We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Earth Dog Cafe

Earth Dog Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Amazing veggie sandwich; Fabulous hamburger. quirky atmosphere, with some mosaic art in a side room. Friendly staff. Great stop. Had stopped here once before several months ago, and had a great breakfast, too! Will go back

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    91
    41
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Ribs and Barbecue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Our family had dinner here during our stay in Berkeley Springs. If you are looking for excellent barbecue in large quantities, stop by the earth dog cafe. The standout item for us was the ribs! We got a rack and a half between 3 of us. There was only 2 ribs left at the end of dinner. The pulled pork is also quite tasty. A great local restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley Springs, WV
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Classic WV country cooking and great prices.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

There is a little restaurant, the proverbial hole-in-the-wall, in the middle of the Morgan County seat (pop. 540), Berkeley Springs, WV. They have a wide variety of excellent country food, some eccentric dishes, like deep fried green beans, fair prices, and servers who call you "honey" and "sweetie" (It's a WV thing). It's just a real comfy place to eat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
93 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great service and good eats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Well, we hemmed and hawed about where to eat in Berkeley Springs, WV during a trip to Cacapon State Park, but I have to say I am glad we landed where we did this fine evening. This place is really interesting. You enter what reminds me of a simple, greasy spoon with bar stool seating and a grill. But, just beyond that are another 2 dining areas and a separate bar area on a half floor above. The place is huge, in other words. For what it's worth, they aren't using space to their greatest potential, but I don't think they care. It's all about the "comfort food" here. If you have ever had TGI Friday's "fried green beans", don't waste your time with them ever again. These guys are making friend green beans so tasty, I don't even think they should call the ones at TGIF's by the same name. I ordered the Very Veggie Sandwich, which was absolutely unbelievable. Avocado, olives, tomato, corn relish and more on a ciabatta. It was awesome. My wife had a plate of pulled park so big, she couldn't even eat her sides. This place is great if you have kids. It is big, noise absorbs nicely and I genuinely think they love having kids in there. After you hit the hot springs in Berkeley Springs, hit the Earth Dog for lunch or dinner.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great food in enormous amounts. I had barbeque with great potato salad.My husband had brisket with homemade chips. Fun, casual atmosphere. Fabulous server who anticipated everything we needed before we asked. Great experience.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank B-and-S050686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Earth Dog Cafe also viewed

Berkeley Springs, WV
 
Berkeley Springs, WV
Berkeley Springs, WV
 

Been to Earth Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing