We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fanstastic stay, with the best breakfasts ever!”
Review of Capernwray House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Capernwray House
Ranked #1 of 1 Capernwray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

After a long drive and arriving late evening, we were given a very warm welcome and coffee and biscuits in the lounge, which was much appreciated.

Gorgeous rooms, huge comfortable bed, with every attention to detail to make us feel extremely pampered!

The breakfasts were without a doubt the best I've ever had, local produce and freshly cut bread, every detail was super. The smoked haddock, poached egg and hollandaise sauce was so tasty.

Only a few minutes from the motorway, while in a lovely quiet spot.

Would certainly visit again . Lovely break.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thanks so much ... Much appreciated.... Lovely to have met you both and hope to see you again sometime

Regards

Mel and Roy x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for Capernwray House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

Myself and my partner recently stayed at Capenwray House for the weekend. After reading excellent reviews about the place we decided that it sounded great.

We wasnt disappointed! The standard of accommodation is excellent and the attention to detail in the rooms is far better than I anticipated from the super kingsize bed to the lovely fluffy bathrobes and the toiletries which are provided free of charge. The owners Roy and Mel are a lovely friendly couple and really make you feel welcome. The breakfast is fab too with a wide choice available, the cooked breakfast was the best I have had in any hotel without a doubt!!

Capenwray house is off the beaten track and therefore wouldnt be suitable if you do not have transport as it is approx 2 mile walk to the nearest pub/restaurant and is down long country roads and is pitch black in evening, but in the summer it would probably be a very nice walk.

I enjoyed my stay at Capenwray and will definitely return in the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frys26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to do us a review .. We really appreciate it ... Hope to see you again soon

Regards

Roy and mel smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This was our second trip to Capernwray and it was just as good - maybe even better - than the last time we went there in 2010. We stayed for two nights in January 2012 and while it was cold and a little drizzly outside it was very welcoming and warm inside. We stayed with our two children so had two rooms. Our rooms were spacious and well appointed. Mel and Roy are great hosts - really welcoming, good cooks and know the area well.

Love the fact that the rooms are big enough and have a couple of chairs and a table, so you can enjoy a cup of tea or coffee (or even hot chocolate!) in your room and not feel cramped.

We are looking forward to our next stay at Capernwray.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2012

It was great to have you stay for a second visit ... Return customers from Australia is brilliant .... Hope to see you again soon .... Maybe when you go to olympcs this summer we may be lucky.!!

Many thanks for review ... Much appreciated

Regards

Mel and Roy x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Went to Capernwray House, for two nights, as a celebration for my partners birthday. This was a wonderful choice. Everything from start to finish with the visit was fabulous. The accommodation, the food, the service was excellent. This will not be the only visit here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boovy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2012

It was great to have you all stay and so pleased you enjoyed your celebratory weekend ... We will try and organise better weather for you next time!

Many thanks for doing us a review ... Much appreciated

Regards ... Mel and Roy x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Our third visit to Capenwray House and everything is just as good as it was for the previous visits. First class, well maintained, spacious accommodation; beautiful location; excellent breakfast and (as always) the warmest of welcomes from Mel and Roy. What more can I say apart from "we shall be back".

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barrie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Barry ... Many many thanks for doing another review ... We have won a big tripadvisor award today and we have guests like you to thank for that!
Look forward to seeing you again next year and to hearing all about your fab travels

Regards

Mel and Roy x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Roy and Mel were great hosts. The breakfasts were superb and the room was just like our parents`retreat back home with a very comfortable king bed and modern large ensuite. Would not hesitate to recommend Capernwray House.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Teal Room
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Thanks so much for doing A review for us ... We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us ... It was especially nice for us that your friends in Australia had recommended us from their previous visit. ... Hope to see you again in the future and hope you have a safe journey back to Oz!

Regards

Mel and Roy x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed at Capernwray House for one night. Our hosts were warm and welcoming. Roy made lovely cup of tea and cakes when we arrived and in the morning a hearty breakfast was served. Our room was immaculate and comfortable. Our needs were anticipated and provided for. Views from our bedroom were stunning. We would definitely stay again and highly recommend this B&B.
Jo (Leicester)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Thanks Jo for your great review ... Much appreciated ... Hope to see you both again when you are next visiting our area

Regards

Mel and Roy x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capernwray
1.1 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
114 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
4.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bolton le Sands
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 6 in Lancaster
1,060 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pine Lake Resort
Pine Lake Resort
#1 of 9 in Carnforth
1,028 reviews
2.6 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#5 of 10 in Carnforth
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capernwray House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capernwray House

Address: Capernwray House Hobsons Lane, Capernwray, Carnforth LA6 1AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Carnforth > Capernwray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Capernwray
Price Range: £85 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Capernwray House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ETB 5 star silver award family run country house B&B - gateway to Lake District and Yorkshire Dales, Lancaster and Morecambe. Set in the heart of beautiful countryside and yet within 5 min of M6 .. Extremely peaceful. Our reviews say it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Capernwray House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing