We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest-Relax-Enjoy”

Berkeley Springs Spa and Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berkeley Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Berkeley Springs Spa and Inn
A TripAdvisor Member
Arlington VA
13
Reviewed 18 June 2006

We spent our 35th anniversary in this lovely spa and inn. To have everything there and available is delightful. Chase, the innkeeper-owner, knows his clients and serves them well. It is refreshing to go to a place that caters to adult couples. The people working for the spa and inn are loyal and well trained in their fields. In many ways it felt like an all includsive cruise without the crowds and noise.

The location is away from town and pastural. We saw deer cross behind the pool area in the evening. In the morning we saw rabbits and red breasted robins make their way though the acreage. We walked the raised garden beds and rocked on the front porch rockers. Our room had it's own private deck with wonderful chairs. Our deck over looked a pond with lilys and a fountain.

The meals were wonderful and quite filling. We were delighted with the wine liist. We could not expect more in a restaurant in DC. Among the choices was lamb, salmon, steak, and chicken. Nothing was rushed or poorly presented.
Each meal was as if it was specially prepared for us. Service was slow and easy, and allowed us to have conversation. Darrell served our dinner meals and was friendly and fun.

The spa services were wonderful. We were the only ones in the spa at the time. The desire to give quality is evident. They schedule people so guests never feel like part of a crowd or an assembly line.

We will return again. We will not wait for another anniversary.
Dave n Jo

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2006

My husband and I spent a night here for our 15th anniversary, and we found our stay more than worth the cost. We were whisked immediately to the spa where we each had an expert massage and pedicure. We had free time to wander the town--nice shops and local color--and then returned for a delicious dinner including soup, salad, sherbert, main course, dessert and coffee or tea. We were able to select our meals from a menu on our arrival, and the chef provided a special no meat menu for my husband. The selection of movies was extensive. The room was cozy, nicely decorated and furnished, and very clean. Breakfast was excellent, too. We would recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet weekend where they are well taken care of.

Thank bell1269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
22
Reviewed 9 May 2006

We went for our one year wedding anniversary and had the whole inn to ourselves (only one other couple was there the same weekend). At first, the pages of rules seem overwhelming, but if you want rest and relaxation, this is the place to go. The spa was very nice with impressive locker rooms. The facial is not to be missed. As soon as you arrive at the inn, you place your dinner selections for both nights. The food was very good. Breakfast was lots of fresh fruit, and either waffles or an egg omelet (the selection is made for you). Alcohol is extra. No cash is accepted, so tips are paid at the end of your stay on your card. Expect to pay over $100.00 in tips and more if you get facials, massages, etc. The pool looked nice, but it was not open when we went. There is a large video library and you can select movies to watch in the evenings. Our tv was very small though, so reading was a better option. We went into the town of Berkeley Springs one day (about a 4 mile drive from the inn) and had lunch at a local restaurant. There are lots of little shops, a library, church, the hot springs, etc. to tour. Overall, we were glad we chose to stay out of town because there is a huge amount of traffic, specifically 18 wheelers, driving down the road in and out of town. Very noisy and dirty. At the inn, it is very, very quiet. If you are Catholic and thinking of going to church on Sunday morning, get there early, as it was filled up about 15 minutes before mass with standing room only.

Stayed: April 2006
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2006

First of all I would like to say if you want Rest and Relaxation for couples only this is the place to be. It is quiet and VERY, VERY clean. Web site is bsspa(-)

There are MANY, MANY, MANY RULES!!! The rules were ok if you dont drink and dont smoke which we dont. If you do drink beer and smoke DO NOT GO (They do not sell beer and you cannot take your own).

The innkeeper is not very friendly and if he catches your drinking or smoking on the property you get kicked out - No questions asked. But I must say the staff are WONDERFUL. They were so friendly and made us feel so welcome.

The only rule we did not like was tipping. You have to wait till the end of your trip to tip with your credit card. I hated it. I would just prefer to tip after each meal and at the spa after each service. It almost makes you wonder if the tips actually go into the pocket of the people who preformed the service. At the end of your trip the innkeeper will ask you how much you want to tip for each service and gives you suggestions. That was VERY uncomfortable as well.

Other than those little things it was a good place to go. I am not sure if we will go back my husband was not very happy with the friendliness of the innkeeper but I thought all and all it was a VERY RELAXING PLACE.

J & J
Thurmont, MD

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank J&J913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2006

This is a review of a small inn just outside of town, not the big hotel on the main drag in town next to the springs and state park.

This place tries to provide a quiet, relaxing, romantic weekend getaway for couples. It does a fairly good job too. The price includes breakfast and dinner. The food is excellent and presented well. Not a lot of choices, but not a problem unless you are super picky. Drinks are extra. Two spa treatments each are included in the price also.

Getting a reservation is an experience. The owner runs the place like a prison camp, except instead of escaping, you are trying to get in. You will call and leave a message and a very gruff gentleman will return your call. He seemed to be more pleasant after making reservations and providing payment. When you arrive, he will go over all the rules (and there are lots of them) and show you around the big house.

Our room had a king bed on the first floor, with a small deck. Most rooms have a deck area. The room was nicely decorated and had a shower stall instead of a tub. Surprisingly, there were no little soaps or shampoos provided. Just a bar of Ivory soap and some liquid soap. No hair dryer either (had to make a quick stop at a drug store.)

Dinner reservations are made upon check-in. Arrival of couples is staggered to allow for privacy in the dining room. Couples tended to whisper to each other. This is not the place for gregarious, social butterflys. Everyone seemed to respect each others privacy. Dinner was excellent, from the soup to dessert. Breakfast was also good and included a lot of fresh fruit.

The spa is located about a two minute drive away from the inn. There is a sauna, steam room, jacuzzi for two, and exercise equipment room. Lockers are provided, along with robes and slippers. You decide on your spa treatments at check-in. A massuese provided an OK massage. (We also went to the Atasia spa in town which was great!) He was very professional, but I've had better. You can also pick from a pedicure, manicure, or facial as a second treatment. Again,the reservations at the spa are staggered to ensure privacy.

There is a decent size pool and a jacuzzi in the backyard of the house. The inn is on a large piece of land away from town, which is about a 5 minute drive.

Overall, the inn accomplished it's goals of providing a retreat for a busy couple celebrating an anniversary. Nothing was especially bad, but probably won't go back again. When you add up the cost of meals, spa treatments, and the room, the price (around $600) isn't that bad, but I had higher expectations.

17  Thank 3pltdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Springfield, VA
15
Reviewed 8 January 2006

Combine a small inn with a full service spa, nestled along a quaint stream in a small valley just outside Berkeley Springs and you have the makings of a perfect, relaxing weekend. We took advantage of a package deal -- two nights lodging, breakfast and dinner, and spa services. Our room was small but very clean and comfortable. The meals were outstanding. The spa, which is a short drive from the Inn, offers a jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and small exercise room. Your massage and spa service are scheduled when you make your reservation. The staff at both the spa and Inn are friendly and attentive to your needs. Meals are served within a limited time window, so you have to adjust your schedule, but it's well worth it. Don't confuse this small Inn with the larger hotel with a similar name in the town of Berkeley Springs.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Silver Spring, MD
221
Reviewed 29 August 2005

Beware, two Inn's in Berkely Springs have almost the same name. We stayed at the Berkely Springs Spa & Inn, which is a couple miles out of town and only can accomodate about 8 couples at a time. The other place, the Inn and Spa at Berkeley Springs is much bigger and right on Market Street in town. Some of these reviews on this site confuse the two places. I know i was confused before we visited.

The owner of the Berkely Springs Spa & Inn is very "set in his ways" about how he runs the place. He's not the most accomodating fellow, but it's a terrific value and the whole place was immaculate. The food was good, the room was very nice, the spa looked like it was brand new and never been used. The spa treatments were wonderful - i even thought the wine list was a bargain. No surprises or hidden charges. We had a wonderful time.

If you don't mind the rules, and we didn't - the place is a real find.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley Springs hotels
2.2 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
199 reviews
8.7 mi away
Cacapon Resort State Park
Cacapon Resort State Park
#3 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
172 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Berkeley Springs Inn
Best Western Berkeley Springs In...
#1 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Highlawn Inn
Highlawn Inn
#3 of 11 in Berkeley Springs
196 reviews
2.3 mi away
Maria's Garden and Inn
Maria's Garden and Inn
#10 of 11 in Berkeley Springs
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Springs Spa and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Springs Spa and Inn

Address: New Hope Rd, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411
Region: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Berkeley Springs
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Berkeley Springs Hotel Berkeley Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing