We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night. Everything was very clean and nice. The pool was a little cool and the hot tub was a little hot. The complimentary coffee was good. We booked with Hotwire and got a very good rate. Would most definitely stay again if the opportunity arose.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank kirkpa19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was our first stay at this property (and probably our last) while visiting our daughter at college in the area. We have stayed at several hotel properties in the area in the last 18 months during regular 2-3 day visits.

First, I want to be clear that this is a very nice, clean and up to date property. Our room (4th Floor Queen Suite) was spotless, large, very comfortable and well-appointed and even had a large window that actually opened wide so we could enjoy some actual fresh air!

But, I also want to mention a couple negatives. First, the designated "smoking area" seems to be on either side of the main front doors. This was just disgusting. Every time you entered or left the hotel you literally walked through billows of nasty smoke, so much that our clothes reeked of smoke after our first day. And, the wind carried the smoke well into the hotel lobby. This needs to change.

The second negative is that this hotel does not offer the usual Holiday Inn Express complementary breakfast. They have an in-property restaurant that they push you toward much like the Hilton Garden Inn properties. We were not aware of this issue before checking in and given that the rate was higher than most every similar property in the area, we were taken aback by the lack of the free breakfast option. In fairness, as a Platinum member, I was offered a complementary breakfast for 2 on the fist day of our stay. So, we tried the restaurant the next morning and that was a complete disaster. The service was absolutely terrible and the food was bland, cold and very slow to arrive. Glad we did not waste our own money on that experience.

Finally, I want to say again that our room was very clean, the front desk staff was very nice and very helpful and the housekeeping folks were very accommodating to a couple special requests. But, at the end of the day, given the higher rates, the lack of breakfast and the abundant choices of similar hotels in the area, we will probably stay somewhere else on our next trip to Beckley.

Room Tip: If you want quiet sleep, ask for a room on the rear of the hotel, not in the front, facing the VERY...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beefdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear beefdoctor,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and for leaving us a feedback. We are glad you liked the room accommodations you received. Please allow us to apologize you were not satisfied with the food options we offer and the service you received in our hotel restaurant. We also apologize for the challenges you had in our designated smoking area. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

3 families met here for a night and loved it because we all had the chance to gather in the lobby that had large tv so we could watch basketball games until midnight All the staff were very friendly and helpful so if you need a place to stay in the area you would be happy with this choice

Room Tip: Nice indoor pool for the kids to burn energy after being in the car all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wallycoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites on our way down to NC. We arrived late after a long day of driving. The staff were welcoming and quickly checked us in. The room was clean and the bed linens fresh. For us it was the perfect stop to break up our long drive. The night was uneventful. For our needs it was perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Sharon D,

Thank you for the great review of our property and for choosing Holiday Inn & Suites Beckley. I am very proud of our hotel and staff for their attentiveness and attention to detail. We love our guests and hope you can make it back this way soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This hotel was extremely clean and comfortable. We ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. While the food choices were limited, the server was very pleasant and attentive. The hotel pool was ok. We would stay here again when travelling through Beckley.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We spent one night at this Holiday Inn in mid-March, 2014. It was clean and neat, the hotel staff were very warm and helpful, and the rooms were nicely appointed. We were tired after a long day, so opted to eat in the hotel restaurant, Kem's. It has a very limited menu, but the food was quite tasty and was fine for us. The only drawback of the stay were the beds. The mattresses were so hard that we were miserable all night. Perhaps this was limited to just the room we occupied, and perhaps the beds will relax over time. But it really did make the stay a unpleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDocPGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My family stays in this hotel once a year on our trip to South Carolina. The hotel is super-clean, right off the highway, and has both a great restaurant and a big pool for the kids. It is more money than many of the Beckley hotels but you get what you pay for!

The restaurant is great for a travellers hotel and the kids eat free. The pool is big, clean, and has a big hot tub right beside it.

We'll be back next year.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms in the place. Feel good about any room they give you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marriedin03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beckley hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Beckley
Hampton Inn Beckley
#2 of 14 in Beckley
576 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Beckley
Courtyard Beckley
#5 of 14 in Beckley
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beckley
Comfort Inn Beckley
#7 of 14 in Beckley
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley

Address: 114 Dry Hill Rd, Beckley, WV 25801-2604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Beckley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beckley
#2 Family Hotel in Beckley
Price Range: £82 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Beckley WV Hotel Welcomes you to a WV Vacation Paradise Discover the wild beauty and storied history of southern West Virginia when you stay at the smoke free Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites in Beckley WV. Ideally located off I-77 our Beckley hotel is close to the area's major attractions and businesses. Families enjoy our location because it provides easy access for their WV vacation. The Exhibition Coal Mine and Coal Heritage Trail are both nearby and offer a glimpse of West Virginia's coal mining past. The Tamarack is just a mile from our hotel. West Virginia also boasts the best world-class white-water rafting in the eastern US. After a day on New River's Class III-V rapids you'll be thankful for a Beckley hotel with a hot tub. Our indoor pool features an ADA-accessible lift; just another one of our Beckley hotel's thoughtful amenities. Business guests know that lodging in our Beckley hotel means convenient access to the adjacent Mountaineer Conference Center as well as the I.R.S. and Federal Court. Free high-speed Internet access and a business center make it easy to do business while on the road. We also offer 1150 sq. ft. of meeting space with conference and catering services. When you're looking for lodging in Beckley, think of Holiday Inn. As a family friendly hotel we feature a game room and a full-service restaurant where kids under 12 eat for free. Book your reservations for a WV vacation. Relax it's Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Beckley
Holiday Inn Beckley
Beckley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel Beckley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing