We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Virginia’s Best Kept Secret”
Review of The Ambrosia Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beckley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ambrosia Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Beckley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Ambrosia Inn for two nights. It was our first bed and breakfast so we didn’t know what to expect but we were delightfully surprised. We stayed in the Sage Blossom Suite which was very spacious. It had a bathroom (tub and shower included) inside the suite. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud, our bodies molded to the bed. The real treat was breakfast in the morning. This was breakfast for kings (and Queens). Tea, biscuits, muffins and fruit on fine china; eggs of our choosing with potatoes, carrots, avocado, toast with homemade jam. We are “foodies” and this was by far the best meal we’ve ever had.

The Inn was very clean, and safe. There are only three rooms so it never feels too crowded and Chef Swansan Galal was very hospitable.

We enjoyed talking with Chef Swansan she even had great recommendations for lunch in the area. She did a great job of hosting, there were chocolates, beverages and even a coffee/tea maker upstairs near the bedrooms for our connivence. If anything this trip felt more like we were in the comfort of our own home than at a hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the Sage Blossom Suite, it’s the most spacious room and the bathroom and room are combined f...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for The Ambrosia Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

The smell of fresh baked goodies in the morning and coffee is the incentive to to leave the comfort and peacefulness of your room at the Ambrosia. It is also a pleasure to sit and talk with Chef Sawsan , the owner of the Inn. The old victorian house is beautifully situated on an elevated level of the town , allowing for a beautiful view of Beckley.
If you enjoy cats, Sawsan has several friendly cats . If cats are not your thing , they will usually do their own thing and leave you alone. Apart from Sawsan and her hospitality , they were my favorite part of the trip.
The food is exquisite, the Inn is impeccably clean, very peaceful, the hostess is friendly and does her best to make sure that her guest enjoy their stay to the utmost.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. If you prefer private bath, reserve the Sage Blossom Room. For the other tw...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank normandy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were looking for an overnight on a long road trip from MI to NC. I'd been past Beckley several times and started trolling TA for a likely spot. It's rare to see 100%-five-star reviews, but I believed them and am happy I did. The Ambrosia is everything it's reviews suggest.

I wasn't too hopeful after cruising by several strip malls, Wal-Mart, countless fast-food franchises, and a few No-Tell Motel establishments. But once on Kanawha street, it took only a few blocks to reach the Ambrosia, an imposing and well-kept manse on a hillside of well-kept grounds. We knocked on the door marked "entrance" and were greeted by Sawsan, the proprietress. She gave us a welcoming tour and showed us to our room. We reserved the suite because of the private bath, but the room itself is enormous as is the bath. There are a number of cozy sitting rooms to allow you to seek or avoid company as you like.

The food is a highlight of the stay as Sawsan is a gourmet cook in her own right. Insider tip: Sawsan is also a gourmet middle-eastern cook, as I learned by speaking a few words of broken Arabic with her. So if you want to try some foul-madamas and falafel for breakfast, Egypt-style, she can accommodate.

There are the usual amenities of self-serve coffee/tea service, a fridge, and good free wi-fi. We loved having the house cats around. In short, I can't recommend Ambrosia highly enough.

Room Tip: If the suite is available, the extra $25 is well worth it.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco20009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We called at the last minute, but could've sworn our stay had been planned for days. The beautiful suite was warm and comfortable. The guest living room was equipped with a generously stocked Keurig center, extremely comfortable sofa and big screen TV. The breakfast was wonderful, but our gracious hostess topped everything when she packed a to-go bag of the best coffee cake muffins in the world and a jar of homemade pepper jelly. Thanks, Sawson, they hit the spot as dessert later that night and breakfast the next morning!

Karen and Brian

Room Tip: The Sage Blossom Suite has a private bath.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

What a wonderful stay with a gracious host!!!!!! Chef Sawsan is an excellent chef....we asked to try her Egyptian Breakfast and the next morning, we were served an authentic Egyptian meal!! What a surprise....We recommend the Ambrosia Inn to everyone...Beautiful home, gracious host and, great location for the activities too!! You will not be disappointed...

Room Tip: The Sage Blossum Room is Beautiful.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful 3 days at the Ambrosia Inn. Sawsan Galal was the consummate host, initially assisting in our vacation plans but later when I became ill, giving me an herbal tea remedy to settle my stomach. Thank you for your care.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a large suite which was magnificent.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 894MCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This location was perfect for an annual weekend getaway for four longtime girlfriends. Our hostess provided impeccable service in the most luxurious of accommodations. Perhaps the only thing that could top this B&B's beautiful yet comfortable decor and historic charm is its friendly owner's culinary expertise. Never have we enjoyed a better breakfast. Chef Sawsan Galal's made-to-order farm fresh eggs, fresh fruit, homemade jams, jellies and breads, pancakes with balsamic fruit topping, and her delicious percolated or french-pressed coffee made us feel like royalty. The location is only minutes from outdoor adventure, so our delicious breakfast fueled us for a wonderful guided climb in the nearby New River Gorge. When we were ready to relax, The Ambrosia's indoor and outdoor common spaces were exactly what we needed for quality girl time. One of our party was slightly apprehensive when we learned the B&B is home to a couple of cats. She has a cat allergy, so she brought plenty of medication. She never needed to take it! The Ambrosia Inn's lovely hardwood floors and extreme cleanliness, combined with the fact that the cats are prohibited from the bedrooms, eliminated any need for concern. Overall, our best annual girlfriend getaway ever!

Room Tip: Our party used the two smaller rooms on the second floor. Both rooms were comfortable, quiet, and be...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank audrey353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beckley
1.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Beckley
Hampton Inn Beckley
#2 of 14 in Beckley
545 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Resort at Glade Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambrosia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrosia Inn

Address: 611 N Kanawha St, Beckley, WV 25801-3818
Region: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Beckley
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing