We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place”
Review of Highlawn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highlawn Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2007

This was our 2nd visit.. We stayed in the Garden room which has it's own private porch. The Inkeeper - Sandy- is a treasure! She and all the staff with whom we interacted went out of their way to make you feel special.

The breakfast is a delight!!!!

A MUST is a Saturday night dinner!!!! it was a special evening of great food and wine!

I would have preferred that the bed had been a little softer.....

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 6corvette7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2007

My wife & I stayed at the Highlawn Inn from March 24th to March 26th. Sandy and her staff could not be friendlier. We stayed in the parlor room which was nice. We enjoyed the whirlpool tub in the room. The breakfasts were very good. Overall, I would definitely recommend this place to stay while you visit Berkely Springs.

I would highly recommend the restaurant Panorama at the Peaks for both excellent foos and great service. Don't let the outside fool you. We also ate at a couple of the restaurants downtown (steak & sea is one) and the other escapes ne but begins with a T. They were both great and reasonably priced.

The roman baths were fun and very reasonable. We got the bath and 90 massage package at the Bathhouse and although it was ok, was not anything truly memorable. The staff seemed confused most of the time.

Anyway, Berkely Springs is a great little town and the Highlawn Inn is a very nice place to stay.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelersK&W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2007

My wife and I just returned to Highlawn Inn to celebrate our wedding anniversary and as always we had a relaxing and enchanting time there. We have been "getting away" at the wonderful Highlawn Inn at Berkely Springs for 8 years now, so it has become a sort of home away from home for us. Highlawn's warm and inviting ambiance is made all the more welcoming by its Innkeeper, Sandy Kaufman. At Highlawn you will be well taken care of by Sandy and all other staff. If you need something, just ask, and they will find a way to make it happen. The rooms are generally lovely, each one unique and appointed with charming antique furniture and knick knacks. The rooms range from the simply charming to quite luxurious. We have stayed now several times in the Carriage House, a large and appealing space above what was originally the carriage house for the large boarding house that is now the main building for HIghlawn Inn. It has a large jetted tub (big enough for 2!), a separate shower, small refrigerator, a TV with VCR and DVD's stocked with a small collection of films, and even a bookshelf loaded with classics. Some other rooms have whirlpool tubs which should be de riguer in Berkeley Springs.

Prices here are relatively inexpensive, especially to those of us who travel on business and pleasure to major cities. Even the carriage house room, which is one of the more expensive rooms, is a bargain, by any rational comparison. Oh and I must mention Sandy's gourmet breakfasts. They are always astounding in some way or another. Prepare to meet the day with a full belly. Typically, there's no need for lunch. If you plan ahead, you might even be a guest during one of her rare dinners (check their website for dates).

Berkeley Springs itself is a quaint little hamlet with a thriving arts community, a few good restaurants (most notable are Lot 12 Public House and Tari's), spas and a growing number of unique and ecletic shops.It is of course famous for its healing waters ever since the springs were discovered (at least supposedly) by George Washington, so a trip there is not complete without a trip to the Roman Baths. But the entire water system is supplied by the spring water, so even a room with a jetted tub is a great idea.

The theme of Berkeley Springs is healing and generally, that is how I feel when I return from there. Highlawn itself is an extension of that asthetic. It is a place of peace, serenity, and comfort. After a few minutes sitting on the porch swing or strolling the lovingly tended herb gardens on the property, your problems and stresses will begin to fade into memory.

Like most B&B properties, Highlawn is not a really place for small children, but is the perfect place for short (or long!) getaways with friends, adult family or significant others. About 2 hours from DC and Baltimore on one side and Pittsburg on the other. I highly recommend it to anyone who might enjoy the sensibilities of Berkeley Springs.Highlawn Inn is a truly special place.

Stayed: March 2007
6  Thank adorfmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2007

I would recommend the Highlawn Inn to anyone who is looking for a vacation that is relaxing, enjoyable and makes you feel like you are getting away from your usual daily grind. From the beautiful rooms, comfy beds, great views and most important a wonderfully friendly innkeeper you can't go wrong with booking a room at the Highlawn Inn! And it is less than 2 hours outside of DC for all of you who need a quick break!

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank ktkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2007

I booked the Winter Weekday Special with a friend and it was the most relaxing two days that I have had in a long time. Sandy is very accommodating and her breakfasts are very yummy and special. I would recommend the Highlawn Inn anytime of the year. The Winter Weekday Special is good through March and I highly recommend booking as soon as you can. The special includes dinner at Tari’s and a steam and a massage at the Atasia’s spa. We also took a hike at Cacapon State Park, where we saw a heard of whitetail deer!

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank DEhlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2007

The Highlawn Inn in Berkeley Springs, WV advertises elegance and relaxation, and that's exactly what customers get!
They have an absolutely wonderful winter getaway package that is not only affordable, but perfect for a couple looking for a quiet getaway from city life. Berkeley Springs is only about a 2 1/2 hour drive from DC and has enough mountains to make you feel like you're somewhere else.
Sandra Kauffman, the manager and owner of Highlawn Inn prepares the most delectible breakfasts, and i hear that if you stay during the weekend, there are full silver service victorian style dinners! The entire inn, which consists of three seperate buildings, including the huge main house, is all done up in Victorian decor, and has a wonderfully antique, yet modern touch.
The room we stayed in was the parlor room in Aunt Pearl's House. The room was beautiful, and had a whirlpool with loveley lace curtains in front and a stained glass window behind.
The whole experience was well worth it and very memorable!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank collegeworkinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2007

Spent a lovely, romantic weekend in the Lover's Loft. A cute suite, but best for those under 6 feet tall. Took advantage of a package deal of 2 nites and a 7 course dinner on Saturday. All meals were wonderful and the special dinner was exceptional. Nice ambiance; friendly staff; easy location near the spas; would definitely stay there again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bellini5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
201 reviews
9.1 mi away
Cacapon Resort State Park
Cacapon Resort State Park
#3 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
172 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Berkeley Springs Inn
Best Western Berkeley Springs In...
#1 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maria's Garden and Inn
Maria's Garden and Inn
#10 of 11 in Berkeley Springs
45 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Highlawn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlawn Inn

Address: 171 Market St, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411-3470
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Berkeley Springs
Price Range: £84 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten room Victorian Inn in three separate buildings. All rooms have private baths some with double whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing