We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, tasty breakfasts, nice host, but messy, dusty & cramped.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yakima
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Apple Country Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Yakima B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed in the smallest room/suite (it's located downstairs). It's the most affordable room at this B&B & likely the most affordable room among all the Bed & Breakfasts in Yakima Valley.

What went well:
Breakfast portions weren't large, but were filling & delicious. The lemon croissants & toast cups containing egg & cheese were unique & yummy!
Breakfast was served in the lovely gazebo during good weather & in the quaint living room during less ideal weather.
Shirley was friendly, courteous & helpful, & not overly chatty. Her husband, Mark, passed away a few months before our stay so she did the best she could single-handedly.
Shirley left us hot coffee & hot milk on a table outside the suite every morning.
The suite consisted of a bedroom, a reading/sitting room, & an en-suite bathroom.
The reading/sitting room was equipped with a fridge & a microwave oven.
Email replies were very prompt.
Walking among the fruit trees.

What could be improved:
The washroom contained only a bottle of soap. There was no shampoo.
When we requested for water, Shirley told us to use the tap from the washroom or from the kitchen. The tap in the washroom looked dirty - it had green stuff on it.
There was a table in the suite where there were dusty packets of sugar & a single dusty tea bag in a container.
Cupboards & shelves in the washroom & the suite contained (probably Mark’s & Shirley’s) items like robes, piles of dusty assorted magazines & books, dusty dried flowers, dusty mirrors, & used shaving brushes. We were prepared for a small room but the items made the suite even more cramped & it didn't feel comfortable.
Old, tired carpeting.
Dusty furniture (e.g. sofa, chairs).

Note to light sleepers: The night was peaceful & quiet but from 6am onwards, I was awakened by a popping sound that echoed around due to a neighbour using some equipment to scare birds away from his/her farm.

Room Tip: The smallest room/suite was the most affordable, its separate entrance, private sitting room & p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr-and-Mrs-2o1o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had a great experience at this B&B but the initial reaction was very negative. We stayed in the smallest room available. It was downstairs and was very cluttered. The bed was okay but it was too big for the room and had to be against the wall on one side. The room was a dissapointment.

Now, for the good stuff. The B&B is surrounded by apple orchards. The owner is a delightful person. The breakfast was exquisite. The price was right. If we were going to be near Yakima we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Probably do not want the downstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nvme_imretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We booked this B & B on the phone with no problems after checking a few places out online about a week to 10 days before we left home. We were on our way to Bend, Oregon so only stayed for one night but if we had more time we would have stayed longer. We deliberately booked this place because it was a little out of the city of Yakima and so we thought it would be quieter. We booked the king room as it was on the second floor and it had a lovely view over the valley and the orchards in the area. The bed and pillows were comfy and the room was huge. We arrived early evening and Shirley gave us recommendations for a quick dinner in town and then we relaxed in our room watching the thunder and lightening storm. There was no traffic noise and we had a great night's sleep.
Coffee was delivered outside our room in the morning which was lovely and it was delicious. We then wandered outside until breakfast was served in the gazebo. It also was delicious. We picked a few peaches for the road.
All in all we would highly recommend this B & B for a quiet, peaceful, and comfortable stay with a good, tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank visitor08Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Stopped for just one night passing through the area on our way to Idaho. It was great to be able to check in the late evening. Really enjoyed the ice tea @ check in - refreshing and tasty. We had a large room with a sitting area overlooking an orchard and territorial view which was very relaxing. Bed was comfortable and private bath most appreciated. Although we did not need it there is anther room in the same area of the house that would be great for a family traveling together - you would share the one bathroom ( we were told that room is only rented in conjunction with the room we had ).

Breakfast was good and plentiful.

The overall atmosphere was more like visiting your grandmother's house than going to a manor. Having said that I doubt my grandmother would have delivered morning coffee to my upstairs room so I could have fresh coffee when I woke up!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JZZJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This was my second stay at Apple Country B&B in Yakima. Though they have traditional rooms, for up to four people in each, I really like their "picker shack". They have converted a small building once used by apple pickers into a wonderful, cozy, antique-filled cottage. Apple Country's place sits right in their apple and pear groves a few miles east of downtown Yakima. I stayed three nights this time. The first two mornings I had time for one of their fabulous breakfasts. I had an early departure the last morning, so they delivered good hot coffee and continental breakfast to the door of my cottage. I know of no nicer place to stay when anywhere near Yakima.

Room Tip: Try to get the picker shack if you can, but all their rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The proprietors, especially Shirley, are warm and pleasant hosts. The highlight of my stay was definitely the wonderful breakfast. I also enjoyed our conversations as well. The night I was there I was the only guest, so they graciously upgraded me to the comfortable cottage behind the main property and let me pick some apples from there working apple orchard to take home. I highly recommend this home away from home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rjr0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Once again we made our August trip to Yakima for peaches and stayed at the Apple Country B & B. This year we stayed in the main house having stayed in the cottage last time. Both accommodations were delightful. Even though it was a 97 degree day our room was cool and made for great sleeping. Breakfast was delicious as usual and Shirley sent us home with some peaches from the orchard. Thanks for making us feel at home.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yakima hotels
9.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Yakima
Oxford Suites Yakima
#1 of 24 in Yakima
814 reviews
11.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Ahtanum Inn
8.6 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
#11 of 24 in Yakima
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Oxford Inn Yakima
Oxford Inn Yakima
#3 of 24 in Yakima
570 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yakima
5.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Yakima
Comfort Suites Yakima
#5 of 24 in Yakima
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Country Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Country Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4350 Old Naches Hwy, Yakima, WA 98908-8912
Region: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yakima
Price Range: £49 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
APPLE COUNTRY INN, A quiet remodeled 1896 farm house and working ranch. Come and sit on a country-style porch, enjoy the afternoon breeze. Enjoy a luscious gourment breakfast while watching quail,pheasants & other wild birds ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing