We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Experience!!!”
Review of Highlawn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highlawn Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2007

I would recommend the Highlawn Inn to anyone who is looking for a vacation that is relaxing, enjoyable and makes you feel like you are getting away from your usual daily grind. From the beautiful rooms, comfy beds, great views and most important a wonderfully friendly innkeeper you can't go wrong with booking a room at the Highlawn Inn! And it is less than 2 hours outside of DC for all of you who need a quick break!

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank ktkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2007

I booked the Winter Weekday Special with a friend and it was the most relaxing two days that I have had in a long time. Sandy is very accommodating and her breakfasts are very yummy and special. I would recommend the Highlawn Inn anytime of the year. The Winter Weekday Special is good through March and I highly recommend booking as soon as you can. The special includes dinner at Tari’s and a steam and a massage at the Atasia’s spa. We also took a hike at Cacapon State Park, where we saw a heard of whitetail deer!

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank DEhlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2007

The Highlawn Inn in Berkeley Springs, WV advertises elegance and relaxation, and that's exactly what customers get!
They have an absolutely wonderful winter getaway package that is not only affordable, but perfect for a couple looking for a quiet getaway from city life. Berkeley Springs is only about a 2 1/2 hour drive from DC and has enough mountains to make you feel like you're somewhere else.
Sandra Kauffman, the manager and owner of Highlawn Inn prepares the most delectible breakfasts, and i hear that if you stay during the weekend, there are full silver service victorian style dinners! The entire inn, which consists of three seperate buildings, including the huge main house, is all done up in Victorian decor, and has a wonderfully antique, yet modern touch.
The room we stayed in was the parlor room in Aunt Pearl's House. The room was beautiful, and had a whirlpool with loveley lace curtains in front and a stained glass window behind.
The whole experience was well worth it and very memorable!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank collegeworkinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2007

Spent a lovely, romantic weekend in the Lover's Loft. A cute suite, but best for those under 6 feet tall. Took advantage of a package deal of 2 nites and a 7 course dinner on Saturday. All meals were wonderful and the special dinner was exceptional. Nice ambiance; friendly staff; easy location near the spas; would definitely stay there again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bellini5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2007

This was my first experience staying at a Bed and Breakfast and I have been sold. This facility was excellent. The room was clean and beautifully designed. The breakfast food was excellent. I woke up to the smell of a home cooked meal. The owners who are Sandy and Jim were the best host and hostee. They made us feel at home. They offered snacks, tea and/or coffee at any time of the day or night, you had your own private bathroom in each room, the landscape was unique and beautiful. I will visit again and again!

Please share this informationwith other travelers who are looking for a good,comfortable and clean place to stay while visiting this area.

Treva and Ernest Boney

Stayed: January 2007
1  Thank tboney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2006

This was our second visit to Highlawn and will not be our last. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This time we stayed in a different room (The Parlor) and find that it was just as nice as the one we had chosen before (The Garden). It is very clean and neat with a homey feel that you will not find in a hotel. Sandy, one of the owners, is very sweet and will do anything to make your stay enjoyable. She has recommended several restaurants for us within the town and each one has been very good. This time we were at Highlawn during one of their dinner weekends. It was the Victorian Christmas dinner and it was just wonderful. Sandy tried to make it as authentic as possible by using recipes from that era. Her breakfasts each morning are quite good and if you do not get enough to eat it is your own fault. We always leave each day for our excursions so full from breakfast that we need to walk it off. Sandy will also recommend different places in town for you to see if you ask. We have followed each of her recommendations and have always had a great time. We would recommend Highlawn Inn to anyone wanting a quite and quaint place to stay in Berkeley Springs. Also, Highlawn is right downtown so if you want to walk to the shops or dinner you can.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank volsr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2006

Highlawn Inn was a cozy and relaxing place to stay. The innkeeper and staff were very friendly, and the breakfast was amazing! I was especially impressed with the large vegetarian selection for breakfast. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Queenofbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
201 reviews
9.1 mi away
Cacapon Resort State Park
Cacapon Resort State Park
#3 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
172 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Berkeley Springs Inn
Best Western Berkeley Springs In...
#1 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maria's Garden and Inn
Maria's Garden and Inn
#10 of 11 in Berkeley Springs
45 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Highlawn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlawn Inn

Address: 171 Market St, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411-3470
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Berkeley Springs
Price Range: £83 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten room Victorian Inn in three separate buildings. All rooms have private baths some with double whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing