We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Portions and Good Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Mirador #2

El Mirador #2
Ranked #11 of 242 Restaurants in Yakima
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Big Portions and Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The El Mirador has a great atmosphere as well as good food and large portions. We ate there twice on our recent trip to Yakima. We sat and over looked the river both times. Service was good and a big choice of items on the menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gayle6769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    60
    22
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Single worst Mexican food we've had in the last 40 years anywhere in the US or Mexico”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I are frequent diners and travel a lot. The food at this Restuarant was the single worst Mexican fare we have had anywhere in the US or Mexico in the lady 40 + years. The shrimp fajitas were cooked in cheap vegetable oil with out a single herb or spice and the shrimp was past the cook date. Similarly a chicken chimichanga was filled with shredded chicken that had no seasonings with a very small portion of flavorless cheese. A sooggy chile relleno was smothered in this same cheese and otherwise had no noticeable flavor.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RonSeanbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food that isn't from a stand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The food here never fails to be delicious. The portions are large, and I usually end up eating nearly all to my surprise. The staff are friendly, and service is great. My brother and his family want to gather here, whenever they come in to town. We have nearly all staff lunches here, and take business associates when they come in. The restaurant is large, and can accommodate large groups. The Camarones a la Diabla are amazing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tysajayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremerton
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value and a convenient location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were staying next door at the Oxford Inn and decided to try this restaurant for our meal. My friend and I were very satisfied with the experience! The menue was extensive and moderately priced (9 to 15 dollar meals in general). The service was prompt, and we got what we ordered in a timely way. It was good to see that they hand pressed their tortillas (an employee was doing this in a booth as we walked in) The restaurant compares very favorably to the Azteca chain in Western Washington, but with a much bigger menu. Our particular server was quick and efficient; however, he could have been a little more personable - I didn't see him smile once.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinetop, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“LARGE Portions, average quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Although very large portions were served, it was only average quality food. Service was good, but could do with a menu makeover.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AZtwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to El Mirador #2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing