 24 in Yakima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 24 in Yakima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
9.1 mi away
Oxford Inn Yakima
Oxford Inn Yakima
#2 of 24 in Yakima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
11.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Country Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Country Bed and Breakfast

Property: Apple Country Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4350 Old Naches Hwy, Yakima, WA 98908-8912
Region: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
APPLE COUNTRY INN, A quiet remodeled 1896 farm house and working ranch. Come and sit on a country-style porch, enjoy the afternoon breeze. Enjoy a luscious gourment breakfast while watching quail,pheasants & other wild birds ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing