We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in BS!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I just got back from a little getaway with my boyfriend. We stayed in the historic part of the inn. Staff was friendly and very helpful (particularly Tina). The spa was FABUOLUS!!!! One of the best I have been to! Small town, great for relaxing. Met some really nice folks like Wanda at Mountaineer Sports Bar and Brenda at the Earth Dog Cafe for breakfast. Stop by and see them. Dinner at Tari's was terrific too!

We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite, although not on a honeymoon. Only 2 rooms on the top floor. Lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Stacy,

Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time not only at our establishment, but throughout our great town as well. We appreciate your feedback, and hope you are able to visit again in the near future. Thank you!

Sincerely,

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

We used to stay here and were disappointed when it closed. The new owners have done a wonderful job restoring the inn. The room we had was in the main building. They have left the character and charm, which I worried would be destroyed. The restaurant and tavern are still there and the food was good. The spa was beautiful. Our services were excellent. The staff at the hotel and spa were very well trained and put the customer first. You don't always get that these days. I would highly recommend staying here. Reserve your services at the spa ahead of timebecause they do fill up quickly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbland14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate the comments offered and are glad you enjoyed our property. Our goal in renovating is to upgrade amenities while keeping the Historic Charm and Feel of the property. We are excited to hear you like what we have done so far! We hope you can visit again soon to see how everything progresses.

Sincerely,

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Recently renovated. Wonderful inn with rustic charm. Very friendly staff. Spa combination package well worth it. Walking distance to hot springs and great food. Highly recommend for a getaway weekend.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Spikeitup13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hello Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Your feedback is much appreciated, and drives are staff to deliver the best experience for all of our guests. We are glad you enjoyed the spa packages, as they are a great value for the lodging and wonderful spa services that are included. We hope to see you again soon!

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This was an impromptus day trip that turned into an overnight. The Country Inn had last minute availability at a reasonable price (and offers a AAA discount). While we were in the more "modern" building as it was referred (and certainly more modern than the main, original building) it still has somewhat of an older (think 70s and 80s) feel about it. The room was nice enough with two double beds and a tube TV. There was a huge wooden bench, which is an unusual feature but worked fine for leaving some belongings on it. The soap is 100% vegetable soap, which took a little getting used to. The bathroom is a little run down and had a few more leftover stray hairs than I would have liked but generally the room and bathroom were relatively clean. You need to be careful in closing the door as it will slam if left to close itself. There are two vending machines (one with beverages and another with snacks) right next to the ice machine. There was plenty of parking. We didn't have time to check out more of the main Inn's lobby area but it looked lovely and inviting.

The spa was nice - we were able to get a last minute appointment for a couples whirlpool and it was exactly what we wanted at a reasonable rate.

If we make it back up that way again, we may stay here again although I am also interested in checking out the local state park, too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiteCer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your latest visit to Berkeley Springs. Our goal is to provide all guests with superior customer service each and every stay. We hope that you experienced that, and are able to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Our 4 day stay at was wonderful! The staff was very friendly and made us feel at home. We enjoyed 2 days of spa specials for our "grandma's spa-cation" at the hotel spa, which is almost completed. It will be a spectacular addition to the inn when it is totally complete, but is great with most of the work done now.

We ate at the restaurant several times and enjoyed everything. Tea and coffee are available in the lobby and there are numerous seating areas to sit and enjoy. Or, you can eat in either of the bar areas for more casual seating.

If you are looking for a place to stay, we highly recommend The Country Inn with the new local owners.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank karen922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Karen,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your Spa-Cation. We are excited you had such an amazing time, and think you deserve a few more Spa-Cations a year. We look forward to seeing you again soon, and if there is anything we do for you please just let us know.

Sincerely,

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a delightful weekend here in February. The room we stayed in was in the newer back building. It was crisp and clean with white bed coverings and nice thick towels.
The only down side I saw was that they lock the outside door at 11pm. If you are out after that you have to have the front desk let you in the building. It would be nice if your room key opened that door also. Jeremy was the welcoming face at the desk when we checked in. I'm not sure if he is the owner but he was very knowledgeable and went above and beyond helping us with dinner reservations and plans for the next day. I would definitely recommend staying here. We will be back. Hopefully, Jeremy will be behind the desk.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hello Jamie,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. Your comments are much appreciated, and I'm glad you had a wonderful time. Thank you for your suggestion regarding night access to the various buildings. It is something we are currently working on to provide a more accessible experience for our guests while remaining secure. We hope to see you again soon in the near future!.

Sincerely,

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My significant other and I visited The Country Inn the weekend of 15 Feb 2014, making reservations for the Valentine's Day package. Package included room, full body massage for two, bottle of wine and a $50 restaurant credit for the inn restaurant. Arrived Saturday afternoon and uneventful, efficient check-in. However, the room wasn't available until 3:30. Made reservation for dinner (Parkview restaurant and Tavern) at 7:00. Had reservations at the SPA for 5:00. SPA was wonderful. 30 minutes in Jacuzzi then one hour massage. Slight delay in the SPA so we had the staff change out dinner reservation to 7:30. Arrived for dinner and were seated in a small dining room that had two other tables in use. Looking forward to having the special of the night, prime rib. Overheard waitress at another table telling customer they were sold out of prime rib.... We ended up ordering chicken parmesan and the 10oz center cut pork chop. The chicken and pasta quantity was excessive but appeared to be chicken tenders over spaghetti with some sauce. The "10oz" center cut pork chop was actually two chops that were not center cut and had bone-in. The baked potato's skin that came the chops was so tough it could hardly be cut with the steak knife. The green beans were so over cooked they were like noodles. The coleslaw, which the waitress forgot to bring with the meal, was stringy and appeared to be something obtained from Food Lion, certainly not homemade. Needless to say, we were extremely disappointed in the entire meal. Service was not the best and the staff appeared overwhelmed. The room at the inn was just OK Still some ongoing work, which we were aware when reservations were made. The bed's mattress was so soft that we kept sinking in the middle.... Highly recommend the SPA, the inn just OK and restaurant certainly has a steep hill to climb.

Room Tip: Check to see if room is still being remodeled
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Don,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. By telling us your likes and dislikes you are helping provide a better experience for all of our guests. We are excited to hear you enjoyed your spa services, and thank you for those compliments. The guest rooms in the Historic Inn are being updated, however our goal is to refinish the fixtures where possible to maintain the historic charm of our inn. I would recommend our West Inn for guests who prefer the feel of a modern hotel room with two queen beds and a full bath. I do apologize that the restaurant was sold out of the prime rib entrée you were looking forward to ordering. After speaking with the Chef, the pork chops are center cut and freshly cut to order from a local butcher shop. The center cut chops are bone-in. It is my understanding that bone-out would be pork tenderloin. Additionally, there are 3 seating areas that comprise our restaurant. The Tavern, High Top Seating Area, and the Dining Room. The reservation desk clarifies with each guest the area in which the reservation is for. I do apologize if there was a misunderstanding. If I can be of further assistance, please don't hesitate to call. Thank you again for your comments, and we hope you will come back to see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley Springs
1.6 mi away
Best Western Berkeley Springs Inn
Best Western Berkeley Springs In...
#1 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
407 reviews
9.1 mi away
Cacapon Resort State Park
Cacapon Resort State Park
#3 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
172 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
#1 of 14 in Martinsburg
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Martinsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Martinsburg
#2 of 14 in Martinsburg
152 reviews
17.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
#3 of 14 in Martinsburg
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maria's Garden and Inn
Maria's Garden and Inn
#10 of 11 in Berkeley Springs
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs

Address: 110 S Washington St, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411-1577
Region: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Berkeley Springs
Price Range: £89 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Country Inn! We are located in the Eastern Panhandle of West Virginia in beautiful Berkeley Springs, our nation's first spa. We have 70 unique rooms, English country gardens, an exclusive cottage and retreat center, gift shop, Gallery Room, Conference Room, and Parkview Restaurant & Tavern. The Country Inn was originally opened in 1933, by the local Harmison family as the Park View Inn and has been open year round ever since. Our inn possesses both bucolic charms with modern amenities. We are perfectly located in the heart of Berkeley Springs. Our town is known for its warm springs, art, antiques, and beautiful scenery. Whether you are here to take in the waters at the historic state park next door, the Renaissance Spa, or visiting our quaint shops you will be within walking distance while staying at the Country Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing