We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

As it was my first visit to Berkeley Springs, I chose The Country Inn for it's location. I was not aware that there was a "back" section of this hotel which was NOT quaint or charming. It was clean, the room was large, the bathroom very small but adequate. The biggest complaint that I had was the sheets. They were scratchy! After reading other comments, I might stay again, but request a room in the main hotel - that seems to be the better option.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Judith,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We will use this feedback to provide a better customer experience for all of our guests. Cleanliness and Service are high goals of ours and I'm glad you experienced a high level of satisfaction in those areas. Our sheets are Ashby Premier with a high quality thread count. We would love to have the opportunity to host you again as a guest, and I would recommend that you stay in our Historic Inn if you are interested in a more upgraded room. The West Inn accommodations are our Standard Double Queen rooms which maintain our same high level of cleanliness, however it is a standard room with two queen beds and a full bath. Many guests enjoy those rooms, and they are a popular room choice. If you have any questions or we can be of assistance, please give us a call.

Sincerely,

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
(304) 258-1200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    66
    27
    6
    1
See reviews for
29
84
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We booked a Queen Deluxe Suite for $199 which came to $218 with taxes. The website was very deceiving to say the least. The inn itself was gorgeous upon arrival. Check in was great. The inn was located next to the state park which held a wonderful concert in the evening. Our room was terrible. This is what we got: a suite with a sitting room, bedroom and bathroom. The queen bed mattress was hard and uncomfortable and the bed squeaked every time you moved. Air conditioning was an old window unit loud as hell that did not work well and you sweated like a pig in the sitting room. Our TV was from the 80's. Wallpaper was peeling back in all 3 rooms. No outlets in the bathroom however you were provided with a hair dryer. Tile in the bathroom in bad need of repair and some moldy spots. In the early morning hours my husband went to use the bathroom and found a 2 inch cockroach crawling on the tub. He killed it. GROSS. Also the ceiling leaked in the sitting room from someone taking a shower above us. This was totally unacceptable. We complained and were offered $20 off our rate. That was an insult to say the least. So we paid for a nice room that was unacceptable, unsanitary and was unable to even take a shower. I have never had such bad service ever. Ruined my birthday and entire trip. I probably will never go back to Berkeley Springs.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Donna,

Thank you for providing your feedback that will assist us in delivering a superior customer experience for all of our guests. I do apologize that your birthday trip was not all that you had hoped for. The guests in the room above your room did overflow their tub which resulted in a leak in your sitting area. Once the water was cleaned up the drip did subside approx.. 30 minutes later. Your guest room is rented frequently by other guests, and your comments differ greatly from other guests who have enjoyed that Queen Suite. Our property is treated regularly for pests and am surprised to hear you found an insect in the bathtub. Also, there is no mold in the guest room or bathroom. Lastly, there is a bathroom outlet near the vanity light. Our team has inspected the Air Conditioning units, and the bed frame to ensure proper functionality. Our team prides itself on superior cleaning standards and that is well proven through other guest reviews and guest feedback. I am truly sorry that your weekend was not pleasant.

Sincerely,

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I first stayed at the Country Inn in 1984. I have been back several times. I was last there the weekend of July 18th. It's getting a long in the tooth, and I did not care for the changes in the restaurant. However, it is still charming, and the town is so quaint. So I will continue to go back. But please, don't brew your coffee from the tap in the men's room, even if it is spring water from the spa.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Dominic,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your latest stay. Since opening The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs 8 months ago, we have accomplished quite a transformation at the property and will continue to upgrade the property to provide a sensational guest experience. I'm sorry that you did not see the improvements, but the vast majority of our guests have and are thrilled at what we have accomplished in just 8 short months. I see that you stayed in our West Inn which offers our standard double queen rooms. If you or any future guests are looking for more of an upgraded room, I would recommend choosing a room in the Historic Inn upon your next visit. Thank you again for your feedback as it is appreciated and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel is in the perfect location, beside the State Park. It is the perfect spot for a romantic getaway. The room was large & clean, but there needs to be some upgrades made to this property. The door jamb on the floor between the bathroom and the bedroom is obviously leftover from when there was carpeting. It sticks up about an inch, and I can't say how many times we both stubbed our toes, especially at night. The toilet hinges are coated to look like metal, and are all peeling, making that plastic feel like a thousand tiny needles stabbing you in the butt. At night, there is a LOT of light in the room, including a two inch gap under the door to the hallway, letting in all the hallway light. We had a king room, and the bed and pillows were VERY comfortable. Some hotel pillows are horrid, and these were not.
We did use the spa services, and would highly recommend the Romance Package.
We did not eat at the restaurant (though now we wish we had).
The Tavern on property was a wonderful place to relax at the end of the day, but it closes at 10 on a weekday.
The staff is fantastic and extremely friendly and helpful
The lobby does have a very musty odor.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building and are very glad we were there, not the back building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PATravelingGal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are excited to hear the Romantic Getaway package suited you well. I do appreciate your feedback regarding some room items that may need attention and we will certainly view those items. Thank you again for providing your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Quaint hotel with a nice bar/restaurant within walking distance of the mineral springs, shopping, and restaurants. Hotel staff friendly and helpful; however, limited in numbers. Loved the living room. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Chris,

Thank you so much for your feedback from your recent stay. Your experience is one we strive to provide every guest, and we appreciate you taking the time to provide your comments. We hope you are able to visit again soon, and if there is anything we can assist with please just let us know.

Thank you,

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is NOT TO BE CONFUSED WITH THE "Country Inn & Suites" chain. It is well below the standards of that hotel chain. We hadn't planned to stay here, but a severe storm made it necessary for us to relocate here from our planned destination.

The good:

-It was dry shelter with electricity and running water.

- Breakfast was not included, but the in-house restaurant was very good. The portions were generous and service was good. This was the best feature of this hotel.

The not-so-good:

- Carpet was not vacuumed well
- Old TV
- Bathroom door does not clear the toilet (have to force it past)
- Weak wifi signal

The bad:

- The door lock consisted of the type you normally find on a bathroom door. Just the push in button with no dead bolt or chain. They use a metal key and not an electronic one (where the code could be changed for security after each guest departs). They have a couple of separate buildings. Perhaps it's better in one of the others, but this one lacks basic, modern security.

- The Lobby had a strong, old, musty smell.

- You could not get into your building after 10pm.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredinPA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay with us. We appreciate your comments and will use them to better all guest experiences at our Hotel. Thank you for your clarification as we do not want to be confused with the Country Inn and Suites Chain. We are a Historic Inn in a Historic Spa Town. All of our rooms have their own unique charm, our staff is friendly, and room cleanliness is a top priority. Our doors in our West Inn are as you described with a self locking feature, and then an additional lock button for added security. We also have night security which walks the property, and lock the entrances to the building at night. Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here last night after spending a lovely day and evening in Berkeley Springs. Desk clerks are really helpful. We had a decent drink at the tavern and mingled with fellow guests at the hotel in the charming library room with a baby grand piano. Rooms are nice in the main building with a comfortable bed and a large bathroom. We did not eat breakfast there but the hotel has a lovely garden area with tables for food purchased at the hotel. The hotel is adjacent to the state park with the famous springs and there is a swimming pool located there for 3 dollars.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhopko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our property and staff. We strive to provide a great experience for all our guests and are excited we were able to provide that during your visit. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you are able to visit us again in the future.

Thank you,

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley Springs
9.6 mi away
Cacapon Resort State Park
Cacapon Resort State Park
#3 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Berkeley Springs Inn
Best Western Berkeley Springs In...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
5.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Hancock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
#3 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
24.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
#3 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
24.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs

Property: The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
Address: 110 S Washington St, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411-1577
Region: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Berkeley Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Country Inn! We are located in the Eastern Panhandle of West Virginia in beautiful Berkeley Springs, our nation's first spa. We have 70 unique rooms, English country gardens, an exclusive cottage and retreat center, gift shop, Gallery Room, Conference Room, and Parkview Restaurant & Tavern. The Country Inn was originally opened in 1933, by the local Harmison family as the Park View Inn and has been open year round ever since. Our inn possesses both bucolic charms with modern amenities. We are perfectly located in the heart of Berkeley Springs. Our town is known for its warm springs, art, antiques, and beautiful scenery. Whether you are here to take in the waters at the historic state park next door, the Renaissance Spa, or visiting our quaint shops you will be within walking distance while staying at the Country Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing