We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Golf Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cacapon Resort State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My son and I recently made the trip from the Great White North for a weekend of much needed green grass and golf. We stayed in the lodge in a room with a queen size bed and single. Rooms in loge are not large but sufficient for our needs. It is dated but truly has a rustic feel. Staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Golf course was a fun play and had some very strong golf holes. Because the tough winter for WV it was still in spring like condition but very playable. Pace of play was very good and Ranger made sure that groups let others play through if necessary.

We had a nice buffet dinner for a resonable price.

They are planning quite an expansion which I am sure will bring more people into the park

Defoinitely planning another golf venture there in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

Two friends and I shared a two bedroom cabin (cabin 13) the weekend of January 18-20. At approximately $109 per night - it's a great deal!

This was my second stay at Cacapon. I have now stayed in cabin 19 & cabin 13. The cabins are not luxurious. Cabin 13 is "modern" which means it has a microwave & TV. We did not watch any TV so I can't comment on what is available on the TV.

Cabin Location: Cabin 13 is located on the main road, right before the turn for the lodge. It was perfect in mid-January, however, I would think that the location would not be optimal during peak Spring-Fall seasons. We had access to hiking trails as well as paved roads for sweet winter strolls. There was enough parking for the two CRVs we brought.

Bedrooms: There are two bedrooms in cabin 13. One room has a double bed, the other room has two twins. Each room had linens and an extra set of blankets.

Kitchen: electric 4 burner, oven, standard size fridge (no garbage disposal or dishwasher - but honestly it's a cabin so that's ok). Kitchen is a little cramped but it had the basic pots, pans, dishes, knives, etc. The kitchen has a window & door that overlooks other cabins. There was a picnic table associated w/ the cabin, but we didn't get a chance to enjoy it.

Living/Dining: Living area has 1 three person couch, and 2 side chairs. They aren't the most comfortable, but it has to be durable furniture so it is acceptable. Bring your own pillows for sleeping and then use their pillows to provide additional support in the living area - you'll be fine. There is a WONDERFUL stone fireplace in the living room. A wood fire and the company of friends is the best form of entertainment for me ;-) Our dining area was sort of midway in the kitchen and they living space. It has a decent size table, but only three chairs. For us not a problem, but if there was a family of 4 you could ask for another chair.

Service: The staff at Cacapon were so friendly & accommodating. We didn't see a sponge onsite when we arrived. We called the lodge and someone drove down to us and provided extra wash rags. The second day into our stay, we realized we needed a couple extra towels - we drove up to the lodge and were immediately provided an extra set.

Tips:
-Bring extra blankets, as the blankets provided were not sufficient.
-Bring fatwood or another fire starter AND a couple bundles of dry wood. I'm grateful they provided wood for the cabin fireplace, but most of it was damp so when we mixed it with our dried wood we had plenty to burn and enjoy
-Bring an extra fry pan and your own sharp knives if you are particular (we brought our own)
-Be careful about filling the toilet with too much toilet paper; the toilet stopped up, which was easy to fix as there was a plunger in the bathroom - this gave us the impression we were not the first ones to have this issue.
-Go in to Berkeley Springs and enjoy the town. We went did some window shopping, had treatments @ Atasia spa & enjoyed the coffee shop

Room Tip: Cabin 13 is excellent in the winter, but would be on the main drag during peak seasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HappyHikerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We drove here the day before a 6 inch snow. We rented the large four bedroom cabin expecting more family to join us. The cabin is very affordable for the space and there is plentiful cut wood for the fire. It is not fancy...but who expects a state park to be fancy. The beds were fine, kitchen and bath convenient and we could bring our big fluffy mixed breed dog. My husband built manly fire...everyone romped in the snow and the park folks shoveled and salted our parking area and front walk. We hiked from our back door through the snow and had a few snowball fights on the way....trumped home for hot chocolates and grilled cheese made in the kitchen.
Ate at lodge for dinner and next day breakfast. Breakfast was tasty...better than expected. The salad and soup at dinner were fine...the ribs were the best entree at dinner, though the other entrees were not great. Everyone was very friendly...the dog, kids, husband had great time. The game room was nothing special...you need quarters for everything...but our cabin had Disney channel and the kids were happy. This is an affordable way for the parents to have their own bedroom on vacation. We did use an extra blanket we had brought with us on our bed as the temperature dropped in the night. Would definitely do this again...an easy drive from dc. There looks like there is much to do here in the warmer months.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bbtripPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My family and I have loved visiting Cacapon State Park over the years -- and this year's stay was just as good. Cacapon is within 2 hours of DC and offers a family-friendly break from hectic days. Nothing is overdone or fussy so if you're looking for a fancy vacation, this is not for you. But if you want a quiet, homey place in the woods, Cacapon is perfect. With hiking trails for the daytime, a gas fireplace to warm the atmosphere for late afternoon reading in the lodge's common room and board games or air hockey for the nights, Cacapon is all about relaxing and enjoying time together. The food is basic but good. We often stay in the lodge but if you want more privacy try the cabins (be sure to book ahead for cabins). Staff are friendly and rooms are clean.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBeaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We were here the weekend after Thanksgiving. Lodge was fairly full, food and service was good and friendly. Room was small, very clean, bed extremely comfortable, but really needed remodeling to make better use of space and eliminate tacky stuff - especially clunky table/chair set and pipe insulation used as safety padding.

WV state parks can get boring in the off-season or when the weather is bad. Was disappointed that the road to the park's top scenic attraction (Cacapon Overlook) is closed all winter. Would also be great if every WV state park had an indoor pool and spa. Cacapon has pool table, arcades, and a reading room - but an indoor pool and spa (readily available at many chains on the interstate) is a priority with our family.

Very nice place in the winter for a night or two. Would have stayed longer if there was more to do.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuleLot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My only complaint about the rooms is that they are very small. Everything was clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the beds were comfortable, and the rates for the rooms are very reasonable. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

The lodge is in a beatiful place, the rooms are small but enough for the purpose, but the restaurant service was erratic and slow during all the time we stayed there. Once they prepared us several lunch boxes for the trail and we requested half of them with ham and half with turkey as there were some vegetarians in the group. For our surprise each sandwich had turkey and ham and were in cutted in halves. The vegetarians hated it!! There is an ice maker on the first floor and a coffee/tea maker on ground floor.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Mixtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley Springs
9.1 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
204 reviews
7.6 mi away
Best Western Berkeley Springs Inn
Best Western Berkeley Springs In...
#1 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
413 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hancock Motel
Hancock Motel
#2 of 2 in Hancock
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Martinsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Martinsburg
#2 of 14 in Martinsburg
167 reviews
23.4 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
22.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cacapon Resort State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cacapon Resort State Park

Address: 818 Cacapon Lodge Drive, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411
Region: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Berkeley Springs
Price Range: £56 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cacapon Resort State Park 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cacapon Resort is a mountain lodge located in Cacapon State Park, named after its close proximity to Cacapon Mountain, the highest peak in the eastern panhandle of West Virginia. The four-season lodge provides easy access to outdoor recreation including hiking, beach swimming, fishing and the Robert Trent Jones, Sr. golf course. The lodge provides guests with a relaxing setting among scenic West Virginia landscape. The onsite guest lounge comes equipped with a TV, board games and fireplace, creating a cozy area for all seasons of the year. Cabins, cottages and bungalows rentals are also available. Cacapon Resort State Park Lodge is a nonsmoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cacapon Resort State Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cacapon Resort State Park Hotel Berkeley Springs
Cacapon Hotel Berkeley Springs
Cacapon Hotel State Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing