We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical Christmas Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Post Office
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Post Office
The Old Post Office from front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
The Old Post Office
The Old Post Office from front
Front Door
Kitchen + door to back garden
kitchen
view to mountains from kitchen window
kitchen
Evening in the hall
View from Living room
Ensuite to Bedroom 1 East Side
View from front of house
View from back of house
View from bedroom
View from Pub 100 metres from house
View from top of hill when walking from house
Another view from back garden
Bathroom on East side
Lounge leading into kitchen in background
The Urhan Inn Pub 100 metres from house
The Urhan Inn Pub 100 Metres from house
view from sink in Utility room
Back Garden Looking East
View East from Garden
View to sea from East Side of Back Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Eyeries, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
tinacarro...
County Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical Christmas Getaway”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The location was fabulous. Spectacular seaviews to the front and majestic mountains at the back. The house was excellent for our family gathering of 13.
Bedrooms for everybody, great dining area for Christmas dinner, Area for entertaining and a lovely lounge for peaceful relaxation. Excellent facilities. We had plenty strolls over highways and byways, hikes up the mountain, and had the odd pint in The Urhan Inn, served up by the lovely Ian and Eimear. Thanking Daniel and Mary for allowing us to stay in their wonderful home and making great memories. Would love to visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2017
Thanks Tina,
What a lovely review. Really glad you enjoyed it and you are always welcome back. Thanks again for leaving everything so tidy when you left. Warmest Regards Daniel and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Explorer6...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful property with great history in a very beautiful, unspoiled part of the world. Owners and managment were a pleasure to deal with. If you want quite, beautiful, authentic, comfortable, awe inspiring go there.

And make time, lots of time, to visit the pub !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The " Grand Hall " ( ex school room ) is fantastic with its cathedral window.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
Hi Kevin
Delighted you enjoyed your stay and thanks once again for being such wonderful guests. The flowers to say thank you for stay were such a lovely gesture. You are always welcome in West Cork. Warmest regards Daniel and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pumpkins2...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely brilliant!”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Everything about this house is lovely and far exceeds the photos. The house is built to such a high quality with lovely furniture, a luxury kitchen and extremely comfy beds. This is all a level above what you might normally expect from a holiday rental such that you can really feel you're at home.

The area is stunning. We enjoyed lashing rain and glorious sunshine and both were fun! Also enjoyed some fantastic food in Eyeries and some nice pints in the local pub.

Mary and Daniel could not have been more helpful- a real pleasure to deal with.

My only regret in praising the old post office too highly is it might become too fully booked for us to get in again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
Hi Camilla
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Old Post Office. We wanted to make people feel 'at home' and relaxed so its great you confirmed that for us. You are always welcome in West Cork.
With warmest regards Daniel and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamer66...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“it was an excellent stay in old post office, nice views around home”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

our stay in old post office was a splendid experiment. Eight adults and 6 kids(2 infants ) were in our group. we all enjoyed the stay. the home was well maintained with all facilities and very good views around the home. very quiet and pleasant area ideal for holiday.

Mathew & friends

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
Hi Mathew
Really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Thanks for leaving the place so tidy after your visit. Warm regards Daniel and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved our stay at the Old Post Office!”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stumbled across the Old Post Office while looking for a last minute holiday booking. The exact dates we wanted weren't available, but the owner was extremely helpful and we managed to work out suitable dates.

We arrived in the evening, after a relatively long drive (two families with 4 kids under 6), which was immediately forgotten as we explored the house! It's not your typical holiday rental. It's been very well renovated from its previous incarnation as a shop and post office, and is now a wonderful, warm and welcoming family home. The photos don't do it justice.

The large living room on the west side of the house is probably the best feature, it's fab. We were spoiled for choice with the bedrooms, and the kitchen is well appointed and a pleasure to cook in.

When we woke the next morning, we were treated to great weather and stunning views of the sea from the front of the house, and the hills at the rear, which we had been unable to see the previous evening. Even when the weather wasn't the best, there was plenty to do. There were games, ping-pong, a piano, and disco lights in the large living room, and a netball net for outside. The kids (and adults) had some epic games of hide and seek.

We visited some lovely places to visit not far from Urhan - Eyries (great bistro here), Castletownbere, Alihies.There is also the ring of Beara, and the Dursey Island cable car a bit further away. West Cork is a beautiful part of the country. And you have the Urhan Inn pub, practically next door.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay, and wouldn't hesitate to return. Couldn't fault it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Hi Tara,
Thank you for such a detailed review. Mary and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Iain and Eimear wanted to pass on their thanks for leaving the place so tidy after your stay and being fun guests as well. You will always be very welcome to stay again and we hope to see you in west cork again soon. Warmest Regards Daniel and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
Hi Maria
We are delighted you enjoyed your time in Beara. Thank you for the lovely review. You are always welcome back. Warmest regards Daniel and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEMERE440
Pornic, France
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2017
Dear Claudette,
Merci bien for your lovely review. We are delighted that you had a good holiday and enjoyed the ping pong and music as well as the nearby pub. You are very welcome back in the future. Thank you for leaving the place so tidy. Regards Daniel and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing