We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Beckley
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here on Saturday of bridge weekend - checked in in the rain after a 12 hour drive and very tired. Rate for the night was atrocious, apparently rates 'bumped up' due to the Bridge event - with tax $169 for standard room. Very old and not up to standard. Bathroom very cramped, lighting poor and beds not great. After such a long day in the car, we did not want to go out to a restaurant, particularly in the rain and looked for restaurant info, particularly those that delivered - a list was provided in the room info, but no information. Upon enquiring at the desk, they gave me another 'list' of restaurants that delivered with just the name and number, no information - we ended up eating crackers and cheese for dinner that we had from the car. No refrigerators, no microwaves etc. etc. One of our keys did not work, and when we checked at the desk, they re-programmed the key to work - unfortunately our other key then wouldn't work - too tired to return to have it re-programmed. The luggage carts need maintenance - very noisy to move down the hallways, and we felt we may have disturbed other guests with the noise since we left very early the next morning. We have been HHonors members for years and look for Hampton as a first choice on our trips. We will not be doing so again, as we feel we were 'burned' on the rate, for a very sub-standard facility.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    142
    104
    34
    13
See reviews for
190
178
35
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Of all the chain hotels I have stayed at, this Hampton Inn is one of the best. The rooms are spacious and have a moveable desk, internet access, etc. I love coming to Beckley because I know I have a great hotel to look forward to.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, Kentucky
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were there for the Bridge Day weekend and to visit Tamarack. The hotel is very well located for both. Our room was right off the lobby, next to the fitness center. I was afraid we would get a lot of noise, but did not at all. No refrigerator or microwave in the room. The breakfast was good, but the breakfast room is not large enough and was very crowded.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler3795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweetser, Indiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Our room was nice and clean, heating/ac unit was pretty noisy. We had a room at the end of the hallway so not much hallway noise. Room is a little pricey, don't know if it was because of Bridge Day weekend or not. Would be nice if there was at least a fridge in the room. our room and one is quite Breakfast area was not well stocked and not many people in the area while we were there and all the seating areas were in need of cleaning. Close to lots of choices for food and seeing sights in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms away from elevators and at the end of the hall are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sykesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Not all you would expect of a Hampton Inn. A somewhat older and dated property that has been somewhat spruced up to look newer than it is. The sound between the rooms and from the hallway is very loud and will likely keep you/wake you up if the hotel is at all busy. The heating/AC is the old style loud and noisy unit with no wall control. And, the rate at this hotel is much higher than seems warranted for the area.

The breakfast seating area is very inadequate and cramped and we were forced to take food back to our room as there was no seating available. The hotel was full and very busy as it was Bridge Day weekend. We found the breakfast selections to be poorly stocked and the "hot" selections mostly cold. The breakfast area was dirty and poorly maintained. Even the trash bins right outside the main door were overflowing and spilling on to the ground.

The elevator floors were very dirty as were the hallways, at least on the second floor.
The area is very very busy with lots of traffic and very noisy all night long. Probably would not stay here again as there are many other choices in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the elevator area on the floor and plan to have a very noisy night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beefdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellow Springs, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Pretty typical for a Hampton Inn. Room was nicely furnished and very comfortable. Breakfast bar area is way to small with large crowds gathered backing into tables while we were trying to eat. There were no eggs and the toaster was slow to toast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
209 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Considering how far North Beckley is you would expect the Hampton to have an indoor pool. No such luck. Staff was great, room clean and breakfast acceptable. Not much close to eat at. Bob Evans was the best option. Only eat once at the steak house next door. Lousy would be a complement.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disgusted012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beckley hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
3.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Beckley
Courtyard Beckley
#5 of 14 in Beckley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Beckley

Property: Hampton Inn Beckley
Address: 110 Harper Park Dr, Beckley, WV 25801-2660
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Beckley
#5 Business Hotel in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Beckley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for an outdoor adventure, but with the comforts of home, the Hampton Inn Beckley is the perfect place to rest your head at night. Just minutes from whitewater rafting, skiing, zip lining and more, this conveniently located hotel near I-77 and I-64 is the perfect base camp for your West Virginia, outdoor excursions. Enjoy a clean and fresh Hampton bed® each night of your stay along with a free, hot breakfast each morning, high-speed internet, fitness center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Beckley Hotel Beckley
Beckley Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing