We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice...But needs some renovations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Spend our Anniversary weekend here.. Very nice hotel, but needs some help. The room locks need replaced (not very secure), the TV work partially, our iron leaked. The staff was wonderful, hotel full of history/character, and centrally located in town. I hope the new owners will be able to do the small renovations that will make this a really great place to stay. I will stay here again if we decide to come to Berkley Springs again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAMomto2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your Anniversary weekend, and we hope you enjoyed yourself. We appreciate your feedback and will continue to improve to provide all guests a superior experience. The door knob has been inspected and corrected so thank you for bringing that to our attention. The cable sensor for your guest room had been moved, not allowing the television to properly work at all times. It just needed to be reset beside the television. Should you ever have any issues, please let us know while here so that we may remedy in a timely manner. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Probably our 5th trip to Berkley Springs, we can never get enough of the country inn. We stay in the main house and always have breakfast in the dining room. This time we cashed in with the "romance package". It always feels like home when we are there, thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redbarron980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your warm comments! We are glad you felt at home as this is the experience we strive for with all of our guests. Your home away from home! We hope you are able to visit again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We came to town on a Thursday night for a Friday/Saturday Master Gardeners' fete held in the State Park immediately adjacent to the County Inn. The Country Inn has adequate parking and is very convenient walking distance to the Berkeley Springs downtown area which is rich in various artisan offerings and unique shops.
We have been by the Inn many times over the years, and have stopped for meals/buffets on odd occasions when passing through the area, but had never stayed overnight. What a treat!
We stayed in the "old", or main, building, and thus cannot speak to amenities in the "modern" building. The main building has indeed preserved the historic feel of an inn of another time. Creaky hardwood floors, carpet runners, somewhat ill-fitting doors, real metal room keys, etc. Wonderful, if you are into that; we are.
Check in and out was easy and efficient. The staff were friendly and helpful. The historic main building had a gift shop (not open during our stay), reading areas, a beautiful outside garden area with seating, rocking chairs on the front porch, and the Parkview Restaurant and Tavern (under separate management?). We did not have opportunity to enjoy the tavern nor the acclaimed spa on this visit. We did have a nice breakfast Friday morning at opening time (8 AM) before going to the garden fete. All was very good.
The room was comfortable, clean, and reminiscent of an earlier time. The queen bed was comfortable. The bathroom was spacious, well lit, and clean. Despite the creaky doors and hallway floors, we heard no other guests. Our room was at the end of the hall on the backside of the building so the window views were rooftops and back parking lot; but it made for a quiet and peaceful night, no traffic noise from the very busy highway in front.
There was no guest elevator (of which we know) in the main building, but that can be expected in a historic facility. You handle you own luggage (we did not ask for assistance). We spent a most relaxing couple of hours in the front porch rocking chairs; reading, watching people/traffic; listening to the birds' songs, and enjoying the fragrance of the lilac and dogwood from the well landscaped surrounding areas. A slower pace from an earlier time. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: Main building for a historic feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBWiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, and hope you have more time on your next visit to enjoy our Renaissance Spa. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit, and if we can assist you with anything please just let us know.

Thank you,

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I just got back from a little getaway with my boyfriend. We stayed in the historic part of the inn. Staff was friendly and very helpful (particularly Tina). The spa was FABUOLUS!!!! One of the best I have been to! Small town, great for relaxing. Met some really nice folks like Wanda at Mountaineer Sports Bar and Brenda at the Earth Dog Cafe for breakfast. Stop by and see them. Dinner at Tari's was terrific too!

We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite, although not on a honeymoon. Only 2 rooms on the top floor. Lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Stacy,

Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time not only at our establishment, but throughout our great town as well. We appreciate your feedback, and hope you are able to visit again in the near future. Thank you!

Sincerely,

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We used to stay here and were disappointed when it closed. The new owners have done a wonderful job restoring the inn. The room we had was in the main building. They have left the character and charm, which I worried would be destroyed. The restaurant and tavern are still there and the food was good. The spa was beautiful. Our services were excellent. The staff at the hotel and spa were very well trained and put the customer first. You don't always get that these days. I would highly recommend staying here. Reserve your services at the spa ahead of timebecause they do fill up quickly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbland14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate the comments offered and are glad you enjoyed our property. Our goal in renovating is to upgrade amenities while keeping the Historic Charm and Feel of the property. We are excited to hear you like what we have done so far! We hope you can visit again soon to see how everything progresses.

Sincerely,

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Recently renovated. Wonderful inn with rustic charm. Very friendly staff. Spa combination package well worth it. Walking distance to hot springs and great food. Highly recommend for a getaway weekend.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Spikeitup13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hello Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Your feedback is much appreciated, and drives are staff to deliver the best experience for all of our guests. We are glad you enjoyed the spa packages, as they are a great value for the lodging and wonderful spa services that are included. We hope to see you again soon!

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This was an impromptus day trip that turned into an overnight. The Country Inn had last minute availability at a reasonable price (and offers a AAA discount). While we were in the more "modern" building as it was referred (and certainly more modern than the main, original building) it still has somewhat of an older (think 70s and 80s) feel about it. The room was nice enough with two double beds and a tube TV. There was a huge wooden bench, which is an unusual feature but worked fine for leaving some belongings on it. The soap is 100% vegetable soap, which took a little getting used to. The bathroom is a little run down and had a few more leftover stray hairs than I would have liked but generally the room and bathroom were relatively clean. You need to be careful in closing the door as it will slam if left to close itself. There are two vending machines (one with beverages and another with snacks) right next to the ice machine. There was plenty of parking. We didn't have time to check out more of the main Inn's lobby area but it looked lovely and inviting.

The spa was nice - we were able to get a last minute appointment for a couples whirlpool and it was exactly what we wanted at a reasonable rate.

If we make it back up that way again, we may stay here again although I am also interested in checking out the local state park, too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiteCer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your latest visit to Berkeley Springs. Our goal is to provide all guests with superior customer service each and every stay. We hope that you experienced that, and are able to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley Springs
9.1 mi away
Cacapon Resort State Park
Cacapon Resort State Park
#3 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
172 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Berkeley Springs Inn
Best Western Berkeley Springs In...
#1 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
411 reviews
17.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Martinsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Martinsburg
#2 of 14 in Martinsburg
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hancock Motel
Hancock Motel
#2 of 2 in Hancock
90 reviews
24.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
#1 of 14 in Martinsburg
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs

Address: 110 S Washington St, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411-1577
Region: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Berkeley Springs
Price Range: £78 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Country Inn! We are located in the Eastern Panhandle of West Virginia in beautiful Berkeley Springs, our nation's first spa. We have 70 unique rooms, English country gardens, an exclusive cottage and retreat center, gift shop, Gallery Room, Conference Room, and Parkview Restaurant & Tavern. The Country Inn was originally opened in 1933, by the local Harmison family as the Park View Inn and has been open year round ever since. Our inn possesses both bucolic charms with modern amenities. We are perfectly located in the heart of Berkeley Springs. Our town is known for its warm springs, art, antiques, and beautiful scenery. Whether you are here to take in the waters at the historic state park next door, the Renaissance Spa, or visiting our quaint shops you will be within walking distance while staying at the Country Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing