We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to sit out the storm "Titan"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good place to sit out the storm "Titan"”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Heading home from FL to MI we decided Beckley would be a good place & we were right. We stayed 2 nights. The staff were very helpful, lending me a broom to help clean my car and allowing me to salt around it. The room was comfy and we spent a relaxing day before resuming our trip.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a microwave and fridge so we could stop to pick up things for breakfast since t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    151
    63
    12
    13
See reviews for
192
104
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Best bet in beckley - nice pool, clean rooms - better than expected. Free coffee is nice and strong - glad we stopped here. Don't miss the coal exhibition if you are traveling with kids- great staff and a nice pit stop on an are we there yet road trip

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emstein2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times and overall liked the hotel but had a poor experience in the restaurant (especially during breakfast). I am pleased to say that I was served quickly and efficiently. The food was good and my needs were met.

The hotel continues to be clean with comfortable rooms. It is very conveniently located near the back entrance to the Tamarack. I recommend it highly for travelers who will be staying in the Beckley area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidicphq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I chose this hotel because research showed it was in the nicest area with the most restaurants and amenities close to Winterplace Ski Resort. Rooms and common areas were clean and up to date, spacious, and comfortable. The pool and hot tub area were very nice, largest hot tub I've seen! Staff members were friendly, courteous, and professional. The "Gas Card" package is the way to go!!! I paid approximately $5 more/night for the room, but got $50 in Shell gift cards, which more than covered our fuel for the entire trip. There are lots of restaurants, a nice supermarket, and Tamarack, one of West Virginia's treasures, all on the same exit as this hotel, excellent location. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadene98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Just recently stayed at this location. I was very pleased with this hotel. The hotel was very clean, large spacious rooms, friendly staff, safe area, looks brand new, what more could you ask for? I would highly recommend this location. We did not eat at the restaurant, so I can't comment on that. Room service is offered and there was a menu in the room but we chose to eat elsewhere. There are a lot of eating choices to choose from in this area so that wasn't an issue. We typically stay at HI Express which offers a nice complimentary breakfast, but since there wasn't one in the area, we stayed here. Can't say we were disappointed, it was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OC_Travelers_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deckerville, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night. Everything was very clean and nice. The pool was a little cool and the hot tub was a little hot. The complimentary coffee was good. We booked with Hotwire and got a very good rate. Would most definitely stay again if the opportunity arose.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kirkpa19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sykesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was our first stay at this property (and probably our last) while visiting our daughter at college in the area. We have stayed at several hotel properties in the area in the last 18 months during regular 2-3 day visits.

First, I want to be clear that this is a very nice, clean and up to date property. Our room (4th Floor Queen Suite) was spotless, large, very comfortable and well-appointed and even had a large window that actually opened wide so we could enjoy some actual fresh air!

But, I also want to mention a couple negatives. First, the designated "smoking area" seems to be on either side of the main front doors. This was just disgusting. Every time you entered or left the hotel you literally walked through billows of nasty smoke, so much that our clothes reeked of smoke after our first day. And, the wind carried the smoke well into the hotel lobby. This needs to change.

The second negative is that this hotel does not offer the usual Holiday Inn Express complementary breakfast. They have an in-property restaurant that they push you toward much like the Hilton Garden Inn properties. We were not aware of this issue before checking in and given that the rate was higher than most every similar property in the area, we were taken aback by the lack of the free breakfast option. In fairness, as a Platinum member, I was offered a complementary breakfast for 2 on the fist day of our stay. So, we tried the restaurant the next morning and that was a complete disaster. The service was absolutely terrible and the food was bland, cold and very slow to arrive. Glad we did not waste our own money on that experience.

Finally, I want to say again that our room was very clean, the front desk staff was very nice and very helpful and the housekeeping folks were very accommodating to a couple special requests. But, at the end of the day, given the higher rates, the lack of breakfast and the abundant choices of similar hotels in the area, we will probably stay somewhere else on our next trip to Beckley.

Room Tip: If you want quiet sleep, ask for a room on the rear of the hotel, not in the front, facing the VERY...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beefdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear beefdoctor,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and for leaving us a feedback. We are glad you liked the room accommodations you received. Please allow us to apologize you were not satisfied with the food options we offer and the service you received in our hotel restaurant. We also apologize for the challenges you had in our designated smoking area. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beckley hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Beckley
Courtyard Beckley
#5 of 14 in Beckley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Beckley
Hampton Inn Beckley
#3 of 14 in Beckley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
Address: 114 Dry Hill Rd, Beckley, WV 25801-2604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Beckley
#2 Family Hotel in Beckley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Beckley WV Hotel Welcomes you to a WV Vacation Paradise Discover the wild beauty and storied history of southern West Virginia when you stay at the smoke free Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites in Beckley WV. Ideally located off I-77 our Beckley hotel is close to the area's major attractions and businesses. Families enjoy our location because it provides easy access for their WV vacation. The Exhibition Coal Mine and Coal Heritage Trail are both nearby and offer a glimpse of West Virginia's coal mining past. The Tamarack is just a mile from our hotel. West Virginia also boasts the best world-class white-water rafting in the eastern US. After a day on New River's Class III-V rapids you'll be thankful for a Beckley hotel with a hot tub. Our indoor pool features an ADA-accessible lift; just another one of our Beckley hotel's thoughtful amenities. Business guests know that lodging in our Beckley hotel means convenient access to the adjacent Mountaineer Conference Center as well as the I.R.S. and Federal Court. Free high-speed Internet access and a business center make it easy to do business while on the road. We also offer 1150 sq. ft. of meeting space with conference and catering services. When you're looking for lodging in Beckley, think of Holiday Inn. As a family friendly hotel we feature a game room and a full-service restaurant where kids under 12 eat for free. Book your reservations for a WV vacation. Relax it's Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Beckley
Holiday Inn Beckley
Beckley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel Beckley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing