We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible disrespectful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I personally saw a staff member slam a door in a guest face and push children out of the way to stock items during breakfast. When complaints were made the the staff they insisted that we were causing the problems. I was mearly complaining about what I had witnessed and the staff got extreamly defensive. I was causing no problems and used the room only to sleep as I was out all day. The coffee maker did not work the breakfast is not up to normal Marriott standards in any way. The ice machine did not work the hall ways and lobby smelled of chloine, the elevator was very old and we were concerned that we were going to get stuck in it so we did not take it which was very inconvenient with our luggage. The quality is extreamly poor for the room size and lack of amnemities. I would advise staying else where and I will never return to this establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missbsbusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2011

I travel to Yakima 4 to 5 times a year and have started staying only at the Fairfield. The staff is nice (although the last 2 times the assistant manager has been a bit snotty).
ALSO...I always call a few weeks in advance to make a reservation- sometimes I have my wife call. EVERYTIME we always get a different room rate-This is very frustrating. So I have started the habit of calling 3 times to get a price then call a 4th time and let them know the lowest price I have been quoted from my previous calls.
I really like the breakfast offered and the breakfast lady is very friendly.
Really the only negative thing I can say is that they have TERRIBLE coffee.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunocday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth C, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Dear Sunocday,

Thank you for your comments and concerns. We take all comments into consideration. We have also updated the system in an effort to provide our guests with the best possible rate during booking. This process is also helped if you request Triple A or ARRP rates for our standard rooms. We are also looking at a few different options with our vendor regarding the coffee.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you during your next visit to Yakima.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

I'm an easy to please when I travel for business. This hotel was very clean, the check-in folks were extremely friendly, free WSJ and USA Today available at the front desk, and plenty of channels on the TV.
I was on business with the government and received a rate of $77/ night for a room with two double beds.
The beds were pretty good but the mattresses were more "foamy" than I am used to. I'm beginning to become a bit of a picky sleeper in my late 30's now, so my mattress did leave a little to be desired but adequate.
The TV was the old-style, non flat screened type which was fine with me.
Walls were a little thin to as my neighbor watched TV with the sound way up. Thank goodness they didn't stay up late.
Breakfast was a little wimpy compared to other hotels than seemed to offer more full-sized breakfasts but again was fine for me. I had a hot bowl of oatmeal with pecans and brown sugar. They had lots of options for warming up in a microwave (bagel sandwiches, quiche, etc.) and of course the typical cold cereal and juice.
For $77/night I thought it was a great place to stay and I would recommend to others traveling by themselves who are happy with a clean hotel offering all of the basics.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank outsideagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

I stayed at this hotel on an overnight visit for a business trip. This is the only Marriott-brand hotel in Yakima, and it was relatively new and very clean. Standard Fairfield Inn decor, and the room was very clean and comfortable. It was a hot day in Yakima (102-deg) and the air conditioner unit worked great. The wired and wireless internet speed were somewhat slow (less than 1 MBbit/sec).

Very quiet location, with an Officemax located across the street. Just 25 yards away from the hotel was a Bob's Burgers and Brew restaurant which was convenient.

Also, this is a "Pet-friendly" hotel which had me worried, but my room didn't smell bad nor did it have the overly perfumed deodorizer.

I would certainly stay in this hotel again while in Yakima. The only negative, was that the bed was a bit firm for my taste (I woke up with a stiff back). Otherwise, a good hotel which I can recommend to other travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cohoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Overall - very clean room. Waited about 5 minutes to be checked in as the clerk was elsewhere getting some coffee it appeared. Fresh cookies at 7pm in the lobby which is a nice treat. Location in Yakima is away from things - car would be needed. There is a restaurant across the parking lot - Bob's Brews and Burgers...must be new within the past couple of years.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mindzipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

I stayed at this hotel for work like I have at what seems a hundred other Marriotts around the country. Staff was friendly and the hotel was clean. The thing that really shocked me, however, was that this Marriott has decided not to be in the pornography distribution business. Marriott is very aggressive with the pornography arm of their business, and if you've stayed at one you are familiar with the adult entertainment icon of a woman's lips against a skin tone backdrop and a promise to mask the order on the bill to help customers avoid the shame. I could hardly believe it when I turned on the TV and it was missing. I would bring my family here and not worry about having to ask them to shut the porn off at the desk or navigate the hoops they ask you to jump using the remote - very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dadsthoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

My hubby and I took a little spring fever vacation to Yakima in April '09. Our two kids are old enough now to enjoy the spirit of travel, so we decided to stay in Yakima and explore the surrounding area.

Check in was quick, courteous and made us feel relaxed and comfortable after our 3 hour drive from Seattle. Everytime we had to interact with the front desk it was a polite and warm exprience.

The hotel itself is a bit of a drive from "downtown" Yakima. We didn't mind, everything was a quick recommendation and a short drive. Our room was small but new, clean, comfortable. We were fine for two nights but any longer might have felt cramped with the four of us. Our fat old dog was even in there with us, but we were cozy and didn't spend time in the room.
We had a view of a warehouse from or window and part of a hill, which actually wasn't bad for gazing. There were large tumbleweeds blown up against the fence that surrounded the warehouse and there was a stretch of
pretty desert prarie to the west.
The kids had been promised pool time so we did that before heading out to dinner. Our only issue was with the chemicals in the pool-we told the front desk and they seemed puzzled but said they would look into it.
Breakfast is free during certain hours and was full of people when we got there ( the hotel seemed pretty full) but some people who were lingering got up when they saw us come
in. Like I said the room was full but it was pleasant. There was living room area where people were chatting, reading and watching the news. The breakfast attendant was busy refilling everything but was extremely cheerful and helped me get a spoon for my darn cereal. There were some Jimmy Dean braleakfast sandwiches, a waffle iron with a batter squirting doohicky, which was fun, fruit, coffee juice and cereals, all self serve. There was
othe stuff I can't remember. For what we paid, a free breakfast was awesome and we were fed and happy till lunch (gigantic hamburgers from a interesting local fast food restaurant but that's another review).
Our experience was a fresh, new, courteous and affordable place so exactly right for us.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funnfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yakima hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yakima
0.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Yakima
Oxford Suites Yakima
#1 of 24 in Yakima
809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
#11 of 24 in Yakima
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Oxford Inn Yakima
Oxford Inn Yakima
#3 of 24 in Yakima
569 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Yakima
Holiday Inn Yakima
#8 of 24 in Yakima
190 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Yakima
Comfort Suites Yakima
#5 of 24 in Yakima
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima

Address: 137 N Fair Ave, Yakima, WA 98901-4514
Region: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Yakima
Price Range: £108 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mobile check-in is now live! We finished renovating the entire hotel in Nov. 2013. Located just west of exit 33A, on I-82, we are close to the convention center (27 seconds), wineries and the valley mall. "Get Air" (trampoline park)is right behind us! The Sundome is only 2 minutes away. Shopping and places to eat are within walking distance and we are located near downtown. Corporate/family travelers and teams have the advantage of getting to their destinations quickly and easily.Experience the difference while in Yakima! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima Hotel Yakima
Fairfield Inn And Suites Yakima
Fairfield Inn Yakima
Fairfield Yakima
Fairfield Inn Hotel Yakima
Yakima Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing